Chevron Left
Volver a Introduction to Forensic Science

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Introduction to Forensic Science por parte de Universidad Tecnológica de Nanyang, Singapur

4.9
estrellas
1,715 calificaciones
546 reseña

Acerca del Curso

We have all seen forensic scientists in TV shows, but how do they really work? What is the science behind their work? The course aims to explain the scientific principles and techniques behind the work of forensic scientists and will be illustrated with numerous case studies from Singapore and around the world. Some questions which we will attempt to address include: How did forensics come about? What is the role of forensics in police work? Can these methods be used in non-criminal areas? Blood. What is it? How can traces of blood be found and used in evidence? Is DNA chemistry really so powerful? What happens (biologically and chemically) if someone tries to poison me? What happens if I try to poison myself? How can we tell how long someone has been dead? What if they have been dead for a really long time? Can a little piece of a carpet fluff, or a single hair, convict someone? Was Emperor Napoleon murdered by the perfidious British, or killed by his wallpaper? *For Nanyang Technological University (NTU) students, please be noted that this course will no longer be eligible for credit transfer....

Principales reseñas

AP
16 de abr. de 2021

HI, I am student of forensic science and as per my knowledge this is the best course i come across.\n\nyou just need to have basic knowledge, the cases given in the course are awesome.\n\ni loved this

SF
12 de nov. de 2020

Thanks to Mr Roderick Wayland Bates for his simple and vivid explanation .....I liked his way of presentation... The course was really very useful and the case studies were thought provoking......

Filtrar por:

51 - 75 de 551 revisiones para Introduction to Forensic Science

por ALPNA S P

17 de abr. de 2021

HI, I am student of forensic science and as per my knowledge this is the best course i come across.

you just need to have basic knowledge, the cases given in the course are awesome.

i loved this

por Erik L

3 de abr. de 2021

A brilliant entry-level course for those who meet forensic science in the first time or who wish to obtain ground knowledge about possibilities and practices in this area.

It is virtually impossible to communicate hard scientific skills via an online education tool – and this is also the case. However, Dr. Bates manages to do other no less important thing: he provides understanding that, with reasonable effort, may be transmuted into practical interest. Despite restrictions I mentioned, useful packages of chemical, biological, physical attainments are well described within with both video examples and equipment surveys.

Calm and friendly manner of lecturing and illustrative real-life examples summarize this course as a helpful guide on how and where to start. You have my recommendation.

Thanks.

por Shalini H K

5 de abr. de 2021

I thoroughly enjoyed this course. Btw it's my first ever online course and Coursera had made it a great experience. Thanks to the lecturer Mr. Roderick for such fun lecturers, simple and well-explained presentations. The case studies were interesting and you will have different perspectives after reviewing your peers' assignments. Thanks to my peers who reviewed my assignments and gave me feedbacks that not only made my day but also made me do better in my upcoming assignments. I'm planning to take more courses on this platform. Biggest thanks to Coursera for providing financial aid to those students who can't afford to pay their fee, it helps us a lot.

por Patricia G D

17 de ene. de 2022

The course itself was very good! The only problem is having to wait for someone to review/grade the case projects with no easy person to contact. It would be very helpful to have a definite contact for "me" to contact when problems arise such as the one noted above. The only help I could find was to try and contact a moderator, though I do not remember reading that she would be the person to contact. Loved the course. Please change the easability of contact when needed as that was a BIG frustration and would be a definite consideration when thinking about taking another course through Coursera. Thanks, Pat Donaldson

por tazeen

24 de jul. de 2021

This course really helped me in learning key concepts and details of forensics science. i learned that how can we analyze the crime scene and what are the trace components that have huge contribution in detection of criminal. i learned about techniques that have been used since long and what are their prons and cons. forensics have huge role in solving cases of dispute parentage and murder cases. i learned that what strategies can be opted for analysis of evidence and how carefully should be handled. Forensics have revolutionized the law and judicial system by providing quick services and proving the guilty.

por Buenaflor J

14 de dic. de 2020

The course covers basic concepts in forensic science, diagnostics, applications and case studies. It is multidisciplinary and enable you to explore the field from different perspectives through distinct but related subjects. The presentation although technical is easy to grasp for new learners. This is my third Coursera course and I highly recommend this for students, faculty and researchers who are interested to learn new things whatever their field of specialization are. Really very challenging and enjoyable. Thank you Dr Bates and NTU MOOC Team.

por Alyssa J

4 de sep. de 2021

This course was great. This course has a little bit of everything pertaining to forensics. The professor really knows what he is talking about so naturally its amazing. There is a lot of interesting cases that are gone over. We did do some peer review assignments which was great to see other peoples reasonings to their assignment but sometimes it did take a couple of days to get feed back from own submissions but there are options to share your link in the discussion area for people can help one another. This was my 1st course and it was great !

por Taniza T

30 de ago. de 2021

I thoroughly enjoyed the course and I'm really glad that i have found this course. The course material was explained in details and covered different aspects of forensic science with the background basics as per requirement. Loved the peer graded assignments which were designed to really assess the learners' level of understanding and the case file discussion on every topic which showing the practical application of the science. Absolutely recommended to the aspiring forensic scientists.

por Jasmine M

30 de ago. de 2021

For anyone who's taking their first step in the professional field of forensic science, or just exploring their interest in crime solving, this is the best course to take. The concepts are explained really well for beginner's level, and real life examples of related cases all over the world are also incorporated in the lesson to make more sense of the practical applications of these concepts. If this has a second part or a higher level course, I'd be more than willing to take it.

por Harris

24 de ene. de 2021

This is definitely one of the most well mannered and structured courses out there on Coursera, especially regarding a subject such as Forensic Science. It is also very engaging for the average person who knows nothing about Forensic science, and it will chop everything to bite-size in order to easily understand how the science works and is applied in real-life situations. Roderick was also a very engaging lecturer and his occasional humour made it all the better.

por Dimitrios P

6 de ene. de 2021

Well prepared and comprehensible teaching material. This course was an opportunity to familiarise with the forensics’ terminology in a foreign language and expand my cognitive understanding. Through this course I managed to enhance skills like attention to detail, reading and writing in a foreign language, understanding new concepts and being able to assess my peers. Furthermore, I developed my inductive and deductive reasoning.

por Veronica E

23 de jun. de 2021

I loved the videos and the extensive information provided about the various kinds of technology available for characterizing a substance, etc. My favorite videos are of the lecturer in the lab showing the viewer how to use these tools. My one complaint is that I wish the peer-reviewed graded assessments were more detailed/more accurately tested our understanding of the great information provided in the lectures.

por Sylvia K M K

6 de dic. de 2021

Very informative and interesting course. I learned a lot from it and enjoyed it a lot. Thanks to Prof Roderick Bates for his extremely clear and concise explanations. It was quite an eye-opener to see the various equipment for GC and HPLC etc, and also seeing how various experiments are carried out. A lot of effort has gone into putting this course together... Thanks Prof Bates...

por Ana

6 de may. de 2021

Needless to say, this is a fascinating subject, which may set high expectations when joining the class. However, this course exceeds expectations.

Professor Roderick Bates is a wonderful lecturer. His lectures are very engaging, clear and well structured.

The course was extraordinarily informative. Enjoyed every bit, learned a lot.

Waiting for the Forensic Science Advanced Course!

por Inna S

14 de ago. de 2021

I liked this course very much! The course material is very well-structured, the topics flow logically, and the case study examples are extremely interesting. The lectures are very well-organized and clearly presented. In my opinion, each and every lecture in this course is worth rewatching. I would like to thank Professor Roderick Bates for such a wonderful course!

por Dimitra K

8 de abr. de 2021

An informative and comprehensive course that covers basic subjects regarding Forensic Science. It is easy to follow and the instructor Professor Roderick Bates is very helpful throughout the course as well.

I am really interested in Forensic Science, its applications and its techniques. Therefore, this course was an excellent introduction to this field.

por Danna

22 de mar. de 2021

I really love the course and the instructor. I couldn't ask for a better instructor. From the first week up to the last week, everything is well explained. The instructor explains everything in a precise, elaborative, and part I liked the most humorous way. I recommend this to everyone who has the heart for Forensic or any crime-related stuff.

por Iga T

4 de ene. de 2017

Very good course that provides a little more than only basics of forensic science at the same time giving overview of the major areas that this subject covers. Mr Roderick Bates explains everything very clearly implementing new ideas gradually. I loved plethora of examples and case studies. Assignments made learning enjoyable.

por Komal S

7 de ago. de 2020

Very informative and interesting course.. the instructor explained every topic precisely, I really liked that he even performed the practical to make students understand better

quizzes and assignments were really fun.. it helped me in improving my observation skills and to think more practically. I really enjoyed this course!!

por Adriana Z

26 de mar. de 2021

Very well done. I have not taken very many on line courses before but i really enjoyed the presentations and the speaker and all the great samples of stories and real cases that were part of this. I will look in the near future to take another one of your very valuable courses. Thank you very much for all you do.

Adriana

por Esha L

24 de jun. de 2020

Amazing course! It keeps on increasing the curiosity as you complete each week. The instructor is very good in demonstration and I like the way they explained usage and importance of instruments as well as various techniques with help of real case studies. I thank Nanyang Technological University and Coursera for this.

por Venkateswaran M

6 de jun. de 2020

I loved the course! It is really very cool to know how creative people get to kill people. It is even more fascinating to know their motive. Learning to decipher what they did and how they did is the best way to enjoy the essence of crime. All you Agatha Christie and Nancy Drew fans, this is the course for you. Dive in!

por Jessica L

23 de ene. de 2021

I enjoyed learning about forensic science. It was a great experience knowing about the different aspects of forensic science. I also got brainstorming on the two crime scene situations as assignments. Thank you for the sessions. It helped me gain a lot of knowledge and it also made me more interested in the subject.

por Azajul I N

24 de feb. de 2021

THIS COURSE IS ONE OF THE BEST COURSE I HAVE EVER TAKEN IN MY LIFE. THE LECTURES, NOTES, EXAMS, AND ASSIGNMENTS, EVERYTHING OF THIS COURSE DESERVES THE MARKING OF 100 OUT OFF 100. THIS COURSE IS HIGHLY RECOMMENDED FOR ANYONE WHO WANTS TO KNOW ABOUT FORENSIC SCIENCE. THANKS FOR GIFTING US SUCH AN WONDERFUL COURSE.

por Dagmar S

6 de dic. de 2020

Very well thought out lesson plan with easily understandable videos and readings. Covers many different aspects of the subject and gives examples of how each type of science was used in real life cases. And I enjoyed the small interjections of humour by the prof as Forensic Science can be a pretty grim subject.