Chevron Left
Volver a Introduction to Forensic Science

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Introduction to Forensic Science por parte de Universidad Tecnológica de Nanyang, Singapur

4.8
estrellas
1,868 calificaciones
596 reseña

Acerca del Curso

We have all seen forensic scientists in TV shows, but how do they really work? What is the science behind their work? The course aims to explain the scientific principles and techniques behind the work of forensic scientists and will be illustrated with numerous case studies from Singapore and around the world. Some questions which we will attempt to address include: How did forensics come about? What is the role of forensics in police work? Can these methods be used in non-criminal areas? Blood. What is it? How can traces of blood be found and used in evidence? Is DNA chemistry really so powerful? What happens (biologically and chemically) if someone tries to poison me? What happens if I try to poison myself? How can we tell how long someone has been dead? What if they have been dead for a really long time? Can a little piece of a carpet fluff, or a single hair, convict someone? Was Emperor Napoleon murdered by the perfidious British, or killed by his wallpaper? *For Nanyang Technological University (NTU) students, please be noted that this course will no longer be eligible for credit transfer....

Principales reseñas

AP

16 de abr. de 2021

HI, I am student of forensic science and as per my knowledge this is the best course i come across.

you just need to have basic knowledge, the cases given in the course are awesome.

i loved this

SF

12 de nov. de 2020

Thanks to Mr Roderick Wayland Bates for his simple and vivid explanation .....I liked his way of presentation... The course was really very useful and the case studies were thought provoking......

Filtrar por:

151 - 175 de 598 revisiones para Introduction to Forensic Science

por Michelle Z

28 de jul. de 2020

An interesting course which debunks all the false portrayal of forensic science in TV shows. It's interesting to find out how stuff really works and how it is compared to what we see on TV.

por Laure G

11 de jul. de 2020

Excellent course. Excellent content, with relevant examples to support the theory and a good pace. I could see applications in forensic medicine from my biology and instrumentation courses.

por Ramya M

14 de may. de 2021

Beautiful... The Lecture and the cases were awesome. Dr.Rodreick Bates was so clear and a lot of hardwork has gone into this course preparation. It was an absolutely interesting course.

por Ana K Z R

23 de ago. de 2020

This course is very complete about different and important topics about the forensics scientist, I love the week about the toxicology. Congratulations for the good work in these topics.

por Anushka R

29 de may. de 2020

I learned a lot of things about forensic science and techniques used in forensic science. It was a great opportunity and I thank Nanyang Technological University and Coursera for this.

por Oi Y C N

3 de sep. de 2020

This course provides me a lot of information on forensic science, which i want to learn for long. Thank you for the instructor for the wonderful videos. I enjoy this course very much.

por Colleen M

19 de ago. de 2020

Extremely interesting and informative course Wish it was longer. I don't like Peer Reviews. Its hard to mark another student's work when you have preconceived ideas on the subject.

por Bia S

7 de mar. de 2022

I LOVED this course!!!

The professor is very engaging and his explanations are clear and easy to follow up.

I'm sad the course is over...

Thanks Mr. Bates! Thanks Nanyang University! ♥

por Nikita C

8 de jul. de 2020

The course was truly amazing. I got to learn so many novel things about crimes, patterns, phenomenons, etc.. One should definitely give it a shot if you wish to learn something new.

por Stephanie C

2 de may. de 2020

This was a very interesting and informative course. I wasn't sure what to expect, but I enjoyed the lectures, and I think the Professor was very easy to listen to, and learn from!

por Adriana R S L

14 de ago. de 2018

its educational and the cases helps you to understand in an easier way, it was also a good reminder of some old learned info stacked in the back of my brain...highly recommended!!

por Janice J W C

17 de jul. de 2020

It was a great experience to be able to learn more about forensic science. The teacher was very knowledgeable and he even had a great sense of humor. I totally enjoyed the class.

por Ολυμπία Κ

4 de feb. de 2021

Φοβερό μάθημα, εξαιρετικά ενδιαφέρον, το οποίο σου μαθαίνει -κατά βάση- να την πολυσύνθετη και πολυδιάστατη σκέψη, χωρίς να θεωρείται τίποτα δεδομένο. Συγχαρητήρια στην ομάδα!!!

por Bruna N F

14 de ago. de 2020

Amazing! Professor Roderick Bates is really great at explaining difficult concepts! And the content of the course is absolutely fantastic! I learned so much during this 8 weeks!

por Gargi K

23 de nov. de 2020

Thankyou so much for providing such a wonderful course.. I enjoyed it and was so surprised that my own biotech field was used and is still in advanced used in forensic sciences

por Alma S

23 de ene. de 2022

Love the professor, very amiable with a deep and thorough knowledge of all facets of Forensics. I feel much better prepared for a career in Forensics after taking this course!

por Nitish M

16 de jul. de 2019

Really find interesting.

I got a lot of knowledge about the forensics and also got to know that the forensics in TV and movies is really somewhat different from the real world.

por Ashley L

2 de abr. de 2022

I​ had a great interest on forensic scientists since a young age. Thanks to this course offered by NTU, I have learned a lot of useful knowledge and interesting case studies.

por Anna S L

11 de oct. de 2017

I am really enjoying this course: it is very well made and I am learning a lot of interesting informations that other similar courses do not even mention. Thank you Mr Bates!

por Juan P V

5 de ago. de 2020

Excellent course, really interesting.

The instructor gives the information in a very enjoyable way, and has the ability to explain complex concepts in clear and easy terms.

por Margarita K

28 de jun. de 2020

Wonderful course! I like everything: theory, experiment videos, pictures, cases, and of course practice. Everything was explained in detail. One of the best courses I took.

por Maria H

21 de abr. de 2021

Excellent course. A great opportunity for educators of low income countries. The material, classes, activities and the level of knowledge is high quality. Congratulations.

por Nilesh W

20 de dic. de 2019

Very informative and interactive course. Good for basic understanding of Forensic Science.

Looking forward for advance level course including other areas of FS as well.

por Viona L D s

23 de may. de 2020

Absolutely loved this course!! Definitely what I was looking for. It was extremely informative & loved the fact that we got to see a few practical experiments as well!

por Andrea F

18 de may. de 2020

An advanced basis of forensic sciences, we understand the various laboratory sectors and which analyzes can be evidentiary and which only indicative. Very interesting