Chevron Left
Volver a Foundations of User Experience (UX) Design

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Foundations of User Experience (UX) Design por parte de Google

4.8
estrellas
14,108 calificaciones
2,957 reseña

Acerca del Curso

Foundations of User Experience (UX) Design is the first of a series of seven courses that will equip you with the skills needed to apply to entry-level jobs in user experience design. UX designers focus on the interactions that people have with products like websites, mobile apps, and physical objects. UX designers make those everyday interactions usable, enjoyable, and accessible. The role of an entry-level UX designer might include empathizing with users, defining their pain points, coming up with ideas for design solutions, creating wireframes, prototypes, and mockups, and testing designs to get feedback. Current UX designers and researchers at Google will serve as your instructors, and you will complete hands-on activities that simulate real-world UX design scenarios. Learners who complete the seven courses in this certificate program should be equipped to apply for entry-level jobs as UX designers. No previous experience is necessary. By the end of this course, you will be able to: - Define the field of UX and explain why it’s important for consumers and businesses. - Understand foundational concepts in UX design, such as user-centered design, the design process, accessibility, and equity-focused design. - Identify the factors that contribute to great user experience design. - Review common job responsibilities of entry-level UX designers and teams that they work with. - Explore job opportunities and career paths within the field of user experience. - Explain why design sprints are an important and useful part of a UX designer’s work. - Start to create an online portfolio where you can showcase your upcoming work. - Join and participate in online UX communities....

Principales reseñas

SK
8 de ago. de 2021

This course inspired me, before taking this course I have been used some UX Design communities, I have worked in Adobe XD Design. This course explains the right way and UX process. I like this mentor.

NZ
14 de sep. de 2021

It was great experience. The speakers were good designers who sharing their vision from the beginning to end. I do it just for few weeks, and I am happy to receive my certificate. Thank you, Googlers!

Filtrar por:

51 - 75 de 3,199 revisiones para Foundations of User Experience (UX) Design

por Измайлов И И

20 de nov. de 2021

Too much information about finding a job. I don't like it, I just want to learn UX Design

por C. R

22 de jul. de 2021

Better information can be found on YouTube for free from more engaging individuals.

por Douglas M

18 de ago. de 2021

I would like a refund for my subscription to Google UX Design. I want to learn design, but the course is politically motivated. In order to proceed, I need to accept and incorporate equity. Equity!

“ Equity design is a creative process to dismantle systems of oppression and (re)design towards liberation and healing by centering the power of communities historically impacted by the oppressive systems being (re)designed.”

This is a far-left liberal political position, that require me to evaluate my history and current standing as racist. I am not racist. I am a white man, yes, but I am not nor do I intend to told that I must believe that we live in a "system of oppression" that needs to be "dismantle(d)".

I signed up for design, not basic far left-leaning ideocratic nonsense that serves to glorify lack of responsibility and victimhood.

If you cannot refund me for the Google UX program, then I would like to change my course and select a STEM subject. Hopefully void of political propaganda.

And, finally, I'm disappointed because I've been really looking for to this.

Here is the link to the videos that start and continue to propagate and endocrine:

https://www.coursera.org/learn/foundations-user-experience-design/lecture/gVvOh/the-importance-of-accessibility

por Dyan B

25 de ago. de 2021

The guy with the bald head is a liar about getting a job in UX design . This course is a scam. Guy with the bald head said it was easy to get into UX design and a lot of job openings were available. Here I am an unemployed UX designer with a great portfolio. There is also a lot of discrimination in UX design industry. All the people interviewing me were white. Its an overprivileged position for white tech woke liberals. Also a lot of discrimination towards people on the autism spectrum if you have communication problems like me.

por Paul

20 de jul. de 2021

This course can be distilled into a few meaningful videos with concrete information instead of being bloated with a lot of useless videos about abstract nothingness, accompanied by disingenuous encouragement. He says emotionless, "Way to go." His eyes are dead as he reads the script and hands are kept flat at the table like he's a hostage. There's no conviction and I'm not convinced he believes what he's saying. I feel like I'm being scammed.

por Deleted A

11 de may. de 2021

Very disappointed so far. First off, Coursera's layout is not easy to navigate which is ironic. This first course was vocabulary stretched over four weeks. They spent most of the time going on about diversity and seemed to forget people are trying to learn UX design. Week four was just promoting website builders. I feel cheated out of my money. I do not recommend this course to anyone trying to learn UX design.

por Amritpreet S

23 de ago. de 2021

Basic. Slow. Repetative. Political.

I feel like I haven't learnt anything 'new'. It's just obvious stuff repeated over and over again that you're already supposed to know if you use technology. You can really save yourselves time by learning how to use Figma and Adobe Xd through free tutorials all over the internet.

Also, why does everything need to be full of woke politics these days?

por isaias B

25 de sep. de 2021

Ja estava na 4 semana e todo meu processo sumiu, tendo que comercar tudo novamente, fique decepcionado.

por madu b

21 de sep. de 2021

The lessons, be it video, reading etc., was well structured and the flow of course was excellent. To me the teachings/concepts came through well from the instructors and the readings and thank you all for that. I find this program to be comprehensive in the sense the UX was delightful particularly when I experienced the effort by the training's designer viewing the student from a 360 degree perspective and giving answers/info even before it comes to the mind of the student. For example, setting up the social media accounts, networking, ways to search for getting jobs and the types of jobs possible are some aspects given as part of the training in the program, bravo!

I have some suggestions to make, please advise as to what email I should send it to?

Best regards,

Madu.

(Madurai Bharani)

farmermadu@gmail.com

https://www.linkedin.com/in/maduraibharani

===============Given below are my suggestions for your consideration ===============

Following are my suggestions, I noted down as I was going through the lessons, I apologize if some of the suggestions below are more out of my ignorance!

https://www.coursera.org/learn/foundations-user-experience-design

=================================

9/3/21

Suggestion:

Provide a one click saving as pdf the lesson the text part and graphics in the local drive.It shall help for offline viewing and allow local storage.

Add following name tags to Course items to the file tree on the left side of the screen.:

“1C1T” which will be First Course, First Item which is a Text  or V for video, D for discussion etc.. Advantage of this naming protocol is, the name tags displays the actual order of the Courses and Items within as in the original listing hence when viewing or sorting the files im the local drive. Also if the student wants to communicate with Coursera or Google  for clarification or suggestion such name tags could help

=================================

9/4/21

In the last screen Participant entry survey

“Thank you for completing … learning journey!” hitting the highlighted thank you button should close the screen as well instead of moving the cursor the “x” on the top right corner, because to hit the highlighted Thank you button is more an intuitive and reflex action and hitting also completes the process of the survey as required. It also saves the mousing moving time!!

=================================

9/5/2021

In the last screen  in “Commit to completing the program”

Clicking on the button “SAVE MY COMMITMENT” doesn't close the screen, have to click on the “x” on top right corner.

=================================

9/7/21

The text does not automatically scroll when  reading the highlighted texts after minimizing video.

=================================

9/11/21

Mark as completed button not visible at end of video UX design jobs at different types of companies

https://www.coursera.org/learn/foundations-user-experience-design/lecture/qmNYM/ux-design-jobs-at-different-types-of-companies

=================================

9/11/21

In the: Reading The influence of company size and industry

Under advantages for all the categories of company size and type it would help if an outline of employment benefit is mentioned for eg: 

Large company may have base salary + 401K + Health Insurance

Startups may have base salary only and employing as independent contractor with stock options

=================================

9/15/21

In

Week 2

Reading : Think like a designer: Learn more about different design frameworks

https://www.coursera.org/learn/foundations-user-experience-design/supplement/aJY8z/think-like-a-designer-learn-more-about-different-design-frameworks

Given in the Reading:

Keep in mind that the Google UX Design Certificate was built with the design process in mind. 

Shouldn't the above read as follows:

Keep in mind that the Google UX Design Certificate was built with the  design thinking process in mind. 

====================================

9/16/21

Quiz in video may include audio as well?

====================================

9/20/21

Add a checklist for the week and end of course of what has been taught! Apart from the glossary that is provided for each week!

====================================

por Daijah R

24 de mar. de 2021

I 100% recommend this course. Whether you're a new designer, or someone who has had formal training in UX and looking to brush up your skills, it's worth it.\n\nContent: The course is very intentional about focusing on research, testing, and user-centric best practices, while remaining relevant to current trends in UX. The instruction prioritizes accessibility and inclusivity which is often missed in introductory design courses. You do not need prior knowledge of UX, and very minimal knowledge of tech in general! From the very beginning, the instructors explain EVERYTHING you need to know. There are numerous resources provided throughout the course for added success such as training for tools, readings, and discussion. The content is so helpful that you're rarely left with questions, and when you are, there is opportunity to contribute to a peer discussion board.\n\nTime expectations: One of the greatest parts of the course is being able to work at your own pace. I typically have a pretty busy schedule and was able to complete assignments during the allotted time I had set aside to work. If you're a career-pivoter or someone working full time, you would absolutely still be able to be successful. While the self-timed work is great, sometimes it can be a bit intimidating so I was also grateful that while I am able to work at my own pace, the course also sets time expectations. The peer graded work also helps to motivate you to work efficiently!\n\nCompared to other courses/bootcamps: I have had experience with other introductory UX courses, and this by far has been among my favorites. I appreciate that the course allows you to be on an individual track while also being able to interact with peers who are also learning. Additionally, I find that other courses may focus way too much on work outside of UX. I really enjoyed that this course set the foundation for User Experience principles rather than solely focusing on visual elements and tech jargon.\n\nOverall, this course was accessible for people of all experience levels! I recommend beginning with this course and continuing with the accompanying courses for a well-rounded education of UX Design.

por Riz A

25 de mar. de 2021

"The building is a tall as the foundation is strong enough to build on"Excited completing the first module of the Google UX Design Certification course. A course which I wish I had when I started out in UX design seriously 10 years ago. I certainly enjoyed it because I entered the course with a learning mindset. Putting aside all the things that you know, experiences and unlearning what you have learned on the job, there are new things which I learned. A few takeaways from me—inclusive design, accessibility which I rarely get the opportunity to even work on this, and my favourite, personal branding as a UX designer. This got me seriously thinking deep about values and personal statements. Thanks to Michael Cedric k, Lisa Fischer, Shabnam Kashani, Kartik Rao, Juan Angustia, Josh Lucas for putting together these content and making it relevant. I can see this took months to put together. Looking forward to continue this with the Googlers in the rest of the course.#growwithgoogle #userexperiencedesign #uxdesign

por Sohrab P

19 de oct. de 2021

I learned a lot, but the most important thing for me is the attitude of big companies like Google in software development, giving great importance to user experience design.

Things like accessibility and its importance and design for a billion people who do not currently have access to the Internet and mobile phones (NBU) really change my view of software design and development.

The way of teaching the content and the detailed view, which was present in Design Sprint, for example. That all the details were mentioned, even the ice breaker.

Topics like impostor syndrome were also explained to remind novices that their fears and anxieties are normal, and someone as vice president of user experience at Google (Catherine) talked about their shared experience. It was wonderful and unique.

I have about fifteen years of full-time teaching experience in college, and what impressed me most about this course was its outstanding perspective and unique teaching methods.

por Liudmila M

23 de jul. de 2021

Overall, the course is brilliant, well-prepared, and affordable.

A few things did bother me, though:

1) I felt a bit forced to join the social media sites/ communities. They explained how to participate and network well, but I could have created the profiles at the end of the course. (the complete course)

2) I found the course had a specific target audience: young enthusiastic professionals. That's the impression the tone of the course gave me. It didn't seem inclusive enough for older people or those who struggle mentally, for example.

3) The course educates about Usability, but some of the examples of profiles and websites were not user-friendly (in my opinion, anyway.)

I did give the course 5 stars because, overall, it was well-organized, and I will definetely continue participating in it.

por Eve

29 de abr. de 2021

I had seen a lot of videos of UX Designers talking about their careers on YouTube, but none of their insight provided me with the solid understanding that this course did. Despite it being an introductory course, you learn so much about UX Design, its principles, methods, and what the day-to-day may look like for you. They prepare you to build your portfolio and professional network, which is an invaluable asset for any aspiring designer who is really passionate about learning and going the extra mile to be the best they can be. I highly recommend this course. I learned so much and gained critical insight into UX Design. The friendly, easy-to-follow guidance makes you feel valued without having entered the field yet in an official capacity.

por Aisana S

20 de jun. de 2021

this is just an amazing course! it exceeded all my expectations.I have already taken other courses on ux, but the course from Google does not compare with anything! it is the best and most up-to-date. I'm really glad I found it. an incredible amount of useful information! I heard great stories from the lecturers and the lecturers themselves are very cool. excellent, up-to-date and real-life portfolio examples - all at the highest level. great job, Google! I liked the part of the course about design sprints and the part about personal websites. it was difficult in the segment about the personal brand, I will definitely return to the study of the fourth week. thank you guys! I'm moving on to the next second year!

por Lisa D L

24 de mar. de 2021

This course gave me a thorough understanding of the field of UX (jobs, companies, career advice). I really enjoyed the videos from those working in the field of UX explaining how they landed in the field. Now I have a better understanding of concepts such as universal, inclusive, and equity-focused design. This course gave me a solid foundation for understanding what UX is, how it works, the tools that are used and their advantages. The Readings were quick reads and super informative. I've been working in UX for a few years, but after this course, I feel more knowledgeable about the field. I highly recommend this course to anyone looking to gain a thorough understanding of the field to build on for future courses!

por Anshu P

27 de jun. de 2021

I​ absolutely LOVED the course as it is really well structured and well-guided! It introduces you step-by-step not just to learning 'user experience' but a guide to how to go about it - from building portfolio, personal brand and networking. The activities and assignments are really helpful that helps you to remember the topics and and follow along for building the presence and starting out. All of those steps are really important and it is good to start with those first as you can then only focus on creating later on! I was concerned with some reviews saying that the portfolio should have been a part of a later course, but I disagree. I love how well-structured it is and absolutely fantastic to begin with!

por Xenia K

19 de sep. de 2021

I am delighted with the course! When I just started to study, I was very afraid, doubted that I would be able to take the course at all and I had a big problem - I understand very poorly in English. I promised myself that I would just leave the course if it didn't work out and I would just try to study. But then I passed the test of the first week, then the second and noticed that I already understand quite well. The course is superbly designed! All information is structured, templates and examples are attached. The speakers are very nice people who are pleasant to listen to and learn from them! Thank you so much! With great desire I want to cross over to the next course and go to the end!

por Harriet H

5 de jun. de 2021

What a great course! I really enjoyed it. The only gripe I have is that in the impostor syndrome section, I would have liked to see more variety in the experiences shared. There was a young man in the beginning who emigrated from the D.R., who was self-taught and made his way up to working at Google. A lot of the portfolio examples were from people who went to really great colleges like SCAD and Carnegie Mellon. Having a little more representation of people who have taken less traditional paths and made it to Google would be uplifting to people in this course, since it seems like everyone who works as a designer at Google went to Carnegie Mellon, Stanford, or SCAD.

por Patricia

28 de ago. de 2021

T​hanks to Coursera and Google for this amazing course.

E​very part was developed in a coherent and easy to follow way. Understandable course with clear insights.

It's not just a UX course, but it is UX itself. I found that is actually focused on what the student needs to know. They teach theory, practical cases, stories from real people, and how to boost your professional life.

It took me more than 4 weeks to finish it, but that was because I am the type of person who likes to recap and check details.

I​ highly recommend this course for all of you - who are checking the review section-.

H​are Krishna and my best wishes to the instructors & students.

por Jodi V

15 de abr. de 2021

I loved it. I already knew some of the information, but hearing it again from a different company from company employees in the industry is refreshing and interesting.

I feel inspired to continue. I can feel what Google's culture and brand may be like. It's a positive experience.

From a technical view, I love the multiple methods used in each week's work. I love the videos with transcripts, available to be slowed down or sped up. I like the questions and readings. The only thing that was a little off is the interaction between peers. Some people don't post much substance or reply.

I can only dream to work at Google one day.

por Estefania C D r

11 de abr. de 2021

Is the first time I feel that I have really learned and enjoyed a course. It seemed important to me to solve each proposed activity even those that were not necessary to complete. I liked that through the course the experiences of different Ux designers were shared, it made the experience within the course nicer and also, gives me an idea of the type of job I'll have when I become a Ux designer. I appreciate that over the weeks, websites about design inspirations were shared. Now, I signed up in accounts where I start following blogs and people who works as designer, it'll help me to have more skills and contacts.

por Kyrsten K

26 de ago. de 2021

T​his course is for real. It's challenging but not overwhelming. I did all the exercises, posts and readings to the best of my ability. One could coast through, clicking assignments as complete but far less would be learned or accomplished. It's an excellent introduction to the field of UX design. It asks students to begin some of the most intimidating aspects of any career up-front: networking, defining your brand and creating an online presence. The Googlers are encouraging, personable and inspiring. If this is what UX designers are like, they are the kind of people with whom I'd like to spend my work-life.

por Andrew X

4 de jun. de 2021

ok! I really enjoy this experience, I recommend this course for an entry-level Designer, it's concise and right to the point of the most important topics to start a great carrier as a UX designer. Back then in 2007 when I started my Multimedia Design studies, I would love to have this knowledge about the User experience so clear, condensed, and well explained as I had it now. But the level of experience I achieved through all these years of dealing with all kinds of challenges on my carrier path, I consider is invaluable. Even though I'm happy 😉 and ready to continue with more Lectures. 🐯🤘🏽

por Mahantesh A

3 de jul. de 2021

Amazing Course! The course itself is equitable. I have learnt about the foundational concepts in UX design, such as user-centered design, the design process, accessibility, equity-focused design and the factors that contribute to great user experience design. I have had the opportunity to gain knowledge about the common job responsibilities of entry-level UX designers and teams that they work with. Also I've learnt how I can create an online portfolio where I can showcase my works as a UX designer and the reasons why design sprints are an important and useful part of a UX designer’s work.