Chevron Left
Volver a Fundamentals of Machine Learning in Finance

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Fundamentals of Machine Learning in Finance por parte de New York University

3.8
estrellas
295 calificaciones
62 reseña

Acerca del Curso

The course aims at helping students to be able to solve practical ML-amenable problems that they may encounter in real life that include: (1) understanding where the problem one faces lands on a general landscape of available ML methods, (2) understanding which particular ML approach(es) would be most appropriate for resolving the problem, and (3) ability to successfully implement a solution, and assess its performance. A learner with some or no previous knowledge of Machine Learning (ML) will get to know main algorithms of Supervised and Unsupervised Learning, and Reinforcement Learning, and will be able to use ML open source Python packages to design, test, and implement ML algorithms in Finance. Fundamentals of Machine Learning in Finance will provide more at-depth view of supervised, unsupervised, and reinforcement learning, and end up in a project on using unsupervised learning for implementing a simple portfolio trading strategy. The course is designed for three categories of students: Practitioners working at financial institutions such as banks, asset management firms or hedge funds Individuals interested in applications of ML for personal day trading Current full-time students pursuing a degree in Finance, Statistics, Computer Science, Mathematics, Physics, Engineering or other related disciplines who want to learn about practical applications of ML in Finance Experience with Python (including numpy, pandas, and IPython/Jupyter notebooks), linear algebra, basic probability theory and basic calculus is necessary to complete assignments in this course....

Principales reseñas

AT
9 de ago. de 2019

Furthered my understanding of how probabilistic models are connected to Machine Learning models. Very happy with the content in this course.

AT
2 de sep. de 2019

Great course which covers both theories as well as practical skills in the real implementations in the financial world.

Filtrar por:

26 - 50 de 60 revisiones para Fundamentals of Machine Learning in Finance

por Zoltan S

11 de ago. de 2018

The lectures were truly outstanding, the best overview on different methods in machine learning I have seen so far. The problem sets were also interesting, informative and introduced several useful api from sklearn, tensorflow. With a little work these problem sets could (and probably should) be improved to match the quality of the lectures. For example adding more clarifications in the homework notebooks would be very helpful. Having said this, I think this is an excellent course, and highly recommend it.

por Daria

26 de oct. de 2019

Great overview of main ML concepts with examples applicable to Finance. Even though some people might argue, that the videos don't provide a clear guide path to the assignments, I believe the course provides a simple explanation and great book references! Also, I supplemented my study with courses @DataCamp and other open sources - and it was quite beneficial as well. Thank you, Igor Halperin, & a team!

por Tunan T

28 de nov. de 2020

This is a good starter course for people who wants to learn how to apply fundamental knowledge of machine learning into finance industry. Though the course is well designed, the lab assignment requires a bit effort to improve. There are some places the student will have no clue what goes wrong and how to resolve the issue. But overall a good course!

por Wenxiao S

2 de mar. de 2020

The course is really challenging and requires a lot of self-motivated studying. I would say again it is the best course in quantitative finance that I have learned.

por Angelo J I T

10 de ago. de 2019

Furthered my understanding of how probabilistic models are connected to Machine Learning models. Very happy with the content in this course.

por Arditto T

3 de sep. de 2019

Great course which covers both theories as well as practical skills in the real implementations in the financial world.

por Siyu D

19 de sep. de 2019

This is a great course, I strongly recommend. However, the assignments take a while to finish.

por Craig V

25 de jul. de 2020

Great class, but don't believe the programming assignment time estimates... takes way longer!

por Alvaro M

1 de ene. de 2020

Excellent course to get ML algorithms for profit maximization approach

por 刘晶

6 de nov. de 2018

It's excellent and incomparable course!

por Carlos S

7 de abr. de 2020

Great explanations and great material

por Yuning C

8 de sep. de 2018

A great course with deep insight.

por Stefano M T

14 de feb. de 2020

Very interesting arguments!

por Pavel K

28 de nov. de 2018

Very informative

por mohamed h

8 de dic. de 2019

thanks coursera

por Cannie L

30 de dic. de 2020

Thanks

por Benny P

11 de dic. de 2019

For me, I find the math kind of useless. It's too hard for notice to understand, and too deep for those who don't want to know. This course should focus on its applications on finance. But at least you have few notebooks that you can keep for future reference.

por Hilmi E

5 de ago. de 2018

Good material..The course would improve a lot if there were clear explanations for the goals of the assignments and the plan for the assignment.. The codes for the assignment should be fully debugged..

por Jacques J

25 de dic. de 2018

So far so good. The lecturer refers to projects of which some weren't covered in this course. So a little confusing. Takes lots of googling to finish this course.

por Aydar A

27 de jun. de 2019

Good course with relevant topics, but assignments are not clear sometimes, lack of support with them.

por Sergey M

11 de sep. de 2021

I liked the course, but the bugs in the programming assignments are sometimes unbearable.

por Bozanian K

19 de ago. de 2018

Add some hints in the notebooks, it was very hard to understand some parts

por gareth o

28 de sep. de 2020

The course lecturing is good and having finance relevant examples is excellent but the programming exercises are very frustrating. The instructions are confusing and the final exercise requires a very long calculation that can time out. The forums are helpful though and it's all doable, a couple of tweaks and upgrading to Tensorflow2 would make this a 5* course

por cyril c

11 de oct. de 2018

content of the lessons is quite good, I would give it 5 stars if the assignments weren't so buggy, contains mistakes, unclear instructions, no help from staff/moderator/instructor, technical issues that are not resolved, etc. a lot of frustration, it just feels like the course was rushed to production and they let the students debug it

por Harsh T

11 de mar. de 2020

Lectures assume that students know about Finance. For a person like me, all the finance terms are like jargon. Even though I have good knowledge of Machine Learning, the videos were difficult to follow. Not a very good amalgamation of Finance and Machine Learning.