Chevron Left
Volver a Character Design for Video Games

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Character Design for Video Games por parte de Instituto de Artes de California

4.7
estrellas
846 calificaciones
227 reseña

Acerca del Curso

In this course you will explore concepts and approaches involved in creating successful character designs that can be applied to video games. Following a first week delving into some foundational concepts for successful character design, each of the remaining three weeks are structured as a master class where you will observe three professional character designers at work in the studio: Andy Ristaino (Adventure Time), Jacky Ke Jiang (Journey), and Robertryan Cory (SpongeBob SquarePants). Each designer will take on two different design challenges on the fly and address the various issues in designing characters for games, such as movement, expression, and technical limitations. At the end of each week you will have an opportunity to try out some of the concepts from that week's lesson on characters of your own design. This is a fun and engaging class especially useful for students interested in animation in film and TV as well as games, and is suitable for students of any drawing ability....

Principales reseñas

JM
21 de dic. de 2016

As I said earlier, I recommend this course for everyone; doctors included (:\n\nI like how this course was treated in a different way. We see people doing the job on there ground, that's interesting.

AM
5 de nov. de 2017

Fun and challenging to me. Is not easy to me to create new characters, but with this practice and professional examples, I feel more confident to just do and see what happens. Thank you, very much.

Filtrar por:

176 - 200 de 223 revisiones para Character Design for Video Games

por Tyraell H

9 de mar. de 2017

awesome

por Percy D R R

3 de jul. de 2021

chevre

por Stephen W

21 de oct. de 2017

Great

por Domenico S

3 de jul. de 2021

-

por Carlos A A J

29 de jun. de 2021

m

por Luis A V P

25 de jun. de 2021

.

por Tatiana M

23 de jul. de 2020

I enjoyed the course and can see progress in my character design skills.

Pros: you observe the working process of famous artists; you participate in creative challenges; you get the main theoretical anchors that are needed for character creation.

Cons: fellow students check each others assignments. For many it seems hard to criticise because they lack knowledge and experience, not everyone is able to be a good mentor. Some just neglect their responsibility to give a thorough review.

I was happy to learn a lot of new things, I ended up with good pieces for my future portfolio.

Big thanks to all teachers, moderators, filming team, guest artists and fellow student for this experience!

por Joshua S

2 de sep. de 2021

I​ really enjoyed this course. I am someone with experience in art and writing/character creation, but I really struggled to bridge the gap into character design through art. This course effectively bridged that gap for me and helped me think more practically about these things. I think that the course is really valuable in terms of the homework and broad concepts covered, and you get out what you put into it. I would have liked a bit more 'teaching' of character design concepts - it was a bit more open than I'd expected and without my own study on the side I think I would not have gotten as much as I did.

por Streltsova M

1 de oct. de 2016

A very interesting experience. I got imagination level-up. Though it was really difficult to understand what should you do in each assignment. I've spent quite a while time to realize what to do each time. And some students did their homework completely wrong. But except of that it's a great course.

por Cleo T

16 de may. de 2020

The course content is easy to follow, and is very insightful as you learn about the different artists' creative processes. The assignment grading system, however, needs to be improved so that it's easier to submit peer reviews, and to make sure that feedback received is constructive and useful.

por Sophie H

31 de dic. de 2016

I enjoyed this course because I learned about the more practical aspects of character design. The assignments were based of the same theory but didn't feel repetitive. The only thing I found was that the grading was veryyyyy easy.

So: A bit underwhelming but fun and interesting.

por Steve C

10 de ago. de 2019

This was probably my favorite course of the 4 pre capstone courses. Having played video games pre Atari, the other classes weren't a huge surprise but the activities were fun. This is the first one that really challenged me to get out of my comfort zone.

por Andrea B

13 de mar. de 2016

I would have liked to get input on my work by an instructor instead of just other students, but it was a good exercise to hone my skills. I wouldn't pay for credit because I feel like my work isn't being professionally graded.

por David M

31 de oct. de 2019

Very cool to see other artists in their "zone" talking about their experiences and giving some advice, gave 4 stars instead of 5 just because plenty of the talking isn't as informative as I would have liked.

por Anna M T

20 de abr. de 2020

Only issue with this course is that since there's only peer review and your peers can all be at different levels of skill, you run the risk of not getting any constructive criticism.

por Joshua B

31 de ago. de 2017

This course expanded my mind into creating a character inspired by surroundings. I have designed characters before in class but this was the next level i needed!

por Jose S

3 de feb. de 2020

Very interesting and engaging activities. It was great to make designs to be compared and assessed by other students. Highly recommended.

por Yu

21 de ene. de 2016

An amazing course, I really enjoyed it ..

very useful assignments .. opened my mind in different ways

would have loved references or so ..

por Joseph F

12 de ago. de 2018

I wish this class had more actual lessons on character design concepts and philosophies rather than the demonstrations it used.

por Naila Z W

2 de jun. de 2020

Pretty good notes given by 2nd and 3rd lecturer, first dude needs to actually plan what hes gonna say

por E. C C

14 de ago. de 2017

Nice use of iteration to push your ideas of who or what a character should or could look like.

por Ginevra F L A

20 de abr. de 2016

I learned a lot from the teacher, and the guests gave useful insight into the industry

por Juan D M

23 de jun. de 2016

One of my favorite ones up to now, long and interesting classes with amazing artists.

por Rodrigo A Z V

2 de jun. de 2021

Muy bueno, pero creo que a este deberían de entrar solo personas que sepan dibujar.

por David T S

21 de nov. de 2020

It was a short and fun course. Got me to practice thinking more creatively