Chevron Left
Volver a Introduction to Game Development

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Introduction to Game Development por parte de Universidad Estatal de Míchigan

4.8
estrellas
4,425 calificaciones
1,386 reseña

Acerca del Curso

If you love games and want to learn how to make them, then this course will start you down that path. Making games is a creative and technical art form. In this course you will familiarize yourself with the tools and practices of game development. You will get started developing your own videogames using the industry standard game development tools, including the Unity3D game engine and C#. At the end of the course you will have completed three hands-on projects and will be able to leverage an array of game development techniques to create your own basic games. This course is for individuals interested in becoming a game designer, game artist, or game programmer....

Principales reseñas

KG
29 de sep. de 2019

Great course, got to learn and understand good things about developing games in general and particularly in Unity. I highly suggest it for someone who has no experience whatsoever at game development.

SG
6 de feb. de 2016

Very great course. The instruction is spot on, allowing me to listen while I work without the need to actually watch the video. Definitely worth it for novices and even intermediate level developers.

Filtrar por:

1301 - 1325 de 1,357 revisiones para Introduction to Game Development

por Utkarsh N B

6 de ago. de 2020

amazing course

por Maurilio B d S F

9 de jul. de 2018

Great Course!

por George S

18 de abr. de 2019

informative

por Samuel I

2 de may. de 2017

Pretty good

por Ammar Y

4 de nov. de 2019

good good

por 张明瑞

21 de ene. de 2016

practical

por Shree K S

13 de jun. de 2018

nice :)

por Swarnim S

23 de may. de 2020

Great.

por Prudhvi R

1 de jul. de 2018

Good .

por youssef s a

9 de sep. de 2020

good

por Gabriel A

27 de sep. de 2015

M

por Kinga K K

11 de mar. de 2020

It was fun making all these games from scratch which gave me an overall view of simple programing and game dev, though I know it's just the starting line.

The reason why I gave only 3 stars is that the course materials are out of date and there's lack of help how to use them with newer Unity versions. I used the forum looking for help but there were some issues I couldn't solve relying on the forum discussions. In my opinion a text file would have been very helpful with all the necessary information about the upgrades and all the details it affects related to this course. I think online courses should follow technical improvements especially when it isn't free and wants to represent university quality.

por Frank

4 de ene. de 2016

Didactically I was a little disappointed since, as so often, allegedly innovative e-learning is based on a conventional transmission pedagogy, with the instructur delivering frontal-teaching-style lectures and the learner imitating the instructions. As a comparative novice in the field, I'm not sure that I am now able to apply independently what I imitated for the assignments. Scripting went right over my head.

Rhetorically, many of the lectures were preformulated written texts rattled off, sometimes quite fast, in spite of the complexity of some of the information. Where the instructor formulated freely, the excessive Uuuhms and "go ahead's" nearly drove me bonkers.

On the whole, a useful course, though.

por Christopher J

28 de dic. de 2015

While I enjoyed the projects and found the instructor easy to follow and understand, I was disappointed in how little coding we did. The code walkthroughs were rushed and I barely learned enough to scratch the surface of some of the scripts we used in the basic projects. Since scripting is such a huge part of game development, I feel like there should have been more focus on it. Maybe a new term in each video or something?

And I understand that the course was only four weeks, which doesn't allow much time for deep scripting analysis, but maybe the course should be longer than four weeks.

Overall a fun class and I now have two games to show off to people.

por Prashant P

2 de mar. de 2016

Good for beginners. I am not sure if anyone who has designed even a small game in Unity will be interested in this course. I was quite bored and had to go through all the videos just to complete the assignment which cannot be completed if you don't go through all the videos which I think is the drawback for this course. But again, its for beginners. As for me, I am looking forward to interesting and in-depth topics to learn about. The specialization will hold no value if it doesn't pose any challenge to its pursuers.

por Chris D

7 de jun. de 2018

Not bad, gets you started with the basics in Unity. However, i have done some beginner courses elsewhere and they have all started with an introduction to C# before moving on to using Unity. I find having a base knowledge of the language is a must if you want to succeed in the game industry, therefore i think this course could be better by teaching at least a rudimentary amount of C#. Otherwise the course is fine, it teaches you the basics of Unity which is expected from an introduction course.

por Joice P T

8 de nov. de 2020

The Videos as well as the walk though seems good in this course but this is a course is made around 4 years back and according to Unity , many changes occur due to updating that happening every 2-4 months. Looking that way,this course seem quite outdated, as many things including the U.I of Unity has changed over the years.

por Calin T

7 de ene. de 2018

It does teach the basics of Unity, but it does not touch very much at all on the crux of game development - programming. I wish I got more opportunities to practice C# with Unity, but the only time I did was a little bit on the last week. The rest of the courses in the specialization also don't focus much on that aspect

por Bernardo S d L

2 de mar. de 2020

The teacher is great, but they should update it and choose a version of unity to work with. Even future classes can work in an older version. Every peer assignment that I graded had a different version of unity. Most I could just update to the newer version but there were a few that crashed.

por Marco T T C

26 de mar. de 2016

It's a good, but timid, introduction to game development with Unity. It addresses many relevant game development concepts, like programming, collision detection and 3D coordinates. It course may be better appreciated if taken as part of a specialization.

por Γιώργος Μ

29 de oct. de 2016

3 stars because the lecturer is really good but talks a little bit fast so foreign students cant clearly understand what he means or get "lost" in the course. You will say "you can reduce the speed" but this would reduce the sound quality too.

por adarsh s

19 de may. de 2020

Its a big let down that the instructor didn't teach us actual C# coding in week 4 and most of it is just a little code walk through.Except that course is good.

por Connor W

14 de feb. de 2020

This course is great, but I've had to reset my deadlines for 6 months because how the thing is uploaded doesn't work how the professors say it should.

por Deleted A

18 de jul. de 2017

This class is a pretty good introduction to Unity, I just don't know that it is better than the free tutorials provided by Unity.

por Thiago G

17 de dic. de 2015

The course introduces the student to the production of a game using Unity, but it lacks on programming focus.