Chevron Left
Volver a Principles of Game Design

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Principles of Game Design por parte de Universidad Estatal de Míchigan

4.4
estrellas
1,261 calificaciones
327 revisiones

Acerca del Curso

You have a great idea for a game. Turning that idea into a reality isn't just about knowing the tools. In this course you will practice moving from game concept through design documentation, prototyping and testing. Numerous elements go into the overall process of game design. These range from topics such as idea generation, story, character, and game world development, game mechanics and level design, and user experience design. You will explore the process for designing meaningful experiences for your players. At the end of the course learners will have produced a game's high concept document, one page blueprint, a physical prototype, pitch and supporting design documentation to move from an idea in your head to a fleshed out design, ready for implementation....

Principales revisiones

JR

Mar 27, 2016

Great course!\n\nThought I wouldn't use the stuff that I learned in the videos at first, but as I started working on my own projects, I realised it was very important knowledge for a game developer.

MC

Apr 03, 2017

This course helps your game go from concept to reality. It pushed me to get a digital prototype made and ready to demo. Great depth of information related to game design and the gaming industry.

Filtrar por:

301 - 313 de 313 revisiones para Principles of Game Design

por Robert W

May 01, 2016

After the excellent first course in the specialisation, this was quite a disappointment.

I realise that the subject matter in this course will inevitably involve abstract concepts and subjective opinions, but I didn't really 'get' the way that Casey was presenting the subject given that there were quizzes and assignments to follow.

That's not to say that the videos aren't interesting. But, given their rambling style, they would be much more useful as reference material rather than driving the course, in my opinion.

Many of the questions in the quizzes felt like they'd been added simply to make them up to the correct number. Some were so loose that you could write any answer and I'm sure you'd get a mark!

Also, I'd say not to even start this course unless you have a clear idea for a game. The assignments require you to produce design documents that are tedious, going on impossible, to write without some firm rooted idea to start from.

Maybe if you really want to be a game designer then this will be the course for you. If you are doing the course out of curiosity, for fun, or to learn how to control Unity, I'd give it a miss.

por Jason M

Dec 03, 2015

I didn't like the class despite getting 100% on pretty much every assignment. I learned very little from the class. I don't think 99% of what was in the class was useful to me at all. The grading for the class had ludonarrative dissonance with the quizzes. The projects were graded by peers, but the rubric was nonsensical. 1-5 scale for submitting a PDF, for example. So, someone might give you a 1 for submitting the PDF and thus you wouldn't get a full-score. It was just idiotic.

por Ricardo S A

Dec 03, 2015

One of the worst courses that I have taken in coursera.

The videos feel unstructured without preparation and boring.

The quizes are subjective. You can pass all of then without watching a single video or lecture.

The assignments are interesting but the way of grading them are bad designed and subjective.

Sad, I passed this course without trouble but made me stop wanting to get the full specialization.

Spartans! Review the course or better close it. Its a shame.

por Mohab R

Jan 19, 2016

Not very informative content, some parts are interesting but not worth the money.

The worst thing is, all assignments are writting work that are evaluated by colleagues, meaning, it is purely objective, to the extent that one question asks if my uploaded file is in a readable format, example pdf, txt...etc and two out of three marking my pdf file as not!!! and not even leaving a comment why they are giving that bad score on obvious things!

por Dmitry K

Sep 23, 2017

Poor organized. Evaluation system based on peer reviews, when you share your ideas and concepts without any protection. Evaluation criteria are very subjective. Very disappointing. I have unsubscribed from whole specialization because of that course

por Eyal B

Mar 19, 2017

Hard to follow, ideas are not organized and are not well presented. Lecturer has many pauses, that even on increased playback speed (x1.25), are still distracting. Do not recommend!

por Kostiantyn W

Sep 26, 2016

That person should not teach. Nobody. The person is not able to construct a sentence without denial and course has really little information, but lots of empty talking.

por Kashan A

Jun 16, 2020

This course is entirely based on the documentation which is very wired. Because in my opinion, this course should be based on graphics visual as well.

por Ma P

Jul 06, 2017

the course content are far from practical

Unlike the session 1 which is useful

this session include too many part I want to skip

por Stefan H

Aug 04, 2018

Extremely disappointing, nothing I could use in any practical way.

por Benjamin P

Apr 29, 2017

The quiz feedbacks are empty, this is not good.

por Dex O

Oct 10, 2016

Don`t put your irrelevant politics in games

por Rishabh r N

Aug 22, 2017

sucks