Chevron Left
Volver a Game Development for Modern Platforms

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Game Development for Modern Platforms por parte de Universidad Estatal de Míchigan

4.8
estrellas
798 calificaciones
179 reseña

Acerca del Curso

The device or "platform" that a game is developed for and played on has a massive impact on the game development process. In this hands-on course you will explore how to develop a game for a variety of modern platforms, including Web, Windows, Mac OS X, iOS, and Android. While building a complete game, you will learn intermediate and advanced game development techniques in the Unity game engine. By the end of the course, you will understand how to develop, refine, package, and prepare your game for distribution on a variety of game platforms. Particular attention will be given to developing a 2D platformer game that supports multiple forms of input (keyboard/mouse, controller, and touch), works across multiple forms of output (screen size, screen resolution, sound), and performs well on a variety of computing devices....

Principales reseñas

GM
24 de may. de 2020

This is very nice course. I honestly say that i never before this course even open the unity and now i developed full game with my own idea it is nice to start Game development with this course

BJ
25 de abr. de 2019

Great lectures from Brian Winn: very clear and his assets very clear as well an organized. It will be very good to complement the lectures with a short document summarizing the theory.

Filtrar por:

126 - 150 de 170 revisiones para Game Development for Modern Platforms

por Jaime R

19 de ene. de 2016

Great course!

por raj s d

9 de ago. de 2020

good course

por salvador

16 de ene. de 2016

Its great.

por Armando M d S S

2 de feb. de 2018

Very nice

por Ugo N

1 de jun. de 2017

Worth it.

por Stephen B

20 de jun. de 2016

Hard Fun!

por rafael m d s

3 de feb. de 2016

Amazing!

por Jeffery S

28 de sep. de 2017

Awesome

por Bhavyansh J

23 de jun. de 2020

Nice

por akif G

6 de jun. de 2020

nice

por Bjorn J B

17 de ene. de 2016

<3

por Isara A

30 de dic. de 2015

I am in the middle of the course and will continue till the end.

The course does show an easy way how to develop a platformer with Unity3D. It covers a lot of subjects, although I have a feeling that I will need to read about Unity again later.

Anyhow, it is too fast and the instructor does not really emphasize on important points. Sometimes he also fails to provide proper explanation of some important parameters.

Also, the course is tutorial-oriented but it goes so fast I could not really follow the instructions. So, I ended up watching the classes through and do the tutorial later. But as I said, because the instructions are super-quick, I had to watch them again many times while trying to do the workshop.

Maybe this is how it should be but I still feel that it could be a little slower and let be breath a little while trying to digest the content so that I can redo the work by my own after finishing the class.

por Alan C

3 de ene. de 2017

Touches lightly on multi-platform development issues. Further insight into scripting with the Unity Engine. Some very useful character animation and programming in this course. It was fun to put together your own version of the final game. I added some features to the character and AI behavior and created some music for the background. I would give it 5 stars if it was a little more in-depth on dealing with issues with developing for different platforms. It barely skims the surface there. I understand with Unity, several traditional cross-platform issues are resolved by simply targeting the desired platform and letting Unity handle building, but there are still topics worth considering if you are building your own engine or working with one that doesn't build for SDKs; such as limitations on one platform vs another, scaling, LOD, generic interfaces, etc.

por Carlos D P G

17 de ene. de 2016

I feel it very similar to the first course. Yes, you make a bigger game, it's more complex, we review more script stuff, and the project is more challenging. However, I feel that it's mainly about joining the pieces together, and following the instructions from the videos.

I would like to see more exercises where there is the need to do stuff by yourself. Example: add the code to Sparty script to enable double jump. Then, after we complete the assignment, show us the correct result, so that we also practice scripting, and do the rest of the course with the right script.

Also, I think it would be good to add a small course related to the artist's work, just as there is for the designer (Principles of Game Design) and the programmer (this course), but that's outside of the scope of this review.

por Scott T R

18 de ene. de 2016

This course was really good from the information available and the follow along for the course. The biggest issues I had were that Unity had issues between the different releases for the various platforms. The import of the assets on Windows 10 required some extra lifting that was not covered by the videos. And the teachers were not very present on the message board. Which seems to be an ever-present problem in this Specialization.

por Marco T T C

26 de mar. de 2016

This course is a sort of sequel to "Introduction to Game Design", by providing a deeper learning about the usage of the Unity Engine for Game Development. In the course, the student will develop a game mostly from scratch, using the assets provided by the teachers. There is a stronger focus on coding this time, as well as, a demand for the development of new and original concepts at the end of it.

por Fernando G

28 de feb. de 2016

Learning through example = learning. Much better than the "design" course, which I thought could have benefited from "decomposing" games into their various mechanics... a sort of reverse engineering or in this case "reverse design" Still, the course was plagued by bugs, not so much by its own fault but more due to various updates to Unity and bugs in those updates.

por Kaan E

25 de may. de 2020

I enjoyed the course and Prof. Brian Winn is pretty great. I've learned a lot of neat things and tricks with Unity. My only positive criticism and wish would be if the games we are working on or the material was a bit more difficult and longer. Also if we could build something that is more advanced with better graphics, it'd be nice as well.

por Apan T

2 de sep. de 2018

The course is really helpful for those who want to start developing games in Unity. However, I would suggest to update the course to accommodate newer features like Tilemaps, Composite Collider, Cinemachine, etc., if possible.

por Chanchana S

11 de oct. de 2016

Like the first course of the Game Design and Development specialization. Brian Win teaches nice concept and then let us go in implementation right away. You will learn a lot of Unity stuff addition to the first course.

por Rahul P

26 de mar. de 2018

Compared to the other courses in this specialization, I found this one to be more tedious and time consuming. Felt like it did not teach me as much as the other courses, but still was an immense learning experience!

por Matt

2 de feb. de 2017

Overall good course. Videos need to be recorded in HD, and some of the later videos need to be re-recorded. The audio feedback is not good and makes it distracting and difficult to watch.

por James M

22 de may. de 2017

The audio quality on these lectures is painful at times. Very bad clipping. With that, this course is a lot of fun to work through. Really provides a nice foundation to Unity topics.

por Zheng L

22 de abr. de 2018

Great course for game developers in telling many details, maybe should go deep into each aspect, but I can understand the length limit for each lectures

por Alberto A d S J

19 de jun. de 2017

Good course, I think was a little short, and the test asked was kinda hard task for the moment, but that also helped me gain some knoledge.