Chevron Left
Volver a The Science of Gastronomy

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a The Science of Gastronomy por parte de Universidad Científica y Tecnológica de Hong Kong

4.6
287 calificaciones
66 revisiones

Acerca del Curso

This course introduces a number of basic scientific principles underpinning the methodology of cooking, food preparation and the enjoyment of food. All topics covered have a strong basis in biology, chemistry, and physics application. Among others, they include the consumption of cooked food, the physiological and evolutionary implication of the senses, geographic and cultural influences on food, and the rationale behind food preparation. We will also discuss issues such as coupling of senses to improve sense stimulation; altering flavor by chemical means; and modification of the coloration to improve the appearance of dishes. Following the video demonstrations of the scientific principles of cooking, you will learn to recognize the key ingredients and their combinations for preparing good healthy food. At the end of this course, you will be able to: - appreciate the scientific basis of various recipes; - develop your own recipes by integrating some of the scientific principles into new dishes; - recognize the influence of the material world on human perception from the different senses; - appreciate the art of integrating science into cooking and dining. Important Note: This course is not designed for people with special dietary needs such as vegetarian, diabetic, and gluten-free diets. If you feel uncomfortable with any part of the assignments or activities of this course, you can substitute some of the ingredients or ask friends and family members to help with the tasting of your assignments. Alternatively, you may skip that specific assignment provided that you have fulfilled all other qualifying requirement to pass the course. Course Overview video: https://youtu.be/H5vlaR0_X2I...

Principales revisiones

AS

Jul 08, 2018

Waiting for an extension to this course but at an advanced levelThis course is really valuable. It was presented in a simple and fun way I enjoyed studying with you thank you

TM

Apr 06, 2019

If you enjoy cooking and also enjoy chemistry, this course is ideal. It taught me many techniques in the kitchen and why the food changes during the cooking process.

Filtrar por:

1 - 25 de 64 revisiones para The Science of Gastronomy

por Josiah P A

Nov 20, 2017

It was vary good gave me ideas on how to improve my cooking technique, and allowed me to use my imagination to make my dishes better!

por Pallavi D D

Jan 28, 2019

very interesting

por Josephine C U

Jan 21, 2019

I love cooking and know the science behind cooking makes me can respect more about cooking and can be more creative for my cooking. The lecturer also gives practical example so it is easy to understand. Worth to try and your time invested won't be wasted

por altin j

Feb 24, 2019

there should be a digital certificate in PDF for those who can not pay because everybody does a lot of effort and time to finish this course

por Fady

Feb 15, 2019

Excellent, i suggest all the workers in hospitality field to take that important course :)

por María F S H

Feb 26, 2019

gran aprendizaje y excelentes profesores

por Deleted A

Mar 01, 2019

https://www.coursera.org/learn/gastronomy?ranMID=40328&ranEAID=ymSl0jCmTv0&ranSiteID=ymSl0jCmTv0-Bp.w3SWHwTB7F6m0tHfcMA&siteID=ymSl0jCmTv0-Bp.w3SWHwTB7F6m0tHfcMA&utm_content=15&utm_medium=partners&utm_source=linkshare&utm_campaign=ymSl0jCmTv0

I hope and wish If I can Get Certificate for that course :(

por Angie M A S

Apr 05, 2019

This course is the gastronomy part behind all of the delicious dishes we eat every day, at least for the first week, which is the only one available now. It seems to me the course is really new in coursera, but that doesn't affect the experience in learning. Very good Chinese school and great teachers too.

por Abril H M S

Apr 07, 2019

Me gustó mucho, además del aprendizaje pude practicar mi inglés al escucharlo y entenderlo

por Tamires G M

Apr 06, 2019

If you enjoy cooking and also enjoy chemistry, this course is ideal. It taught me many techniques in the kitchen and why the food changes during the cooking process.

por Marianna Y

Apr 26, 2018

Great course!

por Blanca I M R

May 24, 2017

Very good way to explain science, you get the idea, its fun to learn and is easy to ap

por Rodrigo D

Feb 01, 2017

Very interesting, the scientific approach to cooking and eating.

por sunil k

May 17, 2017

very nice

por Asta Š

Dec 22, 2016

I learnt more than I expected. However, there were quite a few moments that was boring to me, for example, those parts that included molecules chains in explanation of certain topics. Anyway, the chains was not in the final exam. Therefore, I rate this course as excellent.

por Dima

Jan 19, 2017

very cool!

por Jean B

Sep 25, 2016

This course changes our perception of food and what good or delicious food means. It sheds light on the scientific aspects that makes up the culinary experience from the inception of a dish till the digestion of the food.

por Tamara W

Jan 14, 2017

Great experience with a fun learning environment.

por Lillian L

Jan 15, 2018

Great course. I learned a lot about food preparation and why we cook foods certain ways. The demonstrations were great and interesting. The instructors were very engaging and seemed excited about what they were teaching. The assignments were great in helping me to understand different things I learned in the lectures. I would highly recommend this course to anyone interested in food preparation.

por Leonardo B E

Mar 22, 2017

very good

por Afnan S

Jul 08, 2018

Waiting for an extension to this course but at an advanced levelThis course is really valuable. It was presented in a simple and fun way I enjoyed studying with you thank you

por Natalia H H

Feb 10, 2017

I enjoy learning this course!! Thank you and I hope future actualizations...

por Lina M

Jun 06, 2018

I enjoyed it very much!

por krishnapriya h

Jun 02, 2018

very knowledgable,i will surely recommend this

por Danielle T

Jun 20, 2016

Interesting course and fun instructor.