Chevron Left
Volver a The Science of Gastronomy

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a The Science of Gastronomy por parte de Universidad Científica y Tecnológica de Hong Kong

4.6
258 calificaciones
61 revisiones

Acerca del Curso

This course introduces a number of basic scientific principles underpinning the methodology of cooking, food preparation and the enjoyment of food. All topics covered have a strong basis in biology, chemistry, and physics application. Among others, they include the consumption of cooked food, the physiological and evolutionary implication of the senses, geographic and cultural influences on food, and the rationale behind food preparation. We will also discuss issues such as coupling of senses to improve sense stimulation; altering flavor by chemical means; and modification of the coloration to improve the appearance of dishes. Following the video demonstrations of the scientific principles of cooking, you will learn to recognize the key ingredients and their combinations for preparing good healthy food. At the end of this course, you will be able to: - appreciate the scientific basis of various recipes; - develop your own recipes by integrating some of the scientific principles into new dishes; - recognize the influence of the material world on human perception from the different senses; - appreciate the art of integrating science into cooking and dining. Important Note: This course is not designed for people with special dietary needs such as vegetarian, diabetic, and gluten-free diets. If you feel uncomfortable with any part of the assignments or activities of this course, you can substitute some of the ingredients or ask friends and family members to help with the tasting of your assignments. Alternatively, you may skip that specific assignment provided that you have fulfilled all other qualifying requirement to pass the course. Course Overview video: https://youtu.be/H5vlaR0_X2I...

Principales revisiones

AS

Jul 08, 2018

Waiting for an extension to this course but at an advanced levelThis course is really valuable. It was presented in a simple and fun way I enjoyed studying with you thank you

TM

Apr 06, 2019

If you enjoy cooking and also enjoy chemistry, this course is ideal. It taught me many techniques in the kitchen and why the food changes during the cooking process.

Filtrar por:

1 - 25 de 59 revisiones para The Science of Gastronomy

por Anzala A M

May 14, 2019

really help me to find all the material that I need. especially in my country, where there are no formal education about gastronomy. strongly recommended for those who want to learn the principle and philosophy behind foods and cooking science, not practice skills.

por Abril H M S

Apr 07, 2019

Me gustó mucho, además del aprendizaje pude practicar mi inglés al escucharlo y entenderlo

por Tamires G M

Apr 06, 2019

If you enjoy cooking and also enjoy chemistry, this course is ideal. It taught me many techniques in the kitchen and why the food changes during the cooking process.

por Angie M A S

Apr 05, 2019

This course is the gastronomy part behind all of the delicious dishes we eat every day, at least for the first week, which is the only one available now. It seems to me the course is really new in coursera, but that doesn't affect the experience in learning. Very good Chinese school and great teachers too.

por Deleted A

Mar 01, 2019

https://www.coursera.org/learn/gastronomy?ranMID=40328&ranEAID=ymSl0jCmTv0&ranSiteID=ymSl0jCmTv0-Bp.w3SWHwTB7F6m0tHfcMA&siteID=ymSl0jCmTv0-Bp.w3SWHwTB7F6m0tHfcMA&utm_content=15&utm_medium=partners&utm_source=linkshare&utm_campaign=ymSl0jCmTv0

I hope and wish If I can Get Certificate for that course :(

por María F S H

Feb 26, 2019

gran aprendizaje y excelentes profesores

por altin j

Feb 24, 2019

there should be a digital certificate in PDF for those who can not pay because everybody does a lot of effort and time to finish this course

por Fady

Feb 15, 2019

Excellent, i suggest all the workers in hospitality field to take that important course :)

por Pallavi D D

Jan 28, 2019

very interesting

por Josephine C U

Jan 21, 2019

I love cooking and know the science behind cooking makes me can respect more about cooking and can be more creative for my cooking. The lecturer also gives practical example so it is easy to understand. Worth to try and your time invested won't be wasted

por TRISHALA P

Dec 16, 2018

The course was very well organised , the professor's were amazing ,they were having deep knowledge in the subject, I really enjoyed this course,looking forward to take more courses like this.thank you!

por Allan I A F

Nov 12, 2018

<3 Wonderfull, it's changing my life.

por

Sep 27, 2018

Very interesting

por Duc T N

Sep 24, 2018

Such a great course from HKUST.

por Natalia A

Sep 12, 2018

Great experience!!!

por Afnan S

Jul 08, 2018

Waiting for an extension to this course but at an advanced levelThis course is really valuable. It was presented in a simple and fun way I enjoyed studying with you thank you

por David N

Jul 01, 2018

A little bit long, however very insteresting. It is easier to understand with a scientific background but professors make it basic so everyone can follow the course. English is sometimes problematic for understanding (and misunderstanding) but overall everything went smoothly. I have not "cemented" all the notions in my mind yet but now when I cook / eat / drink / see / perceive, I will have this additional prism and the experience is funnier and more interesting. Thank you for this course !

por Lina M

Jun 06, 2018

I enjoyed it very much!

por krishnapriya h

Jun 02, 2018

very knowledgable,i will surely recommend this

por Faiza b k

Apr 28, 2018

It’s amazing n knowledgeable

por Marianna Y

Apr 26, 2018

Great course!

por Jaime O Z

Apr 24, 2018

100% Recomendado. Didáctico, interesante, se va a los fundamentos de la gastronomía y permite saber mucho más de todo lo que es la ciencia involucrada en el proceso. Muy interesante.

por Ann T

Feb 27, 2018

E

por Lillian L

Jan 15, 2018

Great course. I learned a lot about food preparation and why we cook foods certain ways. The demonstrations were great and interesting. The instructors were very engaging and seemed excited about what they were teaching. The assignments were great in helping me to understand different things I learned in the lectures. I would highly recommend this course to anyone interested in food preparation.

por Ilaria C

Jan 07, 2018

I learned many interesting things but it was a bit long. The teacher keeps adding some redundant words (i.e. in fact) in the sentences and his pronunciation makes it difficult to get the concepts sometimes. The classes are a bit slow and always the same, with the explanation first (interesting for me), and then some experiment description and implementation (too long videos on that part).

It doesn't really have exams at the end of classes, so it is easy to pass but at the same time I realise I lost many concepts since the beginning.