Chevron Left
Volver a The Science of Gastronomy

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a The Science of Gastronomy por parte de Universidad Científica y Tecnológica de Hong Kong

4.6
estrellas
303 calificaciones
70 revisiones

Acerca del Curso

This course introduces a number of basic scientific principles underpinning the methodology of cooking, food preparation and the enjoyment of food. All topics covered have a strong basis in biology, chemistry, and physics application. Among others, they include the consumption of cooked food, the physiological and evolutionary implication of the senses, geographic and cultural influences on food, and the rationale behind food preparation. We will also discuss issues such as coupling of senses to improve sense stimulation; altering flavor by chemical means; and modification of the coloration to improve the appearance of dishes. Following the video demonstrations of the scientific principles of cooking, you will learn to recognize the key ingredients and their combinations for preparing good healthy food. At the end of this course, you will be able to: - appreciate the scientific basis of various recipes; - develop your own recipes by integrating some of the scientific principles into new dishes; - recognize the influence of the material world on human perception from the different senses; - appreciate the art of integrating science into cooking and dining. Important Note: This course is not designed for people with special dietary needs such as vegetarian, diabetic, and gluten-free diets. If you feel uncomfortable with any part of the assignments or activities of this course, you can substitute some of the ingredients or ask friends and family members to help with the tasting of your assignments. Alternatively, you may skip that specific assignment provided that you have fulfilled all other qualifying requirement to pass the course. Course Overview video: https://youtu.be/H5vlaR0_X2I...

Principales revisiones

AS

Jul 08, 2018

Waiting for an extension to this course but at an advanced levelThis course is really valuable. It was presented in a simple and fun way I enjoyed studying with you thank you

AJ

Feb 24, 2019

there should be a digital certificate in PDF for those who can not pay because everybody does a lot of effort and time to finish this course

Filtrar por:

51 - 69 de 69 revisiones para The Science of Gastronomy

por Laura G

Sep 04, 2016

briliant!!

por sunil k

May 17, 2017

very nice

por Leonardo B E

Mar 22, 2017

very good

por Eliseu F B

Aug 28, 2019

Amazing!

por Camilla S

Oct 28, 2017

v

e

r

y

n

i

c

e

por PALASHA S

Jun 29, 2016

Love it!

por Lok C F

Jul 04, 2017

nice...

por Ann T

Feb 27, 2018

E

por Deleted A

Jul 01, 2018

A little bit long, however very insteresting. It is easier to understand with a scientific background but professors make it basic so everyone can follow the course. English is sometimes problematic for understanding (and misunderstanding) but overall everything went smoothly. I have not "cemented" all the notions in my mind yet but now when I cook / eat / drink / see / perceive, I will have this additional prism and the experience is funnier and more interesting. Thank you for this course !

por TRISHALA P

Dec 16, 2018

The course was very well organised , the professor's were amazing ,they were having deep knowledge in the subject, I really enjoyed this course,looking forward to take more courses like this.thank you!

por Claire C

Sep 11, 2016

a little succinct and could have gone in to far more chemistry details.

the teachers are a little difficult to understand at times and a little repetitive as well but overall an enjoyable course

por Mario S

Aug 30, 2017

Fascinating to learn the science behind our experience and enjoyment of food.

por Duc T N

Sep 24, 2018

Such a great course from HKUST.

por abhishek b

Sep 28, 2017

nice course

por Ilaria C

Jan 07, 2018

I learned many interesting things but it was a bit long. The teacher keeps adding some redundant words (i.e. in fact) in the sentences and his pronunciation makes it difficult to get the concepts sometimes. The classes are a bit slow and always the same, with the explanation first (interesting for me), and then some experiment description and implementation (too long videos on that part).

It doesn't really have exams at the end of classes, so it is easy to pass but at the same time I realise I lost many concepts since the beginning.

por Jonathan G

Dec 10, 2017

I found this course to be tedious and redundant. There was so much that wasn't needed and was very condescending to most students. Anyone can learn how to cook. It is not hard skill. The trick to good cooking is knowing how to properly cook something and not overcook or undercook, using the right amount of spices or flavor and timing. This course was taught as though to deliberately insult the intelligence of those taking it.

por Vika R

Oct 23, 2016

Interesting approach, but I expected more useful information on gastronomy

por Ajay L

May 28, 2016

amateurish presentation. and there is some technical issue with the content. the video gets stuck a lot and the problem is not my internet.