Chevron Left
Volver a Sexing the Canvas: Art and Gender

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Sexing the Canvas: Art and Gender por parte de Universidad de Melbourne

4.6
estrellas
392 calificaciones
89 reseña

Acerca del Curso

What do paintings tell us about sex? How is art gendered? In this course we will study some of the world’s most beloved pictures guided by expert curators and art historians who step outside of the square, bringing a gendered reading to the masterpieces contained in the magnificent collections that we have been lucky enough to bring to the Coursera platform. In this course you will learn how: * Gender and sexuality is an integral part of the production and reception of works of art * To increase your understanding of paintings through theories of gender and sexuality * To understand key terms from gender-related theories of art history and museology * To recognise the operation of what is termed ‘the gaze’ and how it works in relation to paintings * Ideas about gender and sexuality can productively be employed in theorising art curatorial practices * To take the initiative in relating theoretical ideas about gender and sexuality to the reading and display of art and visual cultures. View the MOOC promotional video here: http://tinyurl.com/hm7qbl3...

Principales reseñas

EF
20 de may. de 2021

Thanks for the opportunity of this course which was interesting and very well presented .The single inconvenience was Quiz # 9 which was not only difficult but very chaotic to understand and follow.

IC
29 de may. de 2020

Very interesting and complete -a great window into several art galleries (especially now, during the context of COVID-19!), styles, personalities and iconic works of art.

Filtrar por:

26 - 50 de 90 revisiones para Sexing the Canvas: Art and Gender

por Patricia M C

31 de may. de 2017

Sorry to be so insistent, but put subtitles in Spanish and added some Latin American art to your course, I think there are good contributions so you can take advantage of the subject.

por Juana L

12 de mar. de 2017

A wonderful way of understanding gender in Art. I was a complete beginner in this topic and now I feel I have tools to help me continue my training and to observe art differently.

por Ilse d Y C

29 de may. de 2020

Very interesting and complete -a great window into several art galleries (especially now, during the context of COVID-19!), styles, personalities and iconic works of art.

por Manuel C V X

5 de jul. de 2020

Excellent approach to the theme, very well conducted with highly professionals. Some important issues were missed, but it is impossible to contemplate the whole.

por Cansu A

10 de jul. de 2017

It was a great course, I learned a lot in this course and it changed the way I look at paintings in the art museums, I really enjoyed this learning experience.

por HUANG S

17 de jun. de 2017

wonderful interpretation of masterpiece and art movement, help to deeply appreciate famous art works. Wish to attend more courses from Melbourne University

por Joyce U

24 de ago. de 2019

Thank you so much for allowing me the privilege to be a part of this learning experience. I t's the first thing I do, while having my morning tea.

por AyuProfX. G P K M

19 de ago. de 2021

Excelente curso, se aborda el estudio de las piezas a partir de varias personas especializadas en el tema. Fue mejor de lo que esperaba.

por Léa M S

12 de sep. de 2017

This course was really excellent! I enjoyed watching it and it allowed me to learn a lot about a topic that I had never studied before.

por Tracey L

7 de jul. de 2020

I really enjoyed this course. It was so interesting and I am now looking at paintings from new perspectives and with greater depth.

por robin s

26 de nov. de 2020

This was a wonderful course which gave me a new perspective when I view art and gave me new insights on artists and their works.

por mohamed G

25 de ago. de 2016

So good course with an excellent Staff,so thanks for all and specially for University of Melbourne to give me that chance.

por Haleigh B

3 de may. de 2020

I very much enjoyed this course. It was full of interesting facts and stories and was easy to digest on a busy schedule.

por Elisa M

28 de abr. de 2021

Very interesting. All professors explained each argument with love and passion. I am forever grateful for this course.

por Natalie W

19 de jun. de 2017

Great course! It has changed the way I view art. The lecturers make complex material accessible and interesting.

por JOHN Q

20 de abr. de 2016

Great Course! I loved looking at the art presented with a different context and understanding. Thanks so much.

por Stella S

4 de ene. de 2018

Fantastic! A great range of images and artists have been selected for study, and the concepts are fascinating.

por Catherine H

22 de dic. de 2018

What a unique and interesting class!! I'm extremely happy that I took this class. Would highly recommend it!

por Carol G

3 de feb. de 2019

Absolutely loved this course. It fed my soul to be guided through so many wonderful works of art.

Thank you

por Alisha B

6 de jun. de 2021

Super interested! Always loved art and this course was a great insight into art history and intention

por María C T

3 de oct. de 2017

Great teachers! Good select of artists for the course and definitely interesting gender emphasis!

por Rose S

26 de mar. de 2017

A brilliant course, full of surprises and challenging ideas. I can't recommend it highly enough.

por Tijana V

17 de may. de 2017

Excellent course for everyone who is interested in Art, Art History and Gender studies

por Guey-Mei

3 de ago. de 2021

I​t's been a wonderful art education for any entry level. I enjoyed it!

por sara

16 de dic. de 2017

Great academic approach to the Gender discussion widening my horizon.