Chevron Left
Volver a Sexing the Canvas: Art and Gender

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Sexing the Canvas: Art and Gender por parte de Universidad de Melbourne

4.6
estrellas
337 calificaciones
73 reseña

Acerca del Curso

What do paintings tell us about sex? How is art gendered? In this course we will study some of the world’s most beloved pictures guided by expert curators and art historians who step outside of the square, bringing a gendered reading to the masterpieces contained in the magnificent collections that we have been lucky enough to bring to the Coursera platform. In this course you will learn how: * Gender and sexuality is an integral part of the production and reception of works of art * To increase your understanding of paintings through theories of gender and sexuality * To understand key terms from gender-related theories of art history and museology * To recognise the operation of what is termed ‘the gaze’ and how it works in relation to paintings * Ideas about gender and sexuality can productively be employed in theorising art curatorial practices * To take the initiative in relating theoretical ideas about gender and sexuality to the reading and display of art and visual cultures. View the MOOC promotional video here: http://tinyurl.com/hm7qbl3...

Principales reseñas

E
11 de sep. de 2019

I'm really enthused with the lesson cause I feel I had a general view before about this subject and now I m approaching the core. It;s been an issue that I was thinking a lot the last 2 years.

IC
29 de may. de 2020

Very interesting and complete -a great window into several art galleries (especially now, during the context of COVID-19!), styles, personalities and iconic works of art.

Filtrar por:

26 - 50 de 74 revisiones para Sexing the Canvas: Art and Gender

por Léa M S

12 de sep. de 2017

This course was really excellent! I enjoyed watching it and it allowed me to learn a lot about a topic that I had never studied before.

por Tracey L

7 de jul. de 2020

I really enjoyed this course. It was so interesting and I am now looking at paintings from new perspectives and with greater depth.

por robin s

26 de nov. de 2020

This was a wonderful course which gave me a new perspective when I view art and gave me new insights on artists and their works.

por Mohamed G

25 de ago. de 2016

So good course with an excellent Staff,so thanks for all and specially for University of Melbourne to give me that chance.

por Haleigh B

3 de may. de 2020

I very much enjoyed this course. It was full of interesting facts and stories and was easy to digest on a busy schedule.

por Natalie W

19 de jun. de 2017

Great course! It has changed the way I view art. The lecturers make complex material accessible and interesting.

por JOHN Q

20 de abr. de 2016

Great Course! I loved looking at the art presented with a different context and understanding. Thanks so much.

por Stella S

4 de ene. de 2018

Fantastic! A great range of images and artists have been selected for study, and the concepts are fascinating.

por Catherine H

22 de dic. de 2018

What a unique and interesting class!! I'm extremely happy that I took this class. Would highly recommend it!

por Carol G

3 de feb. de 2019

Absolutely loved this course. It fed my soul to be guided through so many wonderful works of art.

Thank you

por María C T

3 de oct. de 2017

Great teachers! Good select of artists for the course and definitely interesting gender emphasis!

por Rose S

26 de mar. de 2017

A brilliant course, full of surprises and challenging ideas. I can't recommend it highly enough.

por Tijana V

17 de may. de 2017

Excellent course for everyone who is interested in Art, Art History and Gender studies

por sara

16 de dic. de 2017

Great academic approach to the Gender discussion widening my horizon.

por Nataliya

22 de dic. de 2018

Very interesting course. I begin to understand art in another way.

por Anne D

24 de jun. de 2017

I thoroughly enjoyed this course and would recommend it.

por Elena K

10 de oct. de 2020

Very interesting and fulfilling course! I recommend it!

por abigail c

17 de mar. de 2018

Very interesting and high level of explanations

por Florie L

21 de feb. de 2019

Rich, rigorous and sensitive artistic insight.

por Laura F

23 de abr. de 2016

Mind-blowing !!! Thank you from the heart !!!!

por Bernardino A O

22 de ene. de 2017

A great course lead by very good teachers.

por Andrea C B

26 de jun. de 2020

genial, muy interesante y completo !

por AYUSHI 1

26 de may. de 2020

I absolutely loved the Course :")

por Rosangela B

24 de ago. de 2016

Thank you! Beautiful course.

por Armin D

29 de may. de 2018

Thank you from Armenia !!!!