Chevron Left
Volver a Sexing the Canvas: Art and Gender

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Sexing the Canvas: Art and Gender por parte de Universidad de Melbourne

4.6
estrellas
392 calificaciones
89 reseña

Acerca del Curso

What do paintings tell us about sex? How is art gendered? In this course we will study some of the world’s most beloved pictures guided by expert curators and art historians who step outside of the square, bringing a gendered reading to the masterpieces contained in the magnificent collections that we have been lucky enough to bring to the Coursera platform. In this course you will learn how: * Gender and sexuality is an integral part of the production and reception of works of art * To increase your understanding of paintings through theories of gender and sexuality * To understand key terms from gender-related theories of art history and museology * To recognise the operation of what is termed ‘the gaze’ and how it works in relation to paintings * Ideas about gender and sexuality can productively be employed in theorising art curatorial practices * To take the initiative in relating theoretical ideas about gender and sexuality to the reading and display of art and visual cultures. View the MOOC promotional video here: http://tinyurl.com/hm7qbl3...

Principales reseñas

EF
20 de may. de 2021

Thanks for the opportunity of this course which was interesting and very well presented .The single inconvenience was Quiz # 9 which was not only difficult but very chaotic to understand and follow.

IC
29 de may. de 2020

Very interesting and complete -a great window into several art galleries (especially now, during the context of COVID-19!), styles, personalities and iconic works of art.

Filtrar por:

51 - 75 de 90 revisiones para Sexing the Canvas: Art and Gender

por Nataliya

22 de dic. de 2018

Very interesting course. I begin to understand art in another way.

por Anne D

24 de jun. de 2017

I thoroughly enjoyed this course and would recommend it.

por Elena K

10 de oct. de 2020

Very interesting and fulfilling course! I recommend it!

por abigail c

17 de mar. de 2018

Very interesting and high level of explanations

por Florie L

21 de feb. de 2019

Rich, rigorous and sensitive artistic insight.

por Laura F

23 de abr. de 2016

Mind-blowing !!! Thank you from the heart !!!!

por Maghia R

20 de feb. de 2021

Merci à vous

Très instructif, très beautiful

por Bernardino A O

22 de ene. de 2017

A great course lead by very good teachers.

por Andrea C B

26 de jun. de 2020

genial, muy interesante y completo !

por AYUSHI 1

26 de may. de 2020

I absolutely loved the Course :")

por Rosangela B

24 de ago. de 2016

Thank you! Beautiful course.

por Armin D

29 de may. de 2018

Thank you from Armenia !!!!

por Bart S

27 de jun. de 2016

outstanding, do it again!

por Steve B

4 de mar. de 2018

Excellent in every way

por J.l. M S

14 de jul. de 2021

Excelente curso!!!

por Edith L

5 de mar. de 2021

Very interesting!

por Ana F

22 de oct. de 2018

Excellent course!

por Germán G A

4 de dic. de 2016

Great Course!

por aybige t

6 de jul. de 2016

E

por Olga L P R

11 de dic. de 2018

I have learned about the codes of sexuality and gender through this course. Tests are a bit difficult but it depends on which is your best mental trend. You need lots of memory and find the exact words to answer the questions. Some can be tricky, some you can't understand them much well. However, the main conclusion is the world of art has a lot of this sexuality element and you feel the course gets short about it, but you get the ability to find it. I believe you should use it to find the codes in your local art museum.

por silvia e

15 de jun. de 2020

Un curso interesante, que nos ofrece el conocimiento necesario para poder leer de una manera más profunda obras de arte que, de otra forma, admiraríamos sólo por su apariencia. Excelente excusa, además, para reflexionar sobre el papel que la mujer ha tenido en la historia del arte (reflejo de su papel en la vida) y el papel que queremos tener en la actualidad y en el futuro.

por Alina L

30 de dic. de 2016

I learned a lot from this course! I loved how analytical it was and it was great to learn about the historical contexts of gender on the canvas. It has already made some of my museum visits much more interesting and thought-provoking. I will say that at times it would be difficult to follow the lecturers is the only issue I had with this course. Otherwise it was awesome.

por Christie

21 de jul. de 2017

This is a stimulating and accessible course that challenges your thinking. I appreciated how it had such global and historical outlooks, casting a net wide across the globe and including pre-20th-century and contemporary works of art. The questions asked pricked one's curiosity.

por Kathryn

13 de jun. de 2016

I really enjoyed this course. An added bonus--I now understand what "sensibility" really means as related to the novel, Sense & Sensibility" by Jane Austen. I hope this team comes up with a part 2 or another class.

por Likhitha B

1 de jul. de 2017

The gradual depiction of gender since conventions were flouted and refinements textured was portrayed brilliantly from the pastoral paintings to Indigent 21st century works.