Chevron Left
Volver a General Chemistry: Concept Development and Application

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a General Chemistry: Concept Development and Application por parte de Universidad Rice

4.6
estrellas
704 calificaciones
173 reseña

Acerca del Curso

This course will cover the topics of a full year, two semester General Chemistry course. We will use a free on-line textbook, Concept Development Studies in Chemistry, available via Rice’s Connexions project. The fundamental concepts in the course will be introduced via the Concept Development Approach developed at Rice University. In this approach, we will develop the concepts you need to know from experimental observations and scientific reasoning rather than simply telling you the concepts and then asking you to simply memorize or apply them. So why use this approach? One reason is that most of us are inductive learners, meaning that we like to make specific observations and then generalize from there. Many of the most significant concepts in Chemistry are counter-intuitive. When we see where those concepts come from, we can more readily accept them, explain them, and apply them. A second reason is that scientific reasoning in general and Chemistry reasoning in particular are inductive processes. This Concept Development approach illustrates those reasoning processes. A third reason is that this is simply more interesting! The structure and reactions of matter are fascinating puzzles to be solved by observation and reasoning. It is more fun intellectually when we can solve those puzzles together, rather than simply have the answers to the riddles revealed at the outset. Recommended Background: The class can be taken by someone with no prior experience in chemistry. However, some prior familiarity with the basics of chemistry is desirable as we will cover some elements only briefly. For example, a prior high school chemistry class would be helpful. Suggested Readings: Readings will be assigned from the on-line textbook “Concept Development Studies in Chemistry”, available via Rice’s Connexions project. In addition, we will suggest readings from any of the standard textbooks in General Chemistry. A particularly good free on-line resource is Dickerson, Gray, and Haight, "Chemical Principles, 3rd Edition". Links to these two texts will be available in the Introduction module....

Principales reseñas

ZK
28 de ago. de 2015

If I'd had access to this material when I first failed freshman chemistry 40 years ago, I probably wouldn't have failed. Kudos to Dean Hutchinson for bringing us his innovative approach.

BM
1 de oct. de 2018

DEMAND\n\nI would inform you that i wish to receive my certificate according to general chemistry :concept development and application, then your feed back will rejoice more thank you.

Filtrar por:

126 - 150 de 179 revisiones para General Chemistry: Concept Development and Application

por Eniola M A

7 de jul. de 2020

Amazing course

por Rokib B

30 de ago. de 2021

Nice and Good

por 이동윤

19 de jul. de 2021

일반화학의 기초가 되었

por Nwagu-Ajana B C N

14 de jul. de 2021

​Nice course

por Goodness O O

22 de jun. de 2021

Good Course

por Shahid I

27 de jul. de 2020

Good course

por Param L

16 de jul. de 2020

Eexcellent.

por Opara F c

8 de jul. de 2020

its so good

por Tejaswini R

6 de jul. de 2020

good course

por 유현준

21 de sep. de 2021

good study

por A O

10 de jul. de 2021

Very nice

por Muhammad R

28 de jul. de 2020

Very good

por Elyon O

17 de jul. de 2020

very nice

por GANTALA K

6 de jul. de 2020

excellent

por OMOYIN I I

16 de jul. de 2020

perfeect

por segun a

11 de jul. de 2021

great

por Ladejola G E L

23 de jul. de 2021

n hk

por Lily o

21 de jul. de 2021

good

por AMRUTA K S

1 de sep. de 2020

Nice

por Egbuji N A

24 de jul. de 2020

Good

por Prebor D

23 de jul. de 2020

good

por Nwaturuocha C N

20 de jul. de 2020

Good

por Edward W S

29 de may. de 2021

k

por Juan M S

7 de ene. de 2021

My review can only be positive, very positive I would say. Being a Dr. in Mechanical Engineering, now retired, who learned some Chemistry (it was never be a major in my case) when I learned Engineering in a Basque Country University, it has been a pleasure to remember half-forgotten concepts, others even never learned before. The course lessons, the details, exactness of the presentations, the capacity of Dr. Hutchinson to transmit knowledge have been a delicious experience I would recommend to anyone who would like to enter into the marvellous world of Chemistry. I look forward to finding any other complementary course by Rice University on the same area of science. As a suggestion on aspects to improve on this course I would say, please make the hand calculations and presentations by Dr. Hutchinson bigger, otherwise in their present scale they are difficult to read on screen. To sum it up : An excellent course recommendable to anyone interested in Chemistry.

por Marco P

16 de oct. de 2021

Good things first: 1) Concept Development makes a highly advantageous approach, far better than just trying to memorize those concepts without having a true grasp of their meaning. 2) A great teacher, capable of maintaining interest throughout all his lectures. 3) The use of century-old concepts following a contemporary approach, showing their long-lasting validity and usefulness in solving real-world problems once one understands their true meaning.

What to improve: unfortunately, the online course is ridden with several inaccuracies or even mistakes. Although these are never conceptual mistakes and, while attentively following the lectures, one can quickly pinpoint them as mere speech or transcription mistakes as the lecturer delivers his ideas, this fact can get confusing for a less experienced or slightly distracted student. This is the only reason why I gave the course four instead of five stars.

Congratulations! I truly enjoyed the course.