Chevron Left
Volver a Introduction into General Theory of Relativity

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Introduction into General Theory of Relativity por parte de National Research University Higher School of Economics

4.5
estrellas
146 calificaciones
47 reseña

Acerca del Curso

General Theory of Relativity or the theory of relativistic gravitation is the one which describes black holes, gravitational waves and expanding Universe. The goal of the course is to introduce you into this theory. The introduction is based on the consideration of many practical generic examples in various scopes of the General Relativity. After the completion of the course you will be able to solve basic standard problems of this theory. We assume that you are familiar with the Special Theory of Relativity and Classical Electrodynamics. However, as an aid we have recorded several complementary materials which are supposed to help you understand some of the aspects of the Special Theory of Relativity and Classical Electrodynamics and some of the calculational tools that are used in our course. Also as a complementary material we provide the written form of the lectures at the website: https://math.hse.ru/generalrelativity2015 Do you have technical problems? Write to us: coursera@hse.ru...

Principales reseñas

PP
23 de sep. de 2017

Best Course for Physics Enthusiasts. It is a must for those who are interested in theoretical or mathematical physics. I really enjoyed the course though it was tough.

PS
11 de jun. de 2020

Very good introduction to General Relativity.\n\nI'm studying another book on GR and with the basis of the course, it is "relatively" easy to follow it !

Filtrar por:

26 - 45 de 45 revisiones para Introduction into General Theory of Relativity

por Deleted A

26 de ene. de 2017

Excellent course for beginners.

por subhash k

19 de jun. de 2017

Brilliant course...

por amir h r

24 de abr. de 2020

it is adorable

por Jose A C A

3 de feb. de 2020

Really hard

por Denisson P

19 de ene. de 2019

ótimo curso

por César L B d S

24 de oct. de 2016

Very good!

por rounds c

15 de may. de 2019

Goooood!

por Graciela H F

18 de jul. de 2017

awesome

por Wesley S

22 de sep. de 2016

awesome

por Joris

7 de jul. de 2020

I was very happy with the opportunity to study GR online using this course, and it seems to be the only available one. The lecturer is without doubt an expert in the field and I have the impression he tried to bring us as far as he could to the state of the art. Overall I was very impressed by the course and glad I took it.

I do have some comments: the homework is somewhat unevenly balanced. Sometimes I was done within half an hour, sometimes it took an entire working day to finish the homework.

Specifically in one of the final homework sessions the goal was to compute the Ricci tensor for four different metrics. Rather long computations which are very good to do once, but after that it becomes routine and just time consuming, I would say.

Finally the homework did only partially connect to the material discussed in the lectures. I noticed that I had difficulty paying close attention and understanding what was said in the lectures, and for time efficiency reasons just concentrated on the homework.

These are perhaps points of improvements, but I am very grateful for the very good course which finally allows me to say that I have some (very basic) understanding of GR.

por MD S A

1 de oct. de 2019

The course is mathematically very rigorous and compact. I liked it very much. But in some parts of the lectures I felt, it would have better if it had some physical motivation , that is how the derived results are connected to the physical world. Overall this a great course.

por Kaustav C

7 de ago. de 2020

I liked this course because of the rigour that it has. All concepts were thoroughly discussed even though I feel that a better basis on grounds of differential geometry if included would have made the course perfect.

por Russell T F

8 de abr. de 2018

Great rapid fire coverage of general relativity. I would need a lot more time and discussion and workable exercises to get a better intuitive grasp of the material.

por Souradeep R C

25 de ago. de 2019

Wonderful lectures where the concepts were examined and theorems were derived from first principle.

por Francisco J D C

4 de jul. de 2020

The review of assignments by peers is really frustrating. Quizes are much better. There are lots of teenagers without any idea about calculus and algebra. Some of them do not take care about the review for peers carefully because they haven't distinctions about valid little differences in the rubric published. Some of them upload any draft document or very incomplete homework to then gain access to the solution and then to resend their homework, this is cheating!. Despite my homeworks are well developed the grade assigned is frustrating when they review whithout any care, it is generating each day that I think not continuing in this course. I take several General Relativity courses and Cosmology in the University so I know that I spoke. The course it is ok, but the grading is really bad using such method.

por Jamal K

18 de ene. de 2019

The course is great if and only if you have the background that the professor is assuming. And am not talking about the mathematical and physics background, but am talking about the notation he did not explain and the way you learned special relativity which can differ. Also there is no written course content which makes it very hard to follow since explanation like this should be accompanied by some solid detailed text.

por David P

24 de abr. de 2019

This course is unfortunately all equations and derivations with little conceptual connections.

por Emanuel K

16 de jul. de 2017

Seeing the instructor behind the writing is too distracting to even get started!!!!!

por esbin c C

6 de ago. de 2020

Parece interesante pero no esta traducido a mi lenguaje

por Reza R

11 de sep. de 2020

alot of mistakes.