Chevron Left
Volver a Command Line Tools for Genomic Data Science

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Command Line Tools for Genomic Data Science por parte de Universidad Johns Hopkins

4.1
estrellas
432 calificaciones
118 reseña

Acerca del Curso

Introduces to the commands that you need to manage and analyze directories, files, and large sets of genomic data. This is the fourth course in the Genomic Big Data Science Specialization from Johns Hopkins University....

Principales reseñas

CW
5 de ago. de 2020

There were some typos and confusion about the need not to follow the example code for Exam 4.\n\nHowever, I thought that the course was good and useful overall.\n\nThank You!

JJ
22 de jun. de 2018

Thank you very much Dr./Professor, Liliana Florea. I've learned a lot. It's a very good opportunity to improve my knowledge. This means a lot to me.

Filtrar por:

51 - 75 de 116 revisiones para Command Line Tools for Genomic Data Science

por Tianming W

22 de nov. de 2019

Great course.

por Forsan A

3 de jun. de 2020

it's amazing

por Jacob A

27 de abr. de 2017

Great course

por Ming L

5 de dic. de 2017

nice design

por Alvaro E U G

29 de jun. de 2016

Excellent!

por Preeti_P

15 de jul. de 2020

Amazing

por Ronald F R M

24 de abr. de 2020

thanks

por Nate R

30 de oct. de 2016

Coming in as a veteran coder of 2 decades, I thought this would be "easy". And, had I completed it using my own C/Python code, it probably would have. However I made the decision to stick with ONLY the command line tools and actually ended up learning a lot more about basic unix tools that I rarely get to use.

Be prepared to knuckle down and REALLY learn a lot about the specific commands and what they provide as there are a ton of them. The instructor goes into a ton of detail on each one and the course is laid out in a nice flow starting with the basics and ending with a very challenging exam at the end that showcases an entire RNA-seq technique.

With a bit more polish, it would be 5 stars, but as it stands there is a bit rough around the edges.

I think this course should be #2 in the specialization as the underlying concepts of RNA-seq and how the tools fit together would have been invaluable while taking the current #2 course on Galaxy. I think that I can now go back and get 100% on the final project armed with the RNA-seq techniques that were not originally covered in my first run through the Galaxy content.

por Deepti R

6 de nov. de 2017

Excellent quizzes and exams. Smooth flow of lectures. However, as a beginner I faced a lot of difficulty in installing the required tools. I could complete the course only because the tools were provided as a package with the VM box. I will be handling NGS data for my PhD project, for which I will have to install the latest versions of these tools. Manuals are cryptic. A lot of errors keep cropping up whenever I try to install anything. This course should have taught us that part too. I shall be thankful if you could provide a short course or a step by step write up for the same, else we will not be able to apply what such a good course taught us.

por Maximilian K

5 de ene. de 2017

Thanks for the great course. IT was just right level of easiness/hardness. While the quizzes were basic, the homework quizzes were hard but not unsolvable. These actually motivated to further spend time on familiarizing with the tools, whch is essential for home usage.

Sometimes the videos had their length when we watched somebody else typing... that could have made better.

por Mary W

17 de mar. de 2016

This course covers used of command line tools such as the Tuxedo suite. Just what I was looking for. The subject was well paced and the material covered appropriate. I felt confident at the end of the course that I had almost mastered something valuable. The discussions were not very active and I felt rather isolated, so I'm taking one star off for engagement.

por Keri M

27 de feb. de 2019

I learned a ton and feel like I understand the formats of all of the different really well. I will say that week 4 is out of date in that Tophat has been replaced with HISAT and I wasn't able to download the tools needed. It wasn't a waste of time to learn tophat but would have been nice to learn the most recent tools.

por Jitesh D

30 de mar. de 2019

Course content is really good! Lot of informational resources. Course delivery was little monotonous though. Exam 4 really made it very difficult due to not so clear instructions, otherwise it was a good course. Learnt lot of command lines tools and mainly to effectively use Linux commands in analysis.

por oyebode j O

20 de dic. de 2018

Very fine course. drills students well. would prefer if files used in examples were provided for students before the class. it makes life easier. would also prefer students are advised how to install tools on their laptops. Good course overall and I learnt much

por Benson N M

21 de dic. de 2016

Awesome course. The skills taught will cut across not only in genomics but also, in other aspects. The discussion forum was amazing! The mentors and people who were doing the course at the period i did it were very helpful.

por Michael G

22 de jul. de 2018

There could be more resources provided and the lecture at the beginning of module 4 should be placed at the beginning of the course. Because the overview of molecular biology serves as background for the entire course.

por 李俊宏

3 de mar. de 2019

This course is reasonably difficult. The assignments are quite fulfilling and well organized by virtual machine. I hope the slides could be more detailed because it too simple.

por Sara C

18 de oct. de 2016

Th lecturer could be a little more engaging and the materials used during classes, if made available would help following it better, by replicating the examples being shown.

por Leonardo S

24 de abr. de 2020

Some explanations are4 not completely clear. A good summary of what every tools does and of which rools should be used to tackle which situation would really beneficial

por Andrew J D

27 de ago. de 2018

Very informative course. Only downside is that the example datasets/scripts are not provided (which I tend to find to be useful for learning informatics).

por Gonzalo C S

6 de feb. de 2017

It was a useful course. A pity that the instructor makes so many mistakes when speaking, which makes sometimes a bit confusing to follow.

por 邵文

15 de jun. de 2018

The speaker's accent and inaccurate subtitles sometimes make it difficult for me to understand.

por Erik K

3 de mar. de 2019

Excellent Introduction to Command Line Tools used in High Throughput Sequencing Analysis.

por Vassil D

8 de ene. de 2017

More in-depth explanation would be better. Reasonable projects, overall. Well structured.

por Avinash K

1 de may. de 2020

Good course to improve your command line skills in analyzing genomic data.