Chevron Left
Volver a Global Diplomacy: the United Nations in the World

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Global Diplomacy: the United Nations in the World por parte de Universidad de Londres

4.7
estrellas
1,218 calificaciones
421 reseña

Acerca del Curso

The course offers a well-researched and broad-ranging primer to the United Nations system. Consisting of an introduction to the complex UN family and its history, and a series of ‘snapshots’ of key UN functions, which are used to explore important UN themes and help learners develop important analysis, communication, and policy-based skills. The course is aimed broadly at people interested in learning more about the United Nations system, assuming a level of interest but no necessary previous knowledge, whilst also offering offering sufficient up to date research and new critical perspectives that it will also be of interest to people with more expertise or academic familiarity with the topic as well. The main aim of the course is to provide this wide-ranging introduction in a self-contained, but in-depth form, alongside the important practical skills necessary to understand and discuss UN affairs, and potentially lay the groundwork for greater engagement in future – either in civil society or in further study....

Principales reseñas

RR

29 de jul. de 2020

Really enjoyed the course. Some of the recommended reading was no longer accessible and the material was not up to date to 2020. However, it gave a good introduction to the UN and the issues involved.

SP

20 de ago. de 2020

Very useful course with valuable inputs. Thank you very much for your efforts and making it available for free. Highly recommend to those who study global diplomacy, UN system and human rights.

Filtrar por:

326 - 350 de 424 revisiones para Global Diplomacy: the United Nations in the World

por Elzbieta K

15 de ene. de 2021

The resources provided on the course are very helpful, albeit outdated by a few years. Would have been great to see more recent articles, although the course does create a really good foundation of what the UN is, especially if you have little prior knowledge of it. The peer-graded system could be improved - the level of engagement is really varied across the course candidates. Overall, how much you will get out of the course is highly dependent on the individual's commitment to the course. As long as you stay committed you will learn plenty, as did I. Thank you!

por Branislav T T

25 de dic. de 2019

This course provides all necessary material and methods for gaining moderate level knowledge on the UN. The thing i especially like is diverse references and literature offered and peer-review process of the tasks. The thing i recommend for improvement is more different methods of learning to be involved, like quizes with peers, some interactive games etc. Also, i recommend to develop advanced online course on UN and partnering agencies for us who successfully finished this basic one. Thank you so much for this opportunity!

por Claudio N

1 de sep. de 2021

T​he course was very well structerd and organized and it really delivered what it offered, I enjoyed the platform where it is heldm and the concept of peer gradeed assignement I have foubnd it very stimulating and motivating for an online course. My only criticism is that pretty much in every week it hapened to havce an expired link, a dated article or a video not existing anymore, some other timnes articles were behind a subsription or a paywall. I believe it could be improved to regularly check thise links.

T​hanks

por Jose B

21 de sep. de 2020

Very informative and good reflections. Two things to improve: Some of the videos and articles were no longer available on the link provided, perhapos needs to be updated. On the last Week there was a video of a pannel about the future of the UN whrre there were all 4 pannelists men, and all the people who put a question from the public were men as well. No a single women took the floor in 1 hour long video. These kind of old fasion presentations should be replaced by more diverse pannesls

por Alina K

21 de dic. de 2020

It's a great course with a lot of interactions between students (which is definitely an advantage). Another one is a possibility to hear many different opinions on stated topics. But I would notice also some flaws. Some of the given links need to be checked (they are inactive). Also it would be nice to add some more recent pieces of reading. Thank you very much for this opportunity to study with you!

por P S N S

30 de may. de 2020

The course was well designed and incorporates a well structured journey of the UN evolution to what it is in its present day scenario. Enables the users to think critically and draft their opinions objectively through assignments. Gives a wide knowledge about the UN's role in upholding human rights, managing crises, role of Security Council, relevance of the UN and a way forward. Highly recommended.

por Giorgia P

30 de mar. de 2021

The setting of the course is very good and the topics covered are very interesting. It is a pity that some of the videos are a bit old compared to the contemporary situation.Also, some classmates have not been corrected in the marking of essays, not specifying the reason why they gave a negative score and presenting poorly done assignments. Overall the course is very good.

por Joshua E

29 de jun. de 2019

Great course, my only qualms are that it is a few years outdated on some geopolitical issues, several readings are unavailable or behind a subscription, and the emergency section for week 6 I didn't feel had the right assigned readings. I nonetheless gained a lot from the course and learned about differing perspectives on how the UN works and should be fixed.

por Rishikesh P

27 de ene. de 2018

Good course for those who are interested about the working of the UN and its future. Its duties in the maintaining peace in the world along with help people against human rights violations, hunger, poverty, illiteracy and global warming.

A Course for those who want to gain some knowledge for future education in Diplomacy or International Relations.

por Ana M R C

6 de sep. de 2017

I can assure that after accomplishing this course I have more knowledge regarding the way United Nations work. The reason why it was created and I got to know the UN principles. In addition I got more knowledgeable about the current situation of the world in general and get to watch some videos of experts envolved with this matter subjects.

por Emily U

16 de feb. de 2020

The course was an awesome way to better understand the origins, components, achievements, and critiques of the U.N. This was especially helpful as a former and possibly again future employee of the U.N. My only issue was that a lot of the links for the readings were dead, I hope they update those links for future students!

por Fernando J B

4 de oct. de 2020

This is a great introduction to the UN. Some of the links for readings are outdated. The course is nice, you end it with a general overview of the UN and will have the opportunity to create your own opinion about the organization. This is a short course so do not expect to go beyond the very basics of the UN system.

por Brian M

27 de feb. de 2021

Es un gran curso, los expositores tienen un dominio claro de la materia y los materiales son de gran ayuda para profundizar en las materias, sin embargo considero que abonaría mucho a la retroalimentación del curso adicional a los ensayos integrar cuestionarios aleatorios para robustecer el conocimiento adquirido.

por Soraia M

7 de sep. de 2020

This course is perfect for those who want to know what is happening nowadays at the UN and also understand how it works. Moreover, it gives you a clear view of the constant role that is having in our lives. Besides that, the opinions given by representatives who worked there and professors were an excellent input.

por Juan E R

5 de ago. de 2021

Very very good course especially for those of us starting to learn about UN and the humanitarian world. I would suggest to check on the links to readings as many take you to expired pages, so some of the readings are old dated making me feel im not getting to learn the latest news on the topics addressed.

por belen l

4 de feb. de 2021

I really like the course. One of the things I like the most of the course was the different speakers, their opinions towards the different questions posted was really useful and interesting.

My overall feedback of the course is very positive; I found it very usefull, enriching and interesting.

Thank you!

por Matt K

28 de dic. de 2021

Strong material, really appreciated the ability to be graded and grade my peers.

The main negative is that a lot of the links for required reading are dead and need to be updated. But aside from that, it was really good and will help how I think about not just the UN but working with others in general.

por ben n

24 de may. de 2020

It is an excellent course if you want to become a policy analyst like myself for your career. This course helps to you to have a better understanding regarding the principle of the United Nations such as their policy in humanitarian, international laws, NGO, UN agencies, and UN security council.

por Joao V R

11 de abr. de 2022

O curso nos dá uma panorama geral sobre a ONU, seus principais órgãos e suas atribuições. Nele, estão disponíveis diversas leituras interessantes sobre o tema, desde artigos até notícias. O único ponto negativo é que muitas dessas leituras não estão mais no ar e não tem um acesso possível.

por Marwaadil

8 de jun. de 2020

SUCH AN AMAZING AND USEFUL COURSE. I HAVE LEARNED LOTS OF INFORMATION WHICH I DISCOVERED IT FOR THE FIRST TIME. THANK YOU SO MUCH ABOUT THIS CHANCE OF LEARNING DURING COURSERA PROGRAM WHICH OF COURSE WILL HELP ME TO GO AHEAD ON MY CAREER PATH.

BEST REGARDS

MARWAH ADIL

IRAQ COUNTRY

por Juliana

22 de mar. de 2019

Creo que el curso está muy bien pero le faltarían algunas precisiones importantes y mayores explicaciones sobre la estructura de las Naciones Unidas (tanto en su funcionamiento en NY como en Viena y en Ginebra) para ser más completo.

por Pierre-Olivier S

17 de sep. de 2017

Very interesting maerials and perspectiveto analyze history, present and future being of the UN. I would have let more time for subject matter experts to expose their viewson each topic, but overall, good and intesting content.

por Meghana

20 de may. de 2020

i loved the course. the suggested readings were very interesting and helpful. although i wish there were more of those 'talking sessions' as i really liked hearing the opinions of those very intelligent and scholarly people.

por María A D L G V

24 de jul. de 2020

I've learned a lot! But have some suggestions: FIrst, it would be great if the videos would last a little bit longer. Second, someone needs to fix all the broken links on each week's session. Thanks for the information!

por Enos W

21 de oct. de 2018

The course was helpful. It expanded my understanding of United Nations in the context of global diplomacy while also highlighting the challenges it faces and and in them, the opportunities for reforms.