Chevron Left
Volver a Functions, Methods, and Interfaces in Go

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Functions, Methods, and Interfaces in Go por parte de Universidad de California en Irvine

4.6
185 calificaciones
32 revisiones

Acerca del Curso

Continue your exploration of the Go programming language as you learn about functions, methods, and interfaces. Topics include the implementation of functions, function types, object-orientation in Go, methods, and class instantiation. As with the first course in this series, you’ll have an opportunity to create your own Go applications so you can practice what you’re learning....

Principales revisiones

IO

Oct 03, 2018

Superb course,\n\nI definitely understand Golang far better than I did when I originally started it!

YT

Nov 15, 2018

A nice course which introduces necessary concepts in programming within Go.

Filtrar por:

1 - 25 de 35 revisiones para Functions, Methods, and Interfaces in Go

por Adel F

Jun 24, 2019

Learned a bit on go syntax and how polymorphism works.

Thanks the instructor. Good learning experience overall.

por Akash & T

Jun 23, 2019

basic but a good intro!

por David L

Jun 16, 2019

Negatives:

Not an intermediate course, more like a beginner course for me. Too much background info which is not go related eg why functions, what are good properties of functions, this is too generic and beginner material

Examples are not good: bad variable and function names, non-practical or even confusing/misleading

Positives:

Important topics are covered, explainations are ok (but could be better)

por Joseph F

May 29, 2019

Peer-reviewed assignments are problematic and frustrating. I would never pay for a course that didn't have a TF/TA or Professor grading the assignments. Students can't possibly make judgement calls on code; else the code becomes very narrow and cookie-cutter.

por Justin L

May 23, 2019

some homework questions are wrong

por Alec J

May 21, 2019

I'll say again what I said regarding the first course in this series. The teacher is good, and the material is valuable, but the fact that students have to grade each others' work is ridiculous, and actually kind of angering, if I'm honest. Why would you trust me to grade someone else's work, while I'm learning it at the same time they are? Who knows? Maybe I'm an idiot. Even if I'm bright and hard-working, I won't have the same insight as an instructor would, looking at the same material. This is pedagogically difficult to justify, and I can only believe that it's meant to shield the instructor from the drudgery of the task.

por Terence S

May 19, 2019

There were a few inaccuracies which might be confusing for newcomers to the language. It would be good if the instructor or someone else with editing permissions could take a look at the feedback and act on it.

por Sylvain T

May 14, 2019

The topic is good, however the videos really have this old-school touch- you know, the very reason you choose to go to Coursera and not back to some class bench. Evaluations would also benefit from a good review, too much frustating inconsistencies for my (and many people on the forums) taste.

por 壹叶随心

May 13, 2019

It's very nice.

por yichen z

May 03, 2019

nice

por Flavio S T

Apr 22, 2019

The course is extremely basic, not very complete, and full of errors that are being dragged through multiple months, the errors have been flagged on the forums, and they are never fixed. The grading is made by peer review - which could be a good thing, but the rubric for grading are could be completely automated, and it isn't.

por Serge T

Mar 25, 2019

quite a lot of mistakes in study materials and tests

por Yuheng C

Mar 21, 2019

A little more typos on the slides ...

por Edward H

Mar 20, 2019

The programming assignment workload is reasonable, but there is little support and discussion to support a newbie programmer. Also I believe a graphic display of user input and the program outputs would be much easier to understand. Reading off the instructions are too open to interpretation.

There is also the grading scheme is not fine-grained enough. It could utilized better to provide a more structured approach to a solution.

For example,

loop (1 mark)

use of map ( 1 mark)

user of slice ( 1 mark)

So there will be 10 chcekpoints to verify and validate.

Using 2 points as aggregate scores, did not help to achieve that goal. It penalised students excessively in my opinins.

por Robin Z

Mar 20, 2019

Nice follow-up on the first course, wish more focus would have been put on using interfaces

por Armin K

Mar 13, 2019

Way too easy and way too little background information or depth, plus lack of real-world examples and a lot of inaccurate information.

por Vsevolod V

Mar 09, 2019

Quizzes and assignments contain mistakes, which make it hard (and in some cases impossible) to make it right.

por Dang V D

Feb 19, 2019

Great course, good structure

por Michael W

Feb 12, 2019

Great Class! Excellent coverage of basic tools provided by Go

por Gustavo H M d S

Jan 27, 2019

Great Course! The part about interfaces could have been a little clearer, but I was able to get through it!

por Leam H

Jan 22, 2019

I enjoyed the class. The instructor presents well and is easy to listen to. The course is not for a beginner programmer! The first course in the series would be very helpful if you have no experience with Go. Most of the measurable objectives (quizzes and coding assignments) require more than just watching the videos. Still, if you already code in a C based language (C, Perl, Python, Ruby, etc) and can look things up you should do well.

por sebastien6

Jan 07, 2019

Couple of interesting chapters and assignment. I though an additional chapter related to benchmark and testing is missing however in this module. Could make a great add on with assignment to test and benchmark latest assignment of the module.

por Pavel P

Dec 25, 2018

For some reason, I'm not able to put rating to my current course, so I'll put it here:

this course is not worth of 50 bucks a month - tl;dr - you are getting misleading information, you won't get any support, you may dream about course affiliates to be around to help you or others. You can do better googling "what is golang about" and you'll get it faster and less expensive.

The most insignificant thing at first - prof Harris talks about the GO lang which is fine, then he browses to some side facts which are not always true - well, it may lead to lower trust in this teacher. But - as I said - it's a small thing - you can still fact check every his statement.

Bigger problem are the materials - slides are often showing code that is wrong (cannot be compiled even), assignments are full of misleading information or even it happens that the scoring cheatsheet is misleading - e.g. - give 5 pts if everything is OK, give 3 pts if "more than one" requirements were not met - so what should I do when I have exactly one problem facing?

And the last - I would say the biggest problem - is this one. You are paying for this course, right? You are paying more than you are giving for some "all access" to all courses somewhere else. So you would expect some value for this. Well.... Wrong. This course (and its discussion threads, assignments, whatever) are not being reviewed by authors of this course, they are just not responding to you questions, notes, comments. It's the SAP (shut-up and pay) way. Instead of presence of some some responsible people - you are just left to your peers in the class (they may be none - regardless those fancy statements that you have to finish your assignment by "12/34 to be reviewed" - you'll be waiting weeks and weeks and paying and paying). Do you feel the difference? Instead having someone good that you could discuss your solution with, you may end up with someone that doesn't have a clue what he/her is doing and you depend on his/her decisions - if you are lucky enough and there's at least someone doing the same course as you.

So - you are paying not a little amount for slides, that can be found anywhere on the internet, for videos with a person, his statements could be anytime easily disputed and for putting 0+ people together, you are a fool.

por Rob S

Dec 17, 2018

Good flow to this course, but again - I suggest replacing the peer review process with automated test-based grading and fleshing out the assignments a bit more.

por Paul A

Nov 30, 2018

En este segundo curso de la especializacion de Go, aprendes a usar bien las funciones, structs e interfaces, esta muy bien explicado y detallado, incluso los ejercicios estan perfectos para poner a prueba lo aprendido