Chevron Left
Volver a Grammar and Punctuation

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Grammar and Punctuation por parte de Universidad de California en Irvine

4.7
estrellas
14,646 calificaciones
4,487 reseña

Acerca del Curso

Course 1: Grammar and Punctuation Do you need to review English grammar? Have you forgotten the grammar you once studied? If so, this course is perfect for you. The first course in this specialization is a refresher on some tools needed for good writing. It will help prepare you for the other courses. You will need about 10 hours to complete this first course. Writing is a skill and to learn a skill well, you need to practice. In this course, you will watch short video lectures and then practice and discuss what you have learned. Make sure you take good notes and use the peer discussions to ask questions. Then you'll be able to remember the rules you learn in this course when you start writing essays in the next course. After completing this course, you will be able to: - identify the correct verb tenses to use - use commas effectively - utilize several different sentence types - write more effectively in English Please note that the free version of this class gives you access to all of the instructional videos and handouts. The peer feedback and quizzes are only available in the paid version....

Principales reseñas

OI

Jul 03, 2020

This course was very helpful. It refreshed my memories and made me go back to so many things I thought I would never remember. It helped my writing skills a lot to. A big thank you to the instructors.

R

Oct 09, 2017

Hi, Learn the basic of the English grammar and the rules on writing, which so important to writing. Enjoyed and learn so much that will help overcome fear writing.\n\nThank You, Again\n\nRobert Perea

Filtrar por:

26 - 50 de 4,442 revisiones para Grammar and Punctuation

por Ojeranti O I

Jul 03, 2020

This course was very helpful. It refreshed my memories and made me go back to so many things I thought I would never remember. It helped my writing skills a lot to. A big thank you to the instructors.

por Mary H C B

Jun 26, 2020

I highly recommend this course. This paves the way to keep a note higher in my English skills particularly in grammar and punctuation. What a remarkable experience ! You will definitely learn a lot .

por Atoshi B

Jul 02, 2020

I am very satisfied with this course. It really helped me to improve my writing skills, and I am feeling more confident than I used to be.

After this course, I am planning to take up the next one.

por Felipe N

Jan 12, 2020

This course is AMAZING! I learned subjects I had never heard of in other courses and today I can write essays with the correct grammar. I want to finish all the blocks of the course to become a writing expert. It was worth every minute dedicated to this course. There are excellent teachers and there are several examples and exercises to do you understand the subject discussed.

por Victoria C

Jul 08, 2020

This was a great introductory or refresher course for English grammar and punctuation. As a native English-speaker, there are things I knew intuitively, but I did not understand the rules. This course increased my confidence as I am not able to identify verb tenses, use current punctuation in my sentences, and construct parallel sentences. It has improved my writing skills.

por Kim B

Feb 12, 2016

Absolutely brilliant. I really recommend this course if you need to brush up on your grammar and punctuation. I didn't study grammar at school, (many years ago) as it wasn't in the curriculum, however, this is an informative and yet interesting way to learn. The course provides you with videos, quizzes, and tests which help to embed the learning at your own pace.

por Sherif B

Nov 07, 2019

Excellent course. However, I suggest having mentors to answer questions through the course in a forum because students are not able to answer all confusing points themselves. In addition, in the practice exercises, it is better to add an explanation to clarify why one result is right and why another one is wrong. Thank you.

.

por Muhammad F A

Mar 21, 2020

amazingly good

por Bo Z

Jul 17, 2019

fine

por Wayne L

Oct 15, 2015

Please add a forum so that people can share their thoughts; this kind of course requires lots of general discussion!

por Carlos A S J G

Mar 14, 2016

In fact the course is fantastic. I'd say that is perfect, but it is not because requires payment to be assessment in the activities.

por maria r

Oct 07, 2019

Its a very basic course and I regret having paid 44 USD for it. I was expecting something more advanced. It goes at such a low pace, I would recommend it for someone who has no clue about english grammar or who is just learning the language. Not for someone who is looking for a more complex grammar used in academic writing.

por Timofey

Mar 09, 2016

A very weak course, gives very little knowledge of grammar, doesn't really explain quite a lot of things. If you are a first year primary school student, this course might be helpful, otherwise a complete waste of time.

por Yuzhuo

Sep 22, 2020

This course is meaningful for those people who are not native speakers, which can help them to review the details like the correct usage of commas. Thanks a lot for this course.

At the same time, I think that it can be better if those Peer-graded Assignment and exams can be designed to be more ingenious. For example, correcting wrong sentences may be more effective than just writing some ones. In this way, teachers can use some typical examples and let students look for mistakes and correct them in a variety of ways. After that, peers can communicate in different ways and they may learn more about "Grammar and Punctuation".

From my perspective, simply asking students to make a few different types of sentences does not help them understand the grammar better.

por Sukanya R

Mar 29, 2020

This course enables you to overcome a lot of minor and major grammatical errors which we usually do in our life. I am happy that I decided to take this course for revising my present knowledge of the English language and for learning something new such as Parallel Structure and Sentence Variety, as well. The contents and the study materials that have been provided in this course is very informative, brief, and simple so that anyone, who knows little bits of English, can easily understand it.

Thank you for creating such an informational and worthy contents here!

por Farcaster C

Nov 06, 2018

The course help me under standing review helps with writing skill. I am a noob in this web site and this course too. I hope in the future that I master writing as well with the English grammar. My communication required grammar so the listener would understand me saying. Writing is more different than talking because you can see what you wrote. Right now my first lesson is introducing and review other which I don't know the finishing line. Probably two hour long. This course would teach you punctuation and maybe all writing skill to be a writer.

por Dmitry B

Dec 06, 2015

I enjoyed this course very much. Going into this course, my goal was to review English grammar and improve my writing. After finishing it, I feel like I accomplished that goal. I enjoyed concise and clear style of the videos and clarity of examples given in them. Assignments and exercises, although challenging at times, were of comfortable length and fun to do. Personally, this course helped me to become aware of the sentences I write, and gave me the tools to revise and edit my writings more efficiently on my own.

por Mohammed S

Apr 18, 2019

For me, this training course has clarified that how to use correct verb tenses, correct punctuation, good parallel structure, and good sentence variety ,better than before. Really participated in this session makes significant impact in my writing skills. In addition, driven by an awesome constriction of the lesson modules and excellent explanation of the instructor, I have became very passionate to enrolling in any advance classes. thank you very much for making education available for people across the world.

por Sheryl H

Jan 30, 2017

This course was wonderful. I learned new things about grammar and punctuation I don't recall learning in grade school while blending and improving my known knowledge. A tip for those thinking of just enrolling in one or two random courses of the five specialized courses, enroll in all. It is worth it even if you think you know. For instance, some of the papers in Advance Writing expect you to know some of the previous courses info and that could lead to some misunderstandings or struggles on quiz/peer reviews.

por Shauna B

Jul 18, 2020

I really enjoyed this course! It was a lovely, concise, quick summary of the skills I wanted to get up to speed on. I already knew grammar rules intuitively but needed to revisit how to formulate and provide rationales for my choices, particularly when I work with students. This course fit the bill entirely. It also helped me to tweak some things that had fallen into disrepair. I'm looking forward to the next course in your series on academic writing. Thank you for the excellent instruction and format.

por Abhay P S R

May 14, 2020

First of all, I am very thankful to the Coursera team and the University of Colombia that they give me financial aid. Due to the financial aid that I received from the Coursera, I was able to learn a new skill that I wanted to learn for so long. This course is quite good and I learned many new things in this course. I requested to the Team Coursera and the University of Colombia that they give me aid for their next course so that I can learn the new skill fully.

por krishnendu b

May 14, 2020

With instructors delineated; easy to understand and well-designed lectures and numerous learning resources, from the very beginning till the end of the course I was able to learn a lot of things; moreover, I interacted with a very active and curious peer group, sometimes they corrected my errors and sometimes I did the same for them. looking forward to learning new things from this engaging website and to implement them in my life. Lastly thank you, Coursera.

por Anuj S

Jul 31, 2016

This course is beneficial for a person who wants to write well or to pursue career in writing. The teacher is very good. The course is very informative and productive. She prepared the course very well. Assignments and exercises will help you to learn things easily. Each and every second of lecture is worth to listen and they are very precise also. The professor has provided useful material which you can read later. I'm so glad that I took this course.

por Morelli G

May 08, 2020

In this course, I've learnt many things, which will be very useful, if not essential, when I'll have to do the writing part in my exams. Learning how to punctuate correctly is the key to succeed in the accademic world, so it worth the effort doing this course; besides, it isn't so long, so you can easily go through it and, therefore, learn at you leisure. In conclusion, I would recommend it, and you can take this review as an example of its usefulness.

por Muhammad S

Apr 29, 2019

It was a wonderful course. I not only enjoyed the course but also learned a lot. There are a few suggestions I would like to make:

1. Instead of using green or red color for correct or incorrect, please design tick for correct and cross for incorrect.

2. Quizzes don't have any explanation for their answers. I would be very beneficial for students if the correct version of the answers is also provided, which will help to clarify any misconception.