Chevron Left
Volver a Grammar and Punctuation

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Grammar and Punctuation por parte de Universidad de California en Irvine

4.7
estrellas
15,900 calificaciones
4,871 reseña

Acerca del Curso

Course 1: Grammar and Punctuation Do you need to review English grammar? Have you forgotten the grammar you once studied? If so, this course is perfect for you. The first course in this specialization is a refresher on some tools needed for good writing. It will help prepare you for the other courses. You will need about 10 hours to complete this first course. Writing is a skill and to learn a skill well, you need to practice. In this course, you will watch short video lectures and then practice and discuss what you have learned. Make sure you take good notes and use the peer discussions to ask questions. Then you'll be able to remember the rules you learn in this course when you start writing essays in the next course. After completing this course, you will be able to: - identify the correct verb tenses to use - use commas effectively - utilize several different sentence types - write more effectively in English Please note that the free version of this class gives you access to all of the instructional videos and handouts. The peer feedback and quizzes are only available in the paid version....

Principales reseñas

MH
5 de nov. de 2020

The course was so fascinating and it deserves everybody's time and effort. I have really enjoyed it and will confidently recommend it to anyone who is looking for a course on grammar and punctuations.

OI
2 de jul. de 2020

This course was very helpful. It refreshed my memories and made me go back to so many things I thought I would never remember. It helped my writing skills a lot to. A big thank you to the instructors.

Filtrar por:

4651 - 4675 de 4,826 revisiones para Grammar and Punctuation

por Y V S D R

18 de may. de 2020

GOOD

por Md R R

15 de may. de 2020

good

por CHITTURI S B

15 de may. de 2020

Good

por SACHIN C

23 de abr. de 2020

Good

por Shankari R

17 de abr. de 2020

Nice

por Li J

26 de oct. de 2019

good

por Mohamed A A H M A K

28 de ago. de 2019

good

por Shamil I

21 de sep. de 2016

good

por whitehairpin

15 de feb. de 2016

good

por mustafa a

19 de ene. de 2016

good

por Santos

9 de ene. de 2016

Nice

por 罗詹妮

2 de ene. de 2016

还可以吧

por valdecir a a d o

2 de oct. de 2015

Nice

por Sai k

4 de jul. de 2020

..

por N H

8 de jun. de 2020

ok

por sohan r

9 de jul. de 2020

.

por ali y

8 de abr. de 2016

-

por Anastasiia B

8 de feb. de 2016

E

por Bin S

19 de mar. de 2016

Review comments:

What I learn most form this course is parallel structure and sentence variety lessons in Week 4.

[Parallel Structure]

It uses some conjunctions like and, but, both....and..., not only...but also...

[Sentence Variety]

Use the different 4 types English sentence style, simple, compound, complex and compound-complex to enrich your writing. In addition, adverbs, prepositional phrases (like in the morning), other transitions (furthermore) could be used to create variety. At last, combining the short sentences, medium sentences (10-15 words) and long ones (20-40 words) will also make your writing alive. Some other tips will also help like repeating key nouns, using synonyms, saying things in different ways.

- Use different sentence types

- Start sentence differently

- Use different sentence lengths

- Use synonyms effectively

Considering sentence variety will be the last step when you revise your essay, so do not do it in the begining.

por Sharon S

17 de feb. de 2016

Good course, although no proctor or supervision at all. No place to go for questions or help.

Please be aware this is primarily designed for non-native english speakers. This was not clear to me when I joined. And although the content is thorough, it is dull and the assignments uninspiring.

If you want to know more about grammar, good (be sure to bone up through, because she assumes a lot about what you might remember from high school and for those of us over 40 ... hmmm).

If you want to feel inspired to write something of value and interest to yourself or others, not so good.

Over all I would not recommend this course or series of courses. And would suggest seeking out a course that has some kind of proctor or supervisory help available.

por Lingfei T

9 de nov. de 2015

This course is helpful and I have learned quite a bit about punctuation and sentence structures.

However, while things like tense are important, to be able to differentiate 12 tenses contributes relatively little to typical academic writing. Rather, I have had trouble with seemingly simple questions such as when to use past tense and when to use present tense in a literature review. But these aspects are probably the most useful when it comes to pracital writing. It would be helpful if these issues are addressed.

Also, the use of articles is a common weakness for a lot of students (to "the" or not to "the"). It is helpful to include this component too.

por Kay

20 de ene. de 2016

Good Course for examining some English Grammar closely

The course breaks down some aspects of English grammar and punctuation very nicely and has relevant practice exercises.

I wish the course covered a slightly wider variety of topics or went into slightly more depth of explanation. The title "grammar and punctuation" is misleading in that only a few topics are covered. However, I believe someone learning English or reviewing academic writing would definitely benefit from going through this course. I am a native speaker, and I certainly learned a few things. :)

Thank you Professor, TA's and Coursera!

por Claire

5 de abr. de 2016

It's a good course with some interesting resources. Most of the practice resources use Flash and one of the assignment submissions is inconsistent with the other submission formats. The content of the course itself is 4.5 stars. For me there is one element that I wish had an explanation or somewhere to ask about it. Instead I'll need to search the internet for an answer and hope what I find is correct!

por Rachael H

11 de feb. de 2016

I think this is a good review for someone who has the basic in English grammar; however, if you're an ESL student or English-speaking person (who need to start over in grammar).

Study first before starting this course.

A lot of the feedback in the forum, I found to be poor except when it came from an English-speaking person.

You get a lot of: " OK, Great, etc..", no real feedback.

por Madhubanti G

19 de oct. de 2015

I would have liked some more depth in the course. While the course name says "punctuation", it deals only with commas and to a small extent, with semicolons. The assignments and practice exercises need to be tougher. Also, given that this course is taken by students from all over the globe, it should mention that the "serial comma" is not mandatory in all writing styles.