Chevron Left
Volver a The History of Modern Israel - Part II: Challenges of Israel as a sovereign state

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a The History of Modern Israel - Part II: Challenges of Israel as a sovereign state por parte de Universidad de Tel Aviv

4.8
estrellas
308 calificaciones
82 reseña

Acerca del Curso

This course deals with the Israeli politics, economy, society and culture, since its creation in 1948 till today. It analyzes the construction of the Israeli historical narrative as an identity-building narrative, intending to inculcate a collective memory to a diverse society. We will focus on key events and essential components that shaped the Israeli society from the fifties till the present. We will also discuss the changes that the Israeli society experiences in its almost seventy years of existence and how it affects its politics and culture. Among the topics we will discuss issues such as immigration, economic transformation, political upheaval, religious Zionism and post-Zionism, privatization and Americanization, Holocaust increasing role in shaping Israel's identity, diversity and multiculturalism, as well as the enduring conflict with the Palestinians and the Arab world. This course is a direct extension of the first part "The History of Modern Israel: From an Idea to a State", so if you have not yet taken it, we highly recommend you start your learning from there (https://www.coursera.org/learn/history-israel/). In order to receive academic credit for this course you must successfully pass the academic exam on campus. For information on how to register for the academic exam – https://tauonline.tau.ac.il/registration Additionally, you can apply to certain degrees using the grades you received on the courses. Read more on this here – https://go.tau.ac.il/b.a/mooc-acceptance Teachers interested in teaching this course in their class rooms are invited to explore our Academic High school program here – https://tauonline.tau.ac.il/online-highschool * This course is a joint effort of Tel Aviv University & Israel Institute (www.israelinstitute.org) * This course uses media material from various archives, courtesy to Yad Vashem Archive for their help. * This course is self-paced. Once you register, you can participate in the course anytime, as often as you wish and over any stretch of time...

Principales reseñas

AJ

29 de oct. de 2020

Even though I lived through much of the major events of this course it was well thought out and presented. I learned so much more than I expected. I'm satisfied with this course and it's instructors.

RM

22 de jul. de 2020

I thanks my teacher professor Eyal Naveh for teaching me the history in such a easy way , it was fun and benifitting learning about the state of ISRAEL, lots of love from INDIA !!

Filtrar por:

26 - 50 de 81 revisiones para The History of Modern Israel - Part II: Challenges of Israel as a sovereign state

por hunglun o

16 de mar. de 2021

In the second part of the History of Modern Israel, I see that Israel becomes a developed country economically and improved its border security with its neighbors. However, internal fragmentation and weak leadership limits Israel's potential to improving the quality of lives of its citizens.

There is vigorous debate about the inherent contradiction between a Jewish State and Democracy. I am sympathetic towards the position of the Left, that Israel moves towards a fully democratic state, granting equal right to its citizen regardless of ethnicity. It would be a bold move, a departure from what has been attempted in the past 2000 years of Jewish history.

When the occupied Palestinians, Arab minority, Orthodox Jews and other underprivileged segments of Israeli society can also share the prosperity ushered in by economic and military achievement of modern Israel, the future of Israel will be secure and also an inspiration for other countries near and far.

por Rodrigo S M M

10 de dic. de 2020

I want to kindly THANK the tutors for this MASTERFUL course. Admittedly I had some reservations at first about some notion of bias that I feared could permeate the course, yet after having done it I cannot express just how unbiased and critical its content was. As someone who has visited Israel and the Middle East (having loved both the country and the region) I earnestly recommend this as a magnificent course to introduce you to the various issues that shape modern-day politics, culture and society in Israel.

por Maria I F

15 de oct. de 2020

I was very happy taking the courses about The Fall and Rise of Jerusalem and The History of Modern Israel part I and part II. The professors and their guests were all of them just great.Now I have a better and wieder view of Israel and its sourrandings and problems.

I just hope I can visit your beautiful and interested country, as I have planned, next year.

Best regards and once again thamk you very much

Maria Isabel Fajardo

por Rebecca C

19 de abr. de 2022

I've read Noa Tishby's book Israel but continue to seek out persepectives, history and facts. This was a great course in further understanding the complexities of Israel and the region. I am however still on the fence or not fully understanding certain aspects (i.e. settlements).

por Adan D M T

3 de feb. de 2021

it is a really good course with excellent teachers who have a neutral point of view and it is good that they work with facts. It is very interesting all the topics of Israel history, I really recomend you this course.

por Annie J

30 de oct. de 2020

Even though I lived through much of the major events of this course it was well thought out and presented. I learned so much more than I expected. I'm satisfied with this course and it's instructors.

por Raffaele P

27 de nov. de 2020

Thanks to this course I know much better what Israel is, their history, their politics, their social and economic problems. An interesting course, with well-developed and complete topics.

por RUTVIK M

23 de jul. de 2020

I thanks my teacher professor Eyal Naveh for teaching me the history in such a easy way , it was fun and benifitting learning about the state of ISRAEL, lots of love from INDIA !!

por Sonia C

13 de dic. de 2021

I​t improved my analytical competences, clarifying a lot of Israel history, politics and social-cultural debates. I really enjoyed it.

por Beatriz m d

13 de ene. de 2021

It has been great to study the 2 parts of the course.Israel is more complex than is discussed here.Adiós profesores.Saludos,Bea.

por Chris N

22 de oct. de 2020

Very informative and the discussions give great insights to different aspects of the challenges of a modern jewish state.

por Rico B

7 de sep. de 2020

Super interesting course! Loved taking it and I gained lots of new knowledge and perspectives! Thank you so much!!

por Norm L

1 de sep. de 2021

Excellent course. Critical perspective. The last session was particularly helpful in understanding Israel.

por Glenn R

11 de mar. de 2021

This is an excellent course. The presenters were very knowledgeable and the material well presented

por 曾蘭淑

1 de sep. de 2020

It provides detailed and valuable insights to know Israel and the conflicts in the Middle East.

por Tom B

11 de nov. de 2018

Outstanding presentation of the State of Israel's struggle for independence!

por Keren T K

5 de dic. de 2017

Interesting and summerise differet points of view and not taking any side.

por Romeo T

10 de jul. de 2017

Factual Based. Without the bias usually found in course of this subject

por Sven S

15 de nov. de 2017

Very interesting course, I learned a lot and the teachers are great

por Bartlomiej R

14 de oct. de 2016

I wholeheartedly recommend this course. It was very interesting!

por Bryant C E A

9 de may. de 2017

Very important course for those who want to learn about Israel

por Denise I

13 de mar. de 2019

Excelente curso a respeito da cultura e conflitos israelenses

por Paul M

2 de jul. de 2017

I really enjoyed this course do keep up the good work.

תודה!

por Ekaterina B

25 de oct. de 2020

Good course, learned a lot about nowadays Israel

por Miguel A J M

23 de nov. de 2019

Una visión muy objetiva del Israel moderno.