Chevron Left
Volver a The History of Modern Israel - Part II: Challenges of Israel as a sovereign state

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a The History of Modern Israel - Part II: Challenges of Israel as a sovereign state por parte de Universidad de Tel Aviv

4.8
estrellas
309 calificaciones
82 reseña

Acerca del Curso

This course deals with the Israeli politics, economy, society and culture, since its creation in 1948 till today. It analyzes the construction of the Israeli historical narrative as an identity-building narrative, intending to inculcate a collective memory to a diverse society. We will focus on key events and essential components that shaped the Israeli society from the fifties till the present. We will also discuss the changes that the Israeli society experiences in its almost seventy years of existence and how it affects its politics and culture. Among the topics we will discuss issues such as immigration, economic transformation, political upheaval, religious Zionism and post-Zionism, privatization and Americanization, Holocaust increasing role in shaping Israel's identity, diversity and multiculturalism, as well as the enduring conflict with the Palestinians and the Arab world. This course is a direct extension of the first part "The History of Modern Israel: From an Idea to a State", so if you have not yet taken it, we highly recommend you start your learning from there (https://www.coursera.org/learn/history-israel/). In order to receive academic credit for this course you must successfully pass the academic exam on campus. For information on how to register for the academic exam – https://tauonline.tau.ac.il/registration Additionally, you can apply to certain degrees using the grades you received on the courses. Read more on this here – https://go.tau.ac.il/b.a/mooc-acceptance Teachers interested in teaching this course in their class rooms are invited to explore our Academic High school program here – https://tauonline.tau.ac.il/online-highschool * This course is a joint effort of Tel Aviv University & Israel Institute (www.israelinstitute.org) * This course uses media material from various archives, courtesy to Yad Vashem Archive for their help. * This course is self-paced. Once you register, you can participate in the course anytime, as often as you wish and over any stretch of time...

Principales reseñas

AJ

29 de oct. de 2020

Even though I lived through much of the major events of this course it was well thought out and presented. I learned so much more than I expected. I'm satisfied with this course and it's instructors.

RM

22 de jul. de 2020

I thanks my teacher professor Eyal Naveh for teaching me the history in such a easy way , it was fun and benifitting learning about the state of ISRAEL, lots of love from INDIA !!

Filtrar por:

51 - 75 de 81 revisiones para The History of Modern Israel - Part II: Challenges of Israel as a sovereign state

por Maria J O

13 de mar. de 2021

Curso maravilhoso, recomendo para todos!

por Marcus B

10 de jul. de 2020

I love this course and the instructors!

por John K

28 de dic. de 2020

Very informative and highly relevant.

por esmeralda a

9 de abr. de 2020

really enjoyed course, thank you!

por henry h

16 de ago. de 2020

very informative well presented

por MUNAWAR L

29 de abr. de 2021

Easy and fruitful knowledge

por Elena K

3 de abr. de 2017

Thank you for the course!

por Mahmoud E

3 de oct. de 2018

very good .thank you

por Simon E C

20 de may. de 2020

Superb course

por Koh, Y H

7 de may. de 2018

Great course.

por Richard H

8 de feb. de 2017

Thank you.

por David B

3 de jul. de 2021

Excellent

por Jessica B

6 de ene. de 2018

W

o

n

d

e

r

f

u

l

por Huang ( H

6 de oct. de 2016

all good

por Jisha

9 de abr. de 2021

Good

por Iurii

8 de mar. de 2017

nice

por YU L

24 de oct. de 2016

多元翔实

por John L

25 de may. de 2019

An interesting that seemed to me (a non-Jewish Briton with some experience in the Middle East outside Israel) to have been a balanced and informative introduction to Israel since independence. I was pleasantly surprised, not knowing what to suspect. Naturally it did not go very deeply into any one topic, but I learned much that interested my and some things that surprised me too. The usual problems with subtitles persist, but the lecturers, though clearly not all native users of English, generally make their meaning clear throughout.

por Sami E

4 de dic. de 2016

קורס מעולה המכיל ידע חובה לכל סטודנט ולכל אזרח במדינת ישראל. לטעמי יש להפוך אותו לקורס חובה בכל תואר.

לצערי, ישנם תכנים בקורס המציגים את עצמם כנייטרלים אך למעשה מביעים דעה הנוטה לכיוון השמאל על המפה הפוליטית, גך למשל הגדרת המצב ביו"ש כ'כיבוש', רמיזות שהכיבוש נגרם בגללינו ושאנו מונעים מהם זכויות בסיס, הצגת הקונפליקט היהודי-דמוקרטיה כבלתי פתיר, או הצגת הציונות הדתית כמשיחיים שאין בינם ובין הקרקע שום כלום.

בכל מקרה, נהניתי מאוד מתכני הקורס, ולטעמי מדובר בקורס מוצלח ומעשיר!

תודה!

por kouassi n c

26 de jul. de 2017

avant je résumais l'histoire d’Israël à la religion mais aujourd'hui je connais l'origine de ce peuple pourquoi et par qui ils ont été chassés de leur territoire et l’origine de leurs différents conflits.j'ai appris la construction et le développement de leur nation le seul bémol il n'y avait pas de sous-titres en français donc la traduction que j'avais était un peu archaïque.

por Alexandra K

18 de oct. de 2020

The information presented is very interesting. I would have liked more reading assignments as well as some effort at historiography. It is important to teach students in introductory courses something about how historians go about formulating arguments.

por vassilopoula

13 de jul. de 2020

It was a very good course. I would appreciate a more nuanced presentation and a better depiction of the Palestinian Narrative for the Wars of 1948 & 1967. Nevertheless, you are free to complete your knowledge from other sources. Thank you to Tel Aviv Uni.

por Norma J

28 de dic. de 2019

Very interesting material, and some interesting guest speakers! I always appreciate the graphics, especially maps. Lots of the material was new to me. Thank you !

por Maribeth L

8 de ago. de 2020

the sound quality was a bit inconsistent, but overall this was a really good introductory course. I liked the Hebrew lectures with English subtitles!

por Cesar A G Z

10 de jul. de 2018

No le califiqué con 5 estrellas únicamente por la falta de una bibliografía que me permita mejorar los conocimientos adquiridos en el curso