Chevron Left
Volver a History of Rock, Part Two

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a History of Rock, Part Two por parte de Universidad de Rochester

4.8
262 calificaciones
57 revisiones

Acerca del Curso

This course, part 2 of a 2-course sequence, examines the history of rock, primarily as it unfolded in the United States, from the early 1970s to the early 1990s. This course covers the music of Led Zeppelin, the Allman Brothers, Carole King, Bob Marley, the Sex Pistols, Donna Summer, Michael Jackson, Madonna, Prince, Metallica, Run-DMC, and Nirvana, and many more artists, with an emphasis both on cultural context and on the music itself. We will also explore how developments in the music business and in technology helped shape the ways in which styles developed. Emerging out of the experimental and ambitious years of late-60s psychedelia, rock splintered into a variety of styles in the 1970s as the music business continued to expand. By the end of the decade, punk and disco had challenged the excesses of the hippie aesthetic, as rock became more commercially streamlined and radio friendly. The emergence and rise of MTV transformed pop music and propelled the careers of Michael jackson and Madonna, while heavy metal and hip hop dominated the late 1980s. Nirvana leads alt-rock's return to simplicity in the early 1990s....

Principales revisiones

MM

Sep 24, 2017

Excelent. Actually now is more fun to read about musicans (recently Iggy Pop & Black Sabbath) because context is better understood. (A bit weird that Tom Waits is not even mentioned)

NB

Nov 01, 2015

John Covach's lectures are clear and well-thought out, and he does a good job of fielding the "fan mentality" that so often plagues other rock history and music history courses.

Filtrar por:

1 - 25 de 56 revisiones para History of Rock, Part Two

por John C

Feb 01, 2019

Excellent course. I really enjoyed it.

por Emilio V

Feb 03, 2019

A must, If you want to understand and enjoy the history of rock.

por Kinga S

Nov 20, 2018

I took both parts of the course and I miss it already! Professor Covach has not only very entertaining way of talking about the music but the genuine love and engagement is so visible, that you can't not to smile when watching his lectures. Not to mention the knowledge, oh boy, that's a huge piece of history with the mind-blowing diversity we're talking about. Which also makes it impressive how much of the information is included in the course. And it made me hungry for more!

Anyway, I loved both parts of the course, it was pure joy and I managed to learn a lot about music history from the early XXth century, which I'm sure I wouldn't pursue on my own.

Thank you for tremendous time, Prof. Covach!

por Christos N

Oct 09, 2017

HELLO TO EVERYONE.

AS A ROCKER AND A RADIO PRODUCER, THIS COURSE WAS EXCATLY WHAT I NEEDED.

THANKS A LOT TO THE PROFESOR .

por JUAN E G A

Jun 22, 2017

Wonderful!!

por Gregg H

Jun 24, 2016

A great course especially if you follow along with the book and use the extra videos and music links from the book's website.

por Maris

Sep 24, 2017

Excelent. Actually now is more fun to read about musicans (recently Iggy Pop & Black Sabbath) because context is better understood. (A bit weird that Tom Waits is not even mentioned)

por 현석 김

Jan 11, 2018

good

por Travis W

Jul 24, 2017

As with all of Professor Covach's courses, this one is five stars plus.

por Nicole B

Nov 01, 2015

John Covach's lectures are clear and well-thought out, and he does a good job of fielding the "fan mentality" that so often plagues other rock history and music history courses.

por Ferdinand P

Mar 18, 2018

Amazing class, just as good as the part one. I learned a lot and made myself several awesome playlists, which I will keep enjoying after this course!

por Jesus A B S

May 30, 2017

Loved it!

por Ammar M H

Dec 20, 2015

Amazing course, very academic and objective and yet extremely enjoyable. I'm very grateful for coursera an Prof Covach who made it available and easily accessible.

por 경 김

Nov 22, 2016

really really nice

por Phyllis S

Aug 16, 2016

Instructor's presentation keeps the participant's attention. Connections are made to history, musicians and the trajectory of music. Just wishing all this could have been seamlessly integrated with soundbites and/or music videos. There's gotta be a way around rights, residuals and academics. Still, both courses taken together were engaging and information packed.

por Loren E K

Feb 14, 2018

John Covach is a fantastic teacher that has a obvious love of music in general. I would definitely take other courses from Mr. Covach if they were offered. Great class!!

por Carrie F

Jul 03, 2017

So much fun! I grew up in the 80s, so this second half of the class has been like memory lane for me. I'm a teacher on summer vacation, and I can't think of a better way to spend it than learning about rock and roll!

por Helena C

May 24, 2016

it's super helpful and interesting!

por Walter C

Apr 01, 2017

More than a course on history of rock, is a course on history of culture and american society in the 20th century. Recommended.

por Ekaterina A

Jan 15, 2017

This course gives a wide rational view on rock music development not trying to avoid any controversal topics like race or gender. It gives a great range of covered styles in rock and around it as well as many different groups discussed. I will return to the course content again and again as it really makes me want to listen to all this music discussed.

por Joy S

Mar 10, 2016

Love this instructor. Want more. Wish he could play music clips.

por Holly H

Mar 13, 2017

Great Professor, interesting enhancement to my knowledge!

por fei y

Nov 27, 2016

对于学习整个摇滚史真的很有帮助

por Juan C V L

Jun 09, 2016

Maravilloso

por Rachel C

Dec 30, 2016

Loved it!!