Chevron Left
Volver a History of Rock, Part Two

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a History of Rock, Part Two por parte de Universidad de Rochester

4.8
264 calificaciones
57 revisiones

Acerca del Curso

This course, part 2 of a 2-course sequence, examines the history of rock, primarily as it unfolded in the United States, from the early 1970s to the early 1990s. This course covers the music of Led Zeppelin, the Allman Brothers, Carole King, Bob Marley, the Sex Pistols, Donna Summer, Michael Jackson, Madonna, Prince, Metallica, Run-DMC, and Nirvana, and many more artists, with an emphasis both on cultural context and on the music itself. We will also explore how developments in the music business and in technology helped shape the ways in which styles developed. Emerging out of the experimental and ambitious years of late-60s psychedelia, rock splintered into a variety of styles in the 1970s as the music business continued to expand. By the end of the decade, punk and disco had challenged the excesses of the hippie aesthetic, as rock became more commercially streamlined and radio friendly. The emergence and rise of MTV transformed pop music and propelled the careers of Michael jackson and Madonna, while heavy metal and hip hop dominated the late 1980s. Nirvana leads alt-rock's return to simplicity in the early 1990s....

Principales revisiones

MM

Sep 24, 2017

Excelent. Actually now is more fun to read about musicans (recently Iggy Pop & Black Sabbath) because context is better understood. (A bit weird that Tom Waits is not even mentioned)

NB

Nov 01, 2015

John Covach's lectures are clear and well-thought out, and he does a good job of fielding the "fan mentality" that so often plagues other rock history and music history courses.

Filtrar por:

1 - 25 de 56 revisiones para History of Rock, Part Two

por John C

Feb 01, 2019

Excellent course. I really enjoyed it.

por Emilio V

Feb 03, 2019

A must, If you want to understand and enjoy the history of rock.

por Ray W

Aug 16, 2018

Love these two courses.I new alot of the topics but was suprised with a few of the topics.very well organized and understandible.Thanks for a fun course.

por Kinga S

Nov 20, 2018

I took both parts of the course and I miss it already! Professor Covach has not only very entertaining way of talking about the music but the genuine love and engagement is so visible, that you can't not to smile when watching his lectures. Not to mention the knowledge, oh boy, that's a huge piece of history with the mind-blowing diversity we're talking about. Which also makes it impressive how much of the information is included in the course. And it made me hungry for more!

Anyway, I loved both parts of the course, it was pure joy and I managed to learn a lot about music history from the early XXth century, which I'm sure I wouldn't pursue on my own.

Thank you for tremendous time, Prof. Covach!

por Christos K

Apr 29, 2018

Excellent course, really enjoyed it!

por Walter C

Apr 01, 2017

More than a course on history of rock, is a course on history of culture and american society in the 20th century. Recommended.

por Bill W

Mar 09, 2016

well researched and presented in a very informative way.

por Andrew G

Aug 29, 2015

Excellent Course. Really enjoyed the content and the teachers style in delivery.

por Henry J A T

Jan 13, 2016

Great course, excellent teacher!.

por Travis W

Jul 24, 2017

As with all of Professor Covach's courses, this one is five stars plus.

por Nicole B

Nov 01, 2015

John Covach's lectures are clear and well-thought out, and he does a good job of fielding the "fan mentality" that so often plagues other rock history and music history courses.

por Ferdinand P

Mar 18, 2018

Amazing class, just as good as the part one. I learned a lot and made myself several awesome playlists, which I will keep enjoying after this course!

por Loren E K

Feb 14, 2018

John Covach is a fantastic teacher that has a obvious love of music in general. I would definitely take other courses from Mr. Covach if they were offered. Great class!!

por Carrie F

Jul 03, 2017

So much fun! I grew up in the 80s, so this second half of the class has been like memory lane for me. I'm a teacher on summer vacation, and I can't think of a better way to spend it than learning about rock and roll!

por Helena C

May 24, 2016

it's super helpful and interesting!

por 동현 김

Dec 23, 2017

I love this class as a Korean who loves Rock music, which never dies!

por Maris

Sep 24, 2017

Excelent. Actually now is more fun to read about musicans (recently Iggy Pop & Black Sabbath) because context is better understood. (A bit weird that Tom Waits is not even mentioned)

por Daniel T

Jan 05, 2016

Awesome course great professor

por Koos J

Sep 20, 2017

Another very interesting course. Enjoyed it so much and I'm so sad it's finished now!

por Kamil T

Nov 13, 2015

Very Good

por Daniel B P

Jul 06, 2017

Super!

por 현석 김

Jan 11, 2018

good

por Ekaterina A

Jan 15, 2017

This course gives a wide rational view on rock music development not trying to avoid any controversal topics like race or gender. It gives a great range of covered styles in rock and around it as well as many different groups discussed. I will return to the course content again and again as it really makes me want to listen to all this music discussed.

por Tim H

Nov 30, 2015

Great study series of Rock artists, bands, and events!

por Saeideh A

Mar 10, 2017

Loved and truly enjoyed this course! I kind of feel sad it ended. Huge thanks to John Covach for his great enthusiasm.