Chevron Left
Volver a History of Rock, Part One

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a History of Rock, Part One por parte de Universidad de Rochester

4.8
estrellas
957 calificaciones
275 reseña

Acerca del Curso

This course, part 1 of a 2-course sequence, examines the history of rock, primarily as it unfolded in the United States, from the days before rock (pre-1955) to the end of the 1960s. This course covers the music of Elvis Presley, Chuck Berry, Phil Spector, Bob Dylan, the Beatles, the Rolling Stones, Jimi Hendrix, Cream, and many more artists, with an emphasis both on cultural context and on the music itself. We will also explore how developments in the music business and in technology helped shape the ways in which styles developed. Rock emerged in the mid 1950s as a blending of mainstream pop, rhythm and blues, and country and western--styles that previously had remained relatively separate. This new style became the music of the emerging youth culture and was often associated with teen rebellion. We will follow the story of how this rowdy first wave of rock and roll (1955-59) was tamed in the early 60s but came roaring back with the Beatles and the Rolling Stones and then went psychedelic by the end of the decade....

Principales reseñas

BL
12 de mar. de 2018

Provided insight into what I was listening to as a pre-teen. I didn't have the exposure to some of the older roots or the an understanding of the business forces that shaped the music I had access to.

SM
1 de oct. de 2016

This course has really helped to fill out my piecemeal understanding of the development of rock music. The pace and content of learning has been well considered and Prof Covach is to be congratulated.

Filtrar por:

101 - 125 de 274 revisiones para History of Rock, Part One

por Ryan M

11 de ene. de 2017

Not finished, but great the way he explains the origins of so much and ties things together. I've already learned so much.

por Bill G

6 de oct. de 2015

Great course. Very informative and helps me put together all that was happening during my youth and teen age years. Bravo!

por Garrett F

7 de jun. de 2020

What a great course. John is so interesting and knowledgeable. I would love to take a course of his in person one day.

por Alexis M

23 de jun. de 2020

Very informative and interesting. Professor is entertaining and incredibly knowledgable. Quizzes are very specific.

por Bida L W

3 de feb. de 2020

A wonderful course and some ideas of John Covach was quite personal thoughts, I don’t agree with some answers

por jiong s

7 de abr. de 2018

great course with all those details to help to understand more about the history of rock music. many thanks .

por Juan C V L

2 de abr. de 2016

Great course. Greetings from Colombia. With this course I've found the best lessons about Rock Music. Thanks

por Jhose A G

6 de dic. de 2015

Thanks for this interesting and enjoyable course. I´m looking forward to do the part two of History of Rock.

por John R

2 de nov. de 2015

This course rocks! (no pun intended). Great professor, fun and relevant content, and excellent presentation.

por Esteban M

14 de oct. de 2020

Excelent! John Covach is a wise, tranquil and amazing teacher. I will do the second part. Thank You, John!

por Jeff K

6 de may. de 2020

Such a good course! It only makes you wish there was time to go more in depth about every topic covered!

por Niki

6 de may. de 2020

Great Teacher :) Really enjoyed this course. It was well-rounded, clear and very interesting. Thank you !

por Franc M

6 de oct. de 2020

I have enjoyed a lot this course and learned a lot of things. Hoping to start part 2 as soon as I can!

por Mauricio A S P

14 de ago. de 2019

Te entrega mucho conocimiento de la historia del rock y en realidad de la música en general, muy bueo

por Carrie F

26 de jun. de 2017

Great info, I loved listening to the music and learning about the bands! Can't wait to get to Part 2!

por Cathy G

24 de ene. de 2017

Extremely knowledgeable teacher!! You will learn amazing facts and details of the rise of rock music.

por Andrew G

30 de jun. de 2016

Very, very well done course -- great information, well presented and well paced. Highly recommended!

por Michael V

8 de nov. de 2015

Terrific course. John Covach knows the material and presents it well. Enjoyed the course immensely.

por Geert P

8 de oct. de 2016

Great course, with great stories. A Professor you can listen to for hours. Absolutely top notch!

por Huang K

15 de ene. de 2016

The professor gives a fun speech on music and I really enjoy watching as well as listening in his

por Steve M

13 de abr. de 2020

Great insight and learning course about the greatest music in the world,

Rock and roll! 🎼🤪🎸

por Ferdinand P

26 de ene. de 2018

A truly amazing class. I had a great time and learned a lot. I'm looking forward to Part 2!

por 任欣雨

4 de dic. de 2016

Very good course for beginner to know about rock history,looking forward to join the Part.2