Chevron Left
Volver a History of Rock, Part One

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a History of Rock, Part One por parte de Universidad de Rochester

4.8
estrellas
957 calificaciones
275 reseña

Acerca del Curso

This course, part 1 of a 2-course sequence, examines the history of rock, primarily as it unfolded in the United States, from the days before rock (pre-1955) to the end of the 1960s. This course covers the music of Elvis Presley, Chuck Berry, Phil Spector, Bob Dylan, the Beatles, the Rolling Stones, Jimi Hendrix, Cream, and many more artists, with an emphasis both on cultural context and on the music itself. We will also explore how developments in the music business and in technology helped shape the ways in which styles developed. Rock emerged in the mid 1950s as a blending of mainstream pop, rhythm and blues, and country and western--styles that previously had remained relatively separate. This new style became the music of the emerging youth culture and was often associated with teen rebellion. We will follow the story of how this rowdy first wave of rock and roll (1955-59) was tamed in the early 60s but came roaring back with the Beatles and the Rolling Stones and then went psychedelic by the end of the decade....

Principales reseñas

BL
12 de mar. de 2018

Provided insight into what I was listening to as a pre-teen. I didn't have the exposure to some of the older roots or the an understanding of the business forces that shaped the music I had access to.

SM
1 de oct. de 2016

This course has really helped to fill out my piecemeal understanding of the development of rock music. The pace and content of learning has been well considered and Prof Covach is to be congratulated.

Filtrar por:

251 - 274 de 274 revisiones para History of Rock, Part One

por Robin A

22 de abr. de 2018

this course i great if you want to increase your knowledge about rock music,it has helped me a lot to understand different genres of music and how it came into picture of music.

very helpful course with lots of examples to understand perfectly

por Dennis G

26 de ago. de 2019

Enjoyed class. Got a little weary of watching videos toward the end. Definitely will consider future classes. More time on The Beatles and Rolling Stones would make the course more interesting.

Thanks for

por Robert J P

20 de sep. de 2020

While I enjoyed the course it does appear a bit dated in its delivery .Links to interviews' and performances would be easy to do and would enhance the experience for the learner.

por Rodolfo F L

6 de oct. de 2016

Could be improved using musical videos or complementary material. Is a little be boring just listening to lectures. :(

por EDGARDO A M R

11 de oct. de 2020

Muy buen curso, pero faltan mas imágenes y videos de bandas a las cuales hacen referencia. Pero, aprendí bastante.

por Zachary B

15 de oct. de 2015

Instructor is very articulate. The layouts for all of the lessons are very simple and easy to maneuver.

por Yana N

24 de mar. de 2016

Thank you for the course. It's really interesting! I enjoy it so much, especially the quizzes :)

por Garnet M

26 de oct. de 2020

Very well produced and great visuals. Sessions were just the right length and not dragged out.

por Mark L

7 de oct. de 2015

Good course, but I was disappointed that clips of some of the music weren't played.

por Juanjo R C

21 de may. de 2018

lástima que no esté en castellano 100%. Me ha parecido muy útil. Muchas gracias

por Dave E

10 de ene. de 2020

Buen curso! Muchos datos importantes sintetizados y bien explicados.

por Mark S

16 de ene. de 2017

Well done. Lot of material covered. I enjoyed it.

por Garry K

13 de jul. de 2017

A lot of great info and it was easy to understand.

por Jade

8 de sep. de 2018

Engaging and an overall very informative course.

por Raymond D

10 de oct. de 2017

Great course! Well presented. Very informative.

por Adam L

14 de nov. de 2016

Good overview of the birth of Rock

por HIMANSHU R

11 de mar. de 2019

overall fab....

por Laura H

7 de may. de 2018

nice ponytail

por Thomas T

18 de oct. de 2016

Very good

por Aimi I

18 de sep. de 2015

better than my other courses

por Cathy B

5 de mar. de 2021

Undoubtedly, the instructor has a mountain of musical knowledge and is eager to share it all. Problematic for me was the free-association-style of lecturing that seemed to bounce around and meander. Eventually, I just followed along with the script, gleaning points of interest. It might also have been helpful, at the end of some of the lessons, to have a list of songs to listen to along with what to listen for. I would have preferred much more linear organization and a more formal style of lecturing, though I realize some will definitely lean toward the conversational style of this course, which is fair. I felt it rang a little too Wikipedia-like and suspect the course would benefit from being split into smaller components that had more depth of coverage.

por Jean R

7 de sep. de 2016

No use for me. No music examples because copyrights did not allow, so the course is pretty boring.

Sorry, not for me.

por ΔΗΜΗΤΡΗΣ Β

11 de ene. de 2021

Too long, too many questions, no music, boring, boring, boring

por Russell P

13 de abr. de 2018

Wish I could give negative stars