Chevron Left
Volver a The fundamentals of hotel distribution

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a The fundamentals of hotel distribution por parte de Escuela de Negocios ESSEC

4.7
estrellas
895 calificaciones
210 reseña

Acerca del Curso

In today’s hotel sector an increasingly complex network of traditional and web based channels have to be managed to insure hotel success. Key questions include: how should you distribute over the web? What should you include on your brand.com website so people book through it? How can you maximise the potential of online travel agents (OTAs)? With the distribution environment both highly complex and constantly evolving, this course will give you comprehensive foundation of current industry practices to help jump start your career in this fascinating domain. Acknowledgements: Claire Bertrand, Vincent Chatain, Jessica Moses, Benjamin Six (ESSEC Business School), Emilie Dupré (Image-In), Gregory Halidy (Triplay)...

Principales reseñas

IM

Sep 07, 2016

I like it and I did never imagined the abundance of its content based on today's market.\n\nReally the course helped me a lot and immediately started implementing what I learned.\n\nThank you Coursera

LD

Jan 07, 2018

Very well done, these teachers and other important figures involved in the course are sharing extensive knowledges and they are teaching very clearly making the topic easy to comprehend, BRAVO!!!

Filtrar por:

151 - 175 de 208 revisiones para The fundamentals of hotel distribution

por Francisco B F

Nov 14, 2016

Very Good

por Alexander V

May 11, 2018

Great!

por MASOOTH A

Aug 27, 2019

good

por Segundo L H

Dec 04, 2015

G

por Anwar R

Jan 16, 2016

The content of the course is basically on how hotels distribute their contents (their rooms to sale). The different channels are explained, such as the OTA, brand.com, meta search, and direct channels. The course also includes a very interesting point of view from OTA where Expedia and Booking.com explains their offers to hotels. I would love to have the views from hotel too, which are missing here.

The suggested readings are quite a lot, basically from the online sites, many from the hotel and travel industry (skift, for example). Those readings are very useful in digging deeper on the subject.

The assignments, are, on the other hand, quite weak. It consists of 4 peer review assignments. The first week contains a pretty quantitative analysis, but the other 3 assignments are basically conversational and just repeating what you have learnt in the class.

The non-noted quizzes were pretty easy, you almost no need to think deeper to answer those questions.

por Hugo M M

Mar 02, 2016

Great course for introducing the fundamentals of hotel management and hotel distribution. This course enables us to learn important concepts related to hotel distribution and apply them in real-life situations through the course assignments. As well as this it is not necessary any relevant background to understand the concepts presented however it may be recommended basic financial/economics knowledge.

I think that adding some quizzes during the videos would be interesting and productive as it would allow students to assure that all the concepts were understood.

por Victor M

May 01, 2020

I learned a lot about the ways hotels acquire customers. The different ways to advertise, and the costs associated. What I found is that Booking.com and Expedia have pretty much cornered the market. I was hoping to discover some secret way to find customers cheaply, that most others have not discovered yet so I could stick out in the crowd. It seems like there aren't many alternatives where your paying 30% to the OTA's. Overall it was very informative and I am happy I took the course!

por oiram i

Apr 13, 2020

the peer review process is a bit disappointing, there are a couple of folks who do not understand me, or are grading based on their interpretation of the queries.. my answers are comprehensive and well written and well thought out and it is off putting to watch one particular fellow constantly grade me with 3's in any case the info is good and i am enjoying the course... i am stuck now waiting for a final peer grade to move onto rev mgmt, can we accelerate the grading process?

por Kim D L

Jan 23, 2018

This course is helpful and suitable for those who is green and want to have understand more about the hospitality industry. However, some information needs to be updated. Latest articles for complementary readings should also be added in order for the learners to have a better understanding and comparison about what's happening in this industry nowadays.

por Nikhil H

Jul 11, 2017

Very thorough with the current practices and trends, the fundamentals of hotel distribution introduces you to key opportunities present to a manager and explores evolving avenues that the hotel owner must keep up with. The bird's eye view of distribution helps one understand the complexity of the industry in today's times.

por Deleted A

Feb 16, 2018

A VERY INTERESTING AND WELL EXPLAINED COURSE.

THIS COURSE WILL GIVE YOU GOOD KNOWLEDGE AND MORE THAN A BASIC SKILL ON WHAT IS REALLY IMPORTANT FOR AN HOTEL TO ACCOMPLISH MORE GOALS IN THE ADVERTISING FIELD AND HOW TO MAINTAIN HIS WEBSITE COMPETITIVE AND HOW TO DEAL WITH OTHER TRAVEL AGENT

por Svetlana G

Dec 10, 2018

The course is very well structured, materials are comprehensive. I like the flexibility within deadlines, but good to have deadlines too for stimulation. What I would like to understand more is how my assignments get the final % marks and any feedback would be useful to receive.

por Laurence M

May 01, 2020

The class was interesting but old a bit. The articles we had to read date from 2015 and most of them were not even available anymore. It would have been cool to look up closer at platforms used by hotels in their distribution segment like GDA, CMS, PMS and a booking engine.

por Shona J N

May 19, 2020

A lot of the course material is pulled directly from the industry and is challenging, but easy enough to understand for a person with some background knowledge. The material has to be updated, most articles etc are from 2015 and some are not relevant anymore!

por Sergei S

Apr 19, 2019

Due to date of publication some information is out of date. Few links are missing and some parts need to be revised. But overall this course is absolutely essential for anyone willing to put the base under his knowledge of hospitality.

por Andriana M

Jun 22, 2020

It was a very interesting course and it;s suitable for both those who work or don;t at the hotwl industry.It's worth the try and especialy the videos with the representers of Booking.com and Expedia.com were absolutely helpful.

por Djambar

Jan 04, 2020

Very interesting introduction to the fundamentals of hotel distribution. The material is not outdated (2015) but should included more recent documentation, as we are in 2020 now... Also, many links are not available.

por James C

Jun 09, 2017

Learning from basic. The material is enough for fundamental level.

The exam question was a bit difficult because there was no similar examples in the course.

por Chen T E M

Jan 18, 2016

Very insightful. Highly recommended for anyone who is new to hotel revenue management. A good foundation course for hotel marketing and distribution.

por Daniele A R A

Mar 13, 2018

Review assignments by colleagues I believe is not the best way to learn and avaluate, teachers must do that, our grades must be given by teachers.

por LINAMARIA B

Sep 20, 2020

I personally feel that the works reviews and explanations are not a good methodology for learning on platforms, is better by exercises and exams.

por Simone A

Jul 09, 2017

Extremely informative. Wait for grades can sometimes be annoying.

Information delivered in a very clear and understandable manner.

Thankyou.

por Israel N A

May 11, 2020

Well explained, concise and quick.

I would have expected more of the complementary readings. 2015 articles are not relevant any more

por Darshana T

Apr 07, 2020

Clear explanations, good overview and content. Some links provided are not updated, it would be great if this could be looked into.

por Jill F

Oct 18, 2015

Subjects are not covered in depth but it's a comprehensive overview. Looking forward to the next courses in the specialization.