Chevron Left
Volver a How Things Work: An Introduction to Physics

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a How Things Work: An Introduction to Physics por parte de Universidad de Virginia

4.8
estrellas
2,190 calificaciones
670 reseña

Acerca del Curso

An introduction to physics in the context of everyday objects....

Principales reseñas

AV
9 de may. de 2020

It is a fabulous course.During the Entire Course I feel A Great Enthusiasm in my own.I loved this course..Thanks to profesor Louis A. Bloomfield & University of Virginia For there great contribution.

MS
6 de may. de 2020

Mind blowing.. excellent study by Prof. Bloomfield. Hatsoff to you sir. Very excellent representation of physics concepts by taking interesting examples. Good Pesonalited Professor i have ever seen .

Filtrar por:

576 - 600 de 670 revisiones para How Things Work: An Introduction to Physics

por 郑炳睿

31 de ene. de 2016

非常棒!

por Guy D

1 de sep. de 2015

Wow!

por Dr. G G T

6 de oct. de 2020

Wow

por Vishal P

25 de oct. de 2020

,

por Arnav D

25 de abr. de 2019

.

por Ng W L

11 de oct. de 2015

It is good that the professor was able to connect physical laws to day-to-day events and phenomena and help laymen like myself understand them through simple, less technical explanations.

However, it would be better if the questions in the quizzes can be explained after attempts. Though I could retake the tests, sometimes, it is through sheer trial and error that I got some answers correct. In this way, true learning is not achieved.

It would be good if the answers to the quizzes could be re-explained with parts of the lesson vides to draw the links. Sometimes, that link is not obvious. It is not immediately clear which part of the lesson pertained to which quiz questions and that made reviewing the lessons after getting answers wrong not helpful.

I speak from a perspective of a student who has not taken physics since 14th grade.

por Александрова А Н

10 de nov. de 2019

К сожалению, не смогла насладиться курсом в полной мере из-за его некоторой несвоевременности в контексте моего образования. Даже если он промаркирован как "продвинутый уровень", то всё равно стоило чуть больше ознакомиться с предлагаемым материалом и понять, что это всё уже было услышано не один раз и даже не два. Но порой повторение -- это тоже неплохая вещь. Думаю, что для школьника 9-10 класса, что только впервые знакомится с классической механикой курс будет крайне полезен и интересен. Либо для студентов первых курсов технических(ну и, вообще говоря, любых) вузов, что хотят больше поговорить о сути вещей, нежели об интегрировании. Также предостерегу надеющихся на русские субтитры -- они хороши только на первых двух видео, а далее переходят в "енот палка копать", так что пришлось перейти на английскую версию.

por Lex

31 de dic. de 2015

This course was very informative and I loved how enthusiastically everything was presented but one thing that put me off was the length of the videos. I understand that you need to cover all the information but when I look at an upcoming video that is 30 minutes long, I don't feel as encouraged to start it. Maybe if you could separate those type of videos into smaller sections of 5-10 minute videos.

Another thing that bothered me was when I took a quiz and got something wrong but couldn't figure out why because it doesn't have an explanation and I didn't know which video to watch. Maybe they should give the video name and start time of explanation (e.g. How Would a Ball Fall on the Moon? (5:36)). If they did that, it would be easier to find an explanation to a question.

por Julie C

1 de jul. de 2018

I think this is a very good introductory class for physics. The explanations are clear, detailed, and examples shown in the videos are very useful. I genuinely recommend this class. However, one thing that must be improved: after each quizzes, there are no correct answers or explanations given. One only knows which question was correct, without the details of which answers was accurate and why. This caused me troubles in understanding some parts of the class that I did not understand at first: I had hoped that a correction of the quizzes would be given to truly master the contents of the class, but it was not the case, and it is something that would have tremendously helped me.

por Elias M

4 de oct. de 2017

A very clear, and well thought out course. I am brand new to physics and this was a fantastic way to get started. It walked me through information carefully, and I never felt lost or confused at any time. The questions and quizzes were well timed and relevant to the content, and really helped solidify information.

The only negative I can mention are some small issues with production, particularly with sound editing, but considering this was a volunteer operation and not part of a full time job I think it is perfectly forgivable.

The teacher clearly knows his stuff and is a really fun instructor, I thoroughly enjoyed this course and hope to see more of his work in the future!

por Marko S

30 de abr. de 2017

Good course when you want to get to know some basic mechanical physics. Examples are real world scenarios which makes everything much more relatable and exciting.

Course has very little math in it so it's easier to follow for beginners. But if you want some math exercises and examples then you need to find some other course/book to help you.

I think Louis hasn't visited the page for a while, because he hasn't given any comments in discussion forum for a while. There's some activity in the forum by community, but not the author of the course.

por Meaghan L P

20 de jun. de 2016

Great course! The instructor is funny and engaging.

One major disappointment is that the graded assignments are inaccessible unless you pay to earn a verified certificate. I do not like the idea of being forced to provide an ID and set up a webcam. That should be optional for those who want a certificate and not penalize those who are taking it just for the enjoyment of learning. I am only allowed to access the videos.

por Briona A

11 de jun. de 2020

As a beginner to physics, I learned a lot in this class. Some of the quizzes didn't allow for me to see the answers after they were graded, so I couldn't go back and figure out why I got the answer wrong. At times it was difficult to make the connection between the quiz material and the class material. I would suggest that future classes discuss other scenarios so we can get a better understanding of the material.

por Ngo T D

9 de nov. de 2020

Funny, wonderful, and enthusiastic teacher with real experiments. I think this course is useful for an introduction to physics, but not a too easy course for everyone. It will be at best if you have some ideas about physics, or at least some of the terms, so that you have familiar feeling about how physicists think. With a foundation of natural science, you will learn physics in a systematic way.

por Marcy N

2 de may. de 2016

This course is excellent, mostly because its professor, Louis Bloomfield knows how to both entertain and teach to people who are not at all expert scientists or mathematicians. It's a lively class that keeps you engaged with his irreverent pedagogy. I do wish it would continue, however, so that I could have some lessons to accompany the rest of his text book!

por Evelyn D O P

3 de jun. de 2020

It was very well explained but I didn't understand some of the questions in the final assessment. Like the one where the two kids jump off the dock. If the horizontal aspects of falling doesn't affect the vertical aspects of falling, they should've hit the water at the same time.

Other than that I think the course was insightful and easy to understand.

por Shubham k

8 de may. de 2020

The lecture delivery was quite good as compared to other tutors and the idea of giving real life examples was a very good initiative by the professor.I learn most of the basic concepts of real physics after completing this course.In overall this is a very helpfull course of physics which every science student should prefer.

por Maria

12 de may. de 2020

An absolutely lovely professor who makes you smile during the lectures. Nice layout, everything is presented in a clear and structured manner. Only problem was that some of the quizzes didn't accept the correct answer during the first submission. Would recommend to beginner who want to learn the basics behind mechanics

por Mārtiņš S

9 de feb. de 2018

The course was really useful to understand how exactly works already learned physics laws. This was not only about calculations but overall understanding, too.

One thing - often many parts in videos were too extended for quite easy understandable things

por Leila W

25 de abr. de 2017

I really liked your course. One thing that I think would be great is that if you could add questions on the video about the definition of a term, by opposing it with another term. Example: Weight vs Force, or Net Force vs Frictional force.

por guy s

27 de ago. de 2015

The course is very practical, and gives many great every-day tools for understanding how things work. Nevertheless, I feel it lacks mathematical references. For example, I would like to see proofs, examples with actual numbers and etc.

por Alex

8 de jul. de 2020

Extremely well made. I'n not part of the demographics usually interested in physics, but thanks to this course I've started adoring the subject. Sadly, the quizzes have to be paid for me to be able of submitting them.

por David C

21 de may. de 2020

Old MSCE (with PE) who found this a challenging refresher course of material I have forgotten I ever knew.

Entertaining presentations that were well worth the effort in my opinion.. Good luck with grants under Trump.

por Sara F V

10 de may. de 2020

A simple and fun course to learn and consolidate older knowledge.

It is noticeable that the professor likes what he is doing and knows how to transmit the message properly through mundane examples.

por Gursaajan S

8 de may. de 2020

Lou Bloomfield is very instructor , overall course is an amazing and quick revision to all the basic things of physics .The video length should be little shorter , overall its an amazing course .