Chevron Left
Volver a Introduction to HTML5

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Introduction to HTML5 por parte de Universidad de Míchigan

4.7
7,860 calificaciones
1,932 revisiones

Acerca del Curso

Thanks to a growing number of software programs, it seems as if anyone can make a webpage. But what if you actually want to understand how the page was created? There are great textbooks and online resources for learning web design, but most of those resources require some background knowledge. This course is designed to help the novice who wants to gain confidence and knowledge. We will explore the theory (what actually happens when you click on a link on a webpage?), the practical (what do I need to know to make my own page?), and the overlooked (I have a page, what do I do now?). Throughout the course there will be a strong emphasis on adhering to syntactic standards for validation and semantic standards to promote wide accessibility for users with disabilities. The textbook we use is available online, “The Missing Link: An Introduction to Web Development and Programming” by Michael Mendez from www.opensuny.org. This course will appeal to a wide variety of people, but specifically those who would like a step-by-step description of the basics. There are no prerequisites for this course and it is assumed that students have no prior programming skills or IT experience. The course will culminate in a small final project that will require the completion of a very simple page with links and images. The focus of this course is on the basics, not appearance. You can see a sample final page at http://intro-webdesign.com/html5-plain.html. This is the first course in the Web Design For Everybody specialization. Subsequent courses focus on the marketable skills of styling the page with CSS3, adding interactivity with JavaScript and enhancing the styling with responsive design. You can see a sample site for the capstone course at http://intro-webdesign.com/...

Principales revisiones

AB

Sep 27, 2017

I really enjoyed everything about this course. I thought the exercises/quizzes were fair and the instructor showed me many things that will serve me well going forward. Great course, great instructor!

TB

Nov 11, 2017

Good introduction to web development. The teacher (Colleen van Lent) has great attitude and seems interested in getting students themselves interested... she explained the intro topics very clearly.

Filtrar por:

1 - 25 de 1,910 revisiones para Introduction to HTML5

por Yumei L

Jun 03, 2019

Even though this course has Dr. Chuck's name associated, it is NOT of the same caliber. The assignments have spelling errors and the instructions contradict the examples given--many of the errors have been pointed out as far back as 9 months ago, and yet remain uncorrected. The quizzes are designed like traditional in-class quizzes: petty and full of "gotcha" type of questions, UNLIKE Dr. Chuck's quizzes that clarify and reinforce course material. The video lectures seem to be wordy and offer info that one can easily get online. Now and then there is a bit that might be useful, but overall a waste of time.

por Nova R

May 20, 2019

tl;dr: I do NOT recommend this course. It is riddled with errors. Additionally, you risk not getting your certificate based on wrong information given to your peers to grade you for your final.

This course has multiple errors in the quizzes and most egregiously in the instructions to your peer reviewers to grade your final project. All throughout the forums were people pleading with students not to mark them wrong based on the grading instructions but grade them based on the instructions to complete the final project.

Here is a post in the forum. It is one of many and she explains it better than I can.

=====

Typos and errors in quizzes and final project! Frustrating.

Michelle SchauerWeek 3 · 12 days ago · Edited

I was quite surprised at how often I found grade-critical typos and errors in the quizzes and final project. I checked other students' comments and saw that other students are frustrated about this also. Not good. There are quiz question-and-answer errors which are incorrect.

There are a couple of errors on the final project. For example, the instructions say to create an unordered list (HTML course). Then the peer review questions to correct another peer's work asks if the person created an ORDERED list. If they didn't, we're supposed to dock them a point for their "error". The peer review question SHOULD ask if the person created an unordered list, as the instruction clearly stated.

Examples of typos within quizzes:

<o> (incorrect) instead of <ol> (correct - should have been this)

<nag> (incorrect) instead of <nav> (correct - should have been this)

There were quite a handful of errors similar to this on other quizzes as well. Frustrating when you're trying to learn and be tested fairly on your retention.

=====

Additionally there doesn't seem to be any TA's or active involvement from the teacher. I've loved the Dr. Chuck courses from UMich but this course was terrible. It's a complete lack of respect for the open learning community to create a course, not test it for errors, and then have students beg in the forums for corrections and changes to something they paid for and have it be ignored. I'm paying for the Specialization and I have nothing but dread going into the rest of courses. Please look for a better option. The book, Learn to Code HTML & CSS, by Shay Howe was the best thing to come out of this. It's free on his website and I got more out this than the lectures. The teacher is just reading her slides and not very interactive. The book has codepen examples throughout and you'll get far more interactive learning by working through the chapters than sitting through the lectures.

por Pradeep P

May 18, 2019

Faculty teach excellent.

por Mylen R

May 07, 2019

Very basic, but gives a fundamental understanding of HTML5 doc structure, tags, and proper accessibility coding. Just enough challenge to be interesting, but no overwhelming. The more you invest on your own to experiment and read outside of the assignments, the more you will get out of this course.

por Mutwakil S I A

Dec 22, 2018

Very good !

por Saurav C

Dec 22, 2018

It' s a great course if you wanna pursue web development and it explains all the basic concepts that everyone needs to know in web development and the teachers are great and they will show you all the practicals according to the machine you are working on and she teaches very smoothly and also add the relevant details if she misses something in the video. Overall I can say that go for it, this course will develop your interest in web development and you will love this course.

Thanks Mam (Collen Van Lent)

Regards

Saurav Chamoli

por tai n

Dec 21, 2018

The final project is a great learning point. To get the most out of the class you definitely need to take what you've learned, as well as using the resources offered, and keeping practicing coding with html5.

por ANURAG J

Dec 20, 2018

should be more practical and include more application of tags

por Ritu R R

Dec 20, 2018

it is very helpful course for beginners

por Rejohn R A C

Dec 20, 2018

I thought HTML was about just writing working code. I was wrong. HTML is all about writing semantically working code.

por Waqar A

Dec 19, 2018

good explanation

por S K K

Dec 16, 2018

Would be better if included more live examples

por Noor R T

Dec 16, 2018

Thank you to the outstanding trainer for this wonderful course. Thank you to the staff of the Coursera platform and the scholarship staff. It was a very useful course

por Ayush S

Dec 16, 2018

Very easy course and very knowledgeable too. The instructor(Colleen) is brilliant. She helps at every step and makes the course very easy.

por VITHLESH K G

Jun 23, 2019

Great course. Touch every aspect.

por Caitlyn C

Jun 21, 2019

It is kind of confusing but not bad! I am more confused on how this works like it says enroll on the separate courses? I really hope I don't have to pay for each of those seprately

por Aditya P

Jun 21, 2019

The best course to know about HTML 5. Formed the base for my web development career.

por Mohammad S S

Jun 20, 2019

Great

por Khushal U

Jun 20, 2019

Good with almost all of the aspect covered

por Siddharth S

Jun 20, 2019

More aspects of HTML5 could be added.

por Hritik K S

Jun 20, 2019

Before joining this course, I already knew about HTML. But, I understand the importance of accessibility of web design in this course.

por Gabriela B D

Jun 20, 2019

i liked the style of this course. and still learning from the material they gave us.

por Sidharth g

Jun 19, 2019

please provide me certificate for this course as it will help me in future

por Sakshi C

Jun 18, 2019

I LOVE THIS COURSE!

por Rafael E G A

Jun 17, 2019

Nice course