Chevron Left
Volver a Introduction to HTML5

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Introduction to HTML5 por parte de Universidad de Míchigan

4.7
estrellas
20,540 calificaciones
5,548 reseña

Acerca del Curso

Thanks to a growing number of software programs, it seems as if anyone can make a webpage. But what if you actually want to understand how the page was created? There are great textbooks and online resources for learning web design, but most of those resources require some background knowledge. This course is designed to help the novice who wants to gain confidence and knowledge. We will explore the theory (what actually happens when you click on a link on a webpage?), the practical (what do I need to know to make my own page?), and the overlooked (I have a page, what do I do now?). Throughout the course there will be a strong emphasis on adhering to syntactic standards for validation and semantic standards to promote wide accessibility for users with disabilities. The textbook we use is available online, “The Missing Link: An Introduction to Web Development and Programming” by Michael Mendez from www.opensuny.org. This course will appeal to a wide variety of people, but specifically those who would like a step-by-step description of the basics. There are no prerequisites for this course and it is assumed that students have no prior programming skills or IT experience. The course will culminate in a small final project that will require the completion of a very simple page with links and images. The focus of this course is on the basics, not appearance. You can see a sample final page at http://intro-webdesign.com/html5-plain.html. This is the first course in the Web Design For Everybody specialization. Subsequent courses focus on the marketable skills of styling the page with CSS3, adding interactivity with JavaScript and enhancing the styling with responsive design. You can see a sample site for the capstone course at http://intro-webdesign.com/...

Principales reseñas

SP

Apr 16, 2020

This course was very interesting and helpful in the initialization of web development also the course instructor is very good she delivers her knowledge up to maximum possibilities and also motivates.

CS

Aug 07, 2020

I really enjoyed everything about this course. I thought the exercises/quizzes were fair and the instructor showed me many things that will serve me well going forward. Great course, great instructor!

Filtrar por:

126 - 150 de 5,475 revisiones para Introduction to HTML5

por Pratik

Jun 26, 2020

Well, I was already a bit experienced with HTML but this course has information which i did not come across before starting this course. One such thing is the accessibility of web pages. This course is worth taking only if you intend to practice and do lots of reading. The reading materials they provide is very helpful for beginners. The instructor also has an amazing style of teaching.

por Franklin D M A

Nov 27, 2019

Really nice course to learn, use and code the basics of HTML 5. The professor explains really well each topic and motive you to code and keep learning by yourself. An interesting thing is that the professor focus too in how to code your website and make it accessible for everybody (people with any kind of disabilities, people who use screen readers, etc). Highly recommended this course.

por Deleted A

Dec 17, 2017

I really enjoyed this course because it did not go too fast for my academic ability. I really liked that the course took it slow and did not overload us with too many concepts all at once. I was looking to learn the basic building blocks of HTML5 and it is exactly what I got, so I now have the confidence to continue learning more about HTML5 on my own, as well as through future courses.

por Brandy

Sep 01, 2020

I was really intimidated when i wanted to learn this subject so i kept putting it off. however, once i took a leap and joined the class and i am so happy i did! I really enjoyed the course and wish it was longer, I know I have a ways to go and lots to learn however, after completing this course, I am much closer to making my dream career of becoming a web designer a reality. thank you!

por SIEW K C

May 03, 2020

Thanks for an excellent course! The instructor, Colleen is very clear in her teaching and brings us through HTML5 step by step. My only comment is that since this course started in 2016, there are probably new HTML5 tools since then, hence this can be considered in the next course update. I am very glad to have completed this course as I will be teaching basic HTML very soon at work.

por AYER M M K

Jul 13, 2020

Well presented and explained. Covered good fundamental areas required to understand the web and HTML pages. One feedback is that the reading project to Shay Howe was marked for a few hours, while it took many days to complete delaying the overall schedule. So unsure whether I did that part right or not - so maybe instructions for that could be recast to make it clearer. Thank you.

por Nicolas S V

Apr 08, 2020

It was good for an introduction to the HTML5 concepts and beyond since they explain the evolution of the browsers as well as the evolution of HTML. There were some concepts that I have forgotten or maybe I was so used to use them that I forgot why I do that in the way that I do. So I enjoyed the course and last but not least, the teacher is good explaining, clear and to the point!

por Noman G

Jan 22, 2018

It's an ideal course for newbies who want to start their career as a web developer or web designer. However, it is very helpful for those web developers who find some gap, flaw or weakness in the core concepts of web development. The teaching style of Professor colleen is fabulous and she is the top most instructor in coursera. I have enjoyed greatly while studying in this course.

por Matthew A

Oct 23, 2016

Dr. Lent has been absolutely amazing! I love this course! I have always dabbled with html in the past but I had no clue how much has changed or SIMPLIFIED with the creation of HTML5! Dr. Lent has an awesome no-nonsense way of getting straight to the material without all the extra fluff that just wastes your time. She's very personable and informative. Thank you, Dr. Lent!

por Jose L H P

May 04, 2020

I really liked it, it was what I was looking for in many ways. I wanted a course that was practical and direct to the point, only involving those key concepts necessary to understand how a webpage working a broad way. I ended up learning so much more, like accessibility and CEO positioning. Even when this is not my field study I might start digging in deeper know. Thank you.

por Tlou G R

Nov 20, 2019

Great course, The lecturer is very clear in terms of explaining concepts, and the pace that she went through the course is rather too perfect...i was a bit intimidated when i initially enrolled for the course but after 2/3 videos i knew i had everything under control because of the way the lecturer structured her videos. Great course, great lecturer...i really learned alot!

por Harshada D

Apr 24, 2019

I really love Dr Colleen. She is a very passionate, wise and an amazing teacher. I am glad I enrolled for this course. Even though I am a dentist, having coded only in high school, I now love HTML5 and find it easy and so understandable, all because of her. I have a completely new understanding and perspective towards the language and computer sciences as a whole. Cheers!

por Hyejin I

Feb 13, 2017

This course is totally perfect for newbie of programming! I am a designer and I am learning programming by myself and I have tried code.org, codacademy.com, and even meet-up for studying. But these didn't contribute to improve my programming skill a lot. Finally, I found this course and it worked! I got essential fundamental knowledge as well as practical and useful tips!

por Harout M

Mar 09, 2016

Since every learner will have his/her own expectations , this course have met my expectations , it was simple and smooth the way introductory courses should be , and for me I have learned many new things, what made me delighted most of all is the part of hosting your site and cPanel , because i rarely saw that in web design mooc courses, looking forward to the CSS course.

por Kutlambetov V

Sep 24, 2017

Dear Colleen and everyone who participated in the creation of this course,

I want to say that it was not an easy course for me. Before that, I had never been involved in information technology. Your course is the starting point in the world of computer science. Your material is detailed and available for beginners. Thank you very much for everything

Best regards,

Valinur.

por Daniel H

Jul 24, 2017

Very clear and easy to follow course, the emphasis on semantics and accessibility is not something I joined the course for, but an element I was grateful to learn about - makes the course feel professional and like it knows what it's talking about. Also found the initial foundation stuff very useful, as it is a tough subject to know where to look to learn about initially

por Gillian L

Oct 07, 2015

This is an excellent introduction to the world of web design. I knew absolutely nothing about HTML before, but after the course I have found an interest in coding that I never realised I had. Great teacher, and good course structure that is easy to understand and follow. I am looking forward to learning more in the next course in this Introduction to Web Design series.

por Joel K

Sep 06, 2020

Good introduction. Helped my brush up my rusty XHTML and HTML 4.01 knowledge.

Real beginner's really have to pay attention, when it is said, that one needs to dive into the many online HTML ressources themselves. A course can only hint and guide, where to go. We have to walk the way ourselves.

In the end, I think, I know HTML5 in a nutshell. A good start. Way to go!

por Zacharias A

Apr 25, 2020

This was an excellent course to learn the foundations for html5 as a complete novice. I had zero knowledge of web design but now I have the courage to dive further into the subject. Great lectures and readings to help understand the topics. Lots of helpful resources to practice outside of the course. Prof. Colleen van Lent is awesome and thank you for this course.

por ArionHoogwerf

May 23, 2016

Excelent! the courses from this teacher are very well put together and clear even if you have never done any serious web development/design! I would recomend this to anyone who wants to make a start in professional webdevelopment/design! im very happy i took this course its worth it! i even got a certificate from the University of Michichan! this is good on my CV!

por steve b

Oct 30, 2015

A little basic for me. But it was mentioned this was meant for the absolute beginner. Nonetheless, as a developer that never dabbled in HTML, this dipped my curiosity for HTML5. It's a solid start, better than reading about it somewhere in the internet.

Definitely use split screen or a separate device to follow along with the coding. Even if it seems too easy.

por Elizabeth B

Jan 15, 2018

Excellent introduction. Good pacing and interesting content, not an overwhelming technical presentation. As an experienced designer, I was having trouble getting started on coding. Needed to have a better understanding of web mechanics and dynamics and a friendly introduction to coding. Finally have a good foundation on which to build thanks to this course.

por Gankidi S r

Jul 23, 2018

One of the best online courses i have taken (all thanks to the instructor) the way she teaches us makes things easier, i will recommend this course for beginners and i can assure you will not be disappointed . this course teaches the basics of html 5 and gives information of how web works and also teaches us how to host a website and check for errors .

por Trinidad D

Apr 29, 2020

I had a really great time during the course. I learnt this at High School, when I was 16 and didn't pay much attention so I'd forgotten everything about it. Now, 5 years later, I'm learning it again, and I am very happy with my results.

I also think that all the information on the videos is very well explained, and the complementary texts super usefull.

por vishal j

Jul 22, 2020

The course was well organised and structured also i learnt html from basics to advanced in this course also the instructor was quite good and she explained well . i want to thank the instructor and the coursera team for making this course and giving me this opportunity to learn and explore the world of HTML 5 keep making these types of courses .Thanks!