Chevron Left
Volver a Introduction to HTML5

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Introduction to HTML5 por parte de Universidad de Míchigan

4.7
estrellas
20,638 calificaciones
5,567 reseña

Acerca del Curso

Thanks to a growing number of software programs, it seems as if anyone can make a webpage. But what if you actually want to understand how the page was created? There are great textbooks and online resources for learning web design, but most of those resources require some background knowledge. This course is designed to help the novice who wants to gain confidence and knowledge. We will explore the theory (what actually happens when you click on a link on a webpage?), the practical (what do I need to know to make my own page?), and the overlooked (I have a page, what do I do now?). Throughout the course there will be a strong emphasis on adhering to syntactic standards for validation and semantic standards to promote wide accessibility for users with disabilities. The textbook we use is available online, “The Missing Link: An Introduction to Web Development and Programming” by Michael Mendez from www.opensuny.org. This course will appeal to a wide variety of people, but specifically those who would like a step-by-step description of the basics. There are no prerequisites for this course and it is assumed that students have no prior programming skills or IT experience. The course will culminate in a small final project that will require the completion of a very simple page with links and images. The focus of this course is on the basics, not appearance. You can see a sample final page at http://intro-webdesign.com/html5-plain.html. This is the first course in the Web Design For Everybody specialization. Subsequent courses focus on the marketable skills of styling the page with CSS3, adding interactivity with JavaScript and enhancing the styling with responsive design. You can see a sample site for the capstone course at http://intro-webdesign.com/...

Principales reseñas

SP

Apr 16, 2020

This course was very interesting and helpful in the initialization of web development also the course instructor is very good she delivers her knowledge up to maximum possibilities and also motivates.

AB

Sep 27, 2017

I really enjoyed everything about this course. I thought the exercises/quizzes were fair and the instructor showed me many things that will serve me well going forward. Great course, great instructor!

Filtrar por:

176 - 200 de 5,505 revisiones para Introduction to HTML5

por Marcelo M d C

Sep 01, 2018

The course contributed a lot to a better understanding of HTML5. I found it very interesting to approach accessibility as it is a factor that most businesses do not care about when they will make a website or web application. Congratulations on the great content, I hope to have the opportunity to participate in more courses here.

por Jeremy G

Feb 23, 2018

Excellent course! Best HTML course I have taken anywhere. Instructor does an excellent job of explaining concepts with a consistent focus on writing semantic code that is accessible to everyone. Looking forward to continuing the Specialization with the CSS3 course! Thank you University of Michigan for offering such a fine course!

por Nguyen D A

Oct 10, 2017

I always like courses from University of Michigan and this course is not an exception. Even though I'm a programmer many stuffs in this course prove to be very helpful. I especially love the history part of HTML. I have recommended this course to a friend who wants to learn about web design. Thank you very much professor Colleen

por Frank F

Jun 11, 2020

Excellent course! Great introduction of the most functional and useful elements of HTML5. The final project was excellent because it required the distillation of the information taught into a practical web page.

Text reference materials could be improved to provide more thorough examples of HTML tags, elements and attributes.

por Emiliano M Á

Sep 09, 2019

Coleen is an incredible teacher, fully human, clever and accessible that helped me demystify the cloudy land of HTML for a beginner. I've learned a lot, and I just wanna thank everyone in UMICH for always making great, easy to understand courses. Sign up if you don't have a CLUE, you'll end up with good ground to go forward.

por Messias M U

Nov 27, 2016

This course was an interesting introduction of what is going behind the scenes of the internet. It was a great way to invite us to get through this world of internet. As a stranger to programming, being capable of success in this subject is proof of great delivery and mastery Prof. Collen van Lent showcases in this course.

por Srikanth

Apr 22, 2020

Thank you so such for coursera for conducting online certificate courses.And i learned a lot at starting i started with the no knowledge of HTML 5 code but after completion of my course i can develop a web page by own.

And i also thank Colleen van Lent, PhD. mam who taught me the course from the University of Michigan.

por Aneesh K

Jun 14, 2020

Brilliant Course! The instructor has crafted this course with utmost clarity and patience.

For a beginner like me, this course gave the much needed confidence and provoked interest in wanting to learn more about web design. I really recommend this to anyone willing to learn HTML5 and dwell into the world of web design.

por Katarzyna L

Jun 14, 2020

Nice HTML course for beginners. HTML basics taught in a clear and precise way, the teacher shows a little bit of HTML hisotry, shows many useful tags and how to implement them. She also shows all the necessary and useful tools for writing the code and publishing it. Had lots of fun and can't wait to start a new course.

por Sayali d c

Apr 16, 2020

It's great experience to learn new things on coursera.It's very helpul for beginners as well as for experienced to gain programming fundamentals on coursera.It's develop our thinking potential by solving assignments.It's great pleasure to learn html concepts from ma'm.Thank you very much for such a valuable Guidance.

por VAMSHI M

Jan 18, 2020

As a beginner, I recommend this course for those who have a passion to learn and it is the first step in web design.lecture was fantastic and you cant feel bore while you are taking up the course. I personally very thankful to the university and coursera for providing a wonderful platform for the learners

thanking you!!

por Debra L G

Jan 31, 2019

This was one of the best classes I have taken on Coursera!!! The instructor was GREAT. She made it easy to understand the lessons and she actually showed you what happens when you make mistakes and how to fix them. I give this class all the credit for my desire to continue learning more about coding and website design.

por Khizra A

Sep 19, 2020

Honestly, it's a course that covers most important aspects yet the required knowledge and consideration for accessibility. Unlike other resources it broadly focuses on everything related to HTML5, like from evolution to the modern day that actually builds the interest and basics at the same time . I really enjoyed it,

por Zarima J

Jul 10, 2020

First I want to say many many thanks for Coursera for amazing opportunities. We are in different part of the world but many possibilities to learn, obtain new skills and knowledge. This course was very useful for me because I can understand computer better now. I am very grateful for wonderful knowledge that i obtain.

por Claire C

Apr 10, 2020

Great course! I had no background in web design, but this course taught me how to understand HTML5 in general, how to structure HTML5 code, and many commonly used tags. In addition, Dr. van Lent provided great resources for looking up tags in the future, validating the syntax, and validating the accessibility of code.

por Sarah L

Aug 09, 2016

I loved this course! Colleen made HTML accessible and enjoyable to learn - something I've been struggling to understand for a while. I highly recommend this course to anyone who has had either no exposure, or some exposure to HTML. It serves as a very solid foundation on which to build futher knowledge of the content.

por Hernan L

May 03, 2020

This course is great. Fullproof. Literally everybody can join in, and its a great jump-start. I've done the PY4E specialization as well, and I'm really greatfull for all the work that's invested into thes courses. A lot of free for everyone material, great content and a lot of love for what they do. Thanks very much!

por Deleted A

Jan 11, 2020

This course is really great and I really liked it. It touches all the foundations that allow you to be comfortable with coding in HTML. It touches the foundations, as well as some of real-life techniques used by professionals. I think this course with some googling can make a difference in your HTML learning journey.

por Holly K

Aug 20, 2018

Dr. Van Lent is great! I would totally take another class where she is a featured video lecturer (or live lecturer). Very personable, down-to-earth, and video-friendly. The course was a great review for me as I brush off some of the dust from my HTML and CSS experiences of the past. Glad I enrolled and completed!

por Matías J

Dec 04, 2017

The instructor knows what she is talking about. She speaks very clear and goes directly to the point without boring you.

You can tell that she really took the time to organize the content she is exposing in the videos and she's not improvising at all. I really appreciate that because it shows a lot of professionalism.

por Stephen D

May 27, 2020

I really want to thank Colleen van Lent for taking the pains to prepare such effective lectures. I didn't have any knowledge about coding whatsoever before doing this course, thanks to Coursera I've got a hang of it. Lectures are very easy to understand, short and effective. Would recommend it to anybody interested.

por Yash S

May 04, 2020

Collen Mam, I've Became a huge fan of yours as you have fantastic explaining skills as well as immense knowledge which makes you super-super Intelligent and love the way you smile while teaching. Now, as this course is completed all my basics are back on track and would love to continue with the CSS course shortly.

por rj h

Sep 22, 2020

The Instructor was very helpful and tries very hard to push the learners through the material. But as others may have said before, some of the information in the lessons is outdated a bit and/or the videos have outdated information. However, the Instructor did a good job in mentioning that in the videos and such.

por bba4vu

Dec 12, 2015

This is a super beginner's level course--perfect for the super beginner. I recommend it. Also, I had taken some other intro-level web design courses previously, and I found that this course still taught me useful tips that I didn't know before. I recommend it for those who want to cement their knowledge of HTML5.

por DEEPAK V

Jul 26, 2020

I couldn't thank enough for this course. It has taught me the base of web development very well and I feel very confident. No tree is firm enough if its roots aren't strong and I am sure my basic knowledge of web development through this course has made to stronger to pursue more courses on this topic. Thank you!