Chevron Left
Volver a Introduction to HTML5

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Introduction to HTML5 por parte de Universidad de Míchigan

4.7
estrellas
20,443 calificaciones
5,525 revisiones

Acerca del Curso

Thanks to a growing number of software programs, it seems as if anyone can make a webpage. But what if you actually want to understand how the page was created? There are great textbooks and online resources for learning web design, but most of those resources require some background knowledge. This course is designed to help the novice who wants to gain confidence and knowledge. We will explore the theory (what actually happens when you click on a link on a webpage?), the practical (what do I need to know to make my own page?), and the overlooked (I have a page, what do I do now?). Throughout the course there will be a strong emphasis on adhering to syntactic standards for validation and semantic standards to promote wide accessibility for users with disabilities. The textbook we use is available online, “The Missing Link: An Introduction to Web Development and Programming” by Michael Mendez from www.opensuny.org. This course will appeal to a wide variety of people, but specifically those who would like a step-by-step description of the basics. There are no prerequisites for this course and it is assumed that students have no prior programming skills or IT experience. The course will culminate in a small final project that will require the completion of a very simple page with links and images. The focus of this course is on the basics, not appearance. You can see a sample final page at http://intro-webdesign.com/html5-plain.html. This is the first course in the Web Design For Everybody specialization. Subsequent courses focus on the marketable skills of styling the page with CSS3, adding interactivity with JavaScript and enhancing the styling with responsive design. You can see a sample site for the capstone course at http://intro-webdesign.com/...

Principales revisiones

SC

Aug 29, 2020

This course has really alot of things to learn along with code and the most important that we miss usually is accecabilty well done mam Thank you for porviding apportunity for us to learn what is best

SP

Apr 16, 2020

This course was very interesting and helpful in the initialization of web development also the course instructor is very good she delivers her knowledge up to maximum possibilities and also motivates.

Filtrar por:

26 - 50 de 5,463 revisiones para Introduction to HTML5

por Samiulhaq C

Aug 29, 2020

This course has really alot of things to learn along with code and the most important that we miss usually is accecabilty well done mam Thank you for porviding apportunity for us to learn what is best

por CHANDE S S

Aug 07, 2020

I really enjoyed everything about this course. I thought the exercises/quizzes were fair and the instructor showed me many things that will serve me well going forward. Great course, great instructor!

por Waqar A

Dec 19, 2018

good explanation

por S K K

Dec 16, 2018

Would be better if included more live examples

por Ritu R R

Dec 20, 2018

it is very helpful course for beginners

por Barbara B

Nov 18, 2018

I've taken numerous HTML courses through the Internet. They were all free, so I can't complain, but I have to say that I learned so much more from this course. For example, I finally mastered the difference between coding the image (img) and link (href) tags - something I've been struggling with for a long time. I couldn't write either tag on my own; I had to copy and paste from someplace else and then tweak it to fit. I now can write it on my own because I understand the parts - something that wasn't clear before. Colleen makes the basics very clear in a way that you can really understand. I am so grateful for this class and so excited to code! I feel much more confident about my HTML skills, and that's a great feeling!! Thank you!!

por Isha S

Jul 10, 2020

I got to learn HTML from a very different perspective, with the focus being on accessibility, something which is not usually taught to us. I will always remember to add that point in all my future projects, to make them as user-friendly as possible.

por HARSHA V

May 09, 2020

Through this Course i had learned how to create a basic web page and many more thing. I would like to thank my instructor for providing me such great material and methods to learn.

thank you madam

por sumeet t

Sep 07, 2020

He not allow two quiz examination

por Lê T L

Jun 13, 2020

This website is helpful for us to learn .

por ECE 4 l

May 06, 2020

good

por Anik R

May 06, 2020

ok

por C J A

May 12, 2020

Not as expected. Not so disappointed, but at the same time, not satisfied.

I joined this course mainly because of two things :

1. Course description said it focused on beginners

2. Prof. Charles (Chuck) was one of the instructors

As I progressed, I realised that both above things were not as specified.

Yaa, it has beginner concepts, but all topics are just rushed in a hurry always telling us to try ourselves.

Really disappointed as Chuck wasn't taking this course, I came here mainly to experience his lectures.

Also as the course was offered by Michigan University, I blindly dived in. Prior to this, I have taken 3 courses offered by Michigan University, out of which 2 were taken by Chuck. I was satisfied in those 3 courses and extremely satisfied on 2 of them taken by Chuck.

Here, the main drawback I noticed is that the focus shifts away from Html5 basics to accessibility sort of topics, which was a bit weird. Also the graded quiz was poor, like they wanted us to have knowledge from nowhere. Completion of course depended on the final project, which is absolutely fine. But it's grading is completely depends on peer review, which is also kind of weird. Anyways, I wont be continuing on with this specialisation. Sorry, no offense.

por Susan R

May 03, 2016

The caliber of questions in the quizzes is quite advanced. I would be fine with that, as the challenge of writing correct html5 is a good challenge. However much of these questions were not covered in the lectures or the required and optional reading. Learning the correct html tag syntax is not intuitive--one has to be shown examples. If no examples have been covered, how can a quiz-taker be expected to create the proper tags? This strikes me as bad pedagogy.

In order to answer the questions and prepare the requested page of html tags, it became necessary for a beginner such as me to research elsewhere in order to answer the questions. In that case, I began wondering why I was taking this course, rather than just reviewing the many free html5 explanations on the Internet.

Further the very general response to the submitted page of html gives me no help when I am simply told something isn't right and I should review the lessons--again. I expected better feedback.

I found this course to be fascinating from the lecture point of view, but "abusive" in terms of quiz expectations. I was going to take the CSS3 course from the series, but now I plan on looking for this education elsewhere.

por Rose L

Feb 18, 2016

This is absolutely NOT for beginners. There is no way you can possibly do this class in under 10 hours a week. The presentations are sloppy and vague. There is absolutely no support, unless you count snark from the aids who check into the message boards once and a while to tell you your question is stupid. This woman chatters on way to fast and if you use the slower speed setting on the videos, it crashes every time. I am not happy that I wasted money on this class. It offers nothing to prepare you to actually do any real life HTML coding. I highly recommend either purchasing a book to learn on your own or take a class elsewhere. The Coursera platform is garbage. The app crashes and it doesn't seem to cooperate well with Safari so I have to lug around my laptop in order to get through this nonsense.

por Zachary T

Jun 26, 2017

The teacher is good, and her material is great, but a lot of work needs to be done on the tests. They incorrectly mark a lot of answers as wrong that shouldn't be. I took this course to see if it was worth recommending to a friend who is interested in learning HTML, I've been a software engineer for about five years, and if I'm unable to get a perfect score (despite all my answers being correct), obviously something needs to be improved.

That said, Colleen is obviously a great teacher, and I enjoyed watching the lectures. I just think that perhaps a bit more work needs to be put into the quizzes, to make sure users of the platform can learn as well from her as they likely would in an in-person lecture!

por Robert

Oct 20, 2016

I signed up to learn how to write good code, but I don't feel like I learned much. I passed the exam by writing an HTML document that was syntactically and semantically correct, but I don't know why it was more correct than what I've been doing on my own and cannot be sure I'll will write better code in the future as a result. I did learn a lot about the internet in general though. I feel like I would have learned more and paid less money taking a course somewhere else or buying a book.

por Gaurav M

Jun 25, 2020

I don't recommend this course low quality content with alot of errors and typos.

por MD. Z I

Jun 20, 2020

THE WORST COURSE TEACHER I HAVE EVER MET IN MY LIFE . SHITTY COURSE.

por Pranay N P

May 16, 2020

well i had to learn more about html 5 from Griaffe Academy

por Avsrmol V

Jul 04, 2020

sab nhi batete baki sab bha se sikna padta h

por Jatin G

Dec 05, 2018

No practice with coding, just videos

por Souha N

Dec 26, 2015

I expected more coding examples.

por Yusuf T

Mar 20, 2020

Too basic, very little content.

por Nikita G

Jan 20, 2016

Terrible lectures and quizes