Chevron Left
Volver a Introduction to HTML5

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Introduction to HTML5 por parte de Universidad de Míchigan

4.7
estrellas
13,538 calificaciones
3,554 revisiones

Acerca del Curso

Thanks to a growing number of software programs, it seems as if anyone can make a webpage. But what if you actually want to understand how the page was created? There are great textbooks and online resources for learning web design, but most of those resources require some background knowledge. This course is designed to help the novice who wants to gain confidence and knowledge. We will explore the theory (what actually happens when you click on a link on a webpage?), the practical (what do I need to know to make my own page?), and the overlooked (I have a page, what do I do now?). Throughout the course there will be a strong emphasis on adhering to syntactic standards for validation and semantic standards to promote wide accessibility for users with disabilities. The textbook we use is available online, “The Missing Link: An Introduction to Web Development and Programming” by Michael Mendez from www.opensuny.org. This course will appeal to a wide variety of people, but specifically those who would like a step-by-step description of the basics. There are no prerequisites for this course and it is assumed that students have no prior programming skills or IT experience. The course will culminate in a small final project that will require the completion of a very simple page with links and images. The focus of this course is on the basics, not appearance. You can see a sample final page at http://intro-webdesign.com/html5-plain.html. This is the first course in the Web Design For Everybody specialization. Subsequent courses focus on the marketable skills of styling the page with CSS3, adding interactivity with JavaScript and enhancing the styling with responsive design. You can see a sample site for the capstone course at http://intro-webdesign.com/...

Principales revisiones

NP

May 19, 2020

I really enjoyed everything about this course. I thought the exercises/quizzes were fair and the instructor showed me many things that will serve me well going forward. Great course, great instructor!

SP

Apr 16, 2020

This course was very interesting and helpful in the initialization of web development also the course instructor is very good she delivers her knowledge up to maximum possibilities and also motivates.

Filtrar por:

151 - 175 de 3,539 revisiones para Introduction to HTML5

por Charles L

Mar 26, 2020

I've tried other online learning tools. The structure and materials in this course were a home run for me. The pacing, videos and quizzes/tests really make sure you're learning and retaining as you go. The instructor Colleen is clear in her presentation and very concise while being thorough. Great course!

por Muhammad A H M M

Aug 26, 2019

great intro to html and web development, the instructor is really nice and the lectures are really smooth, I think this course could be better if the quizzes have less questions unrelated to the lectures also the project I'd rather it not be peer reviewed because it may take long time for anyone to see it

por hemakiran p

Oct 17, 2016

As I'm coding since 3 years I thought I know maximum about HTML. But after completion of course I really got good knowledge how to write clean code with proper syntax and semantics. I really appreciate the University of Michgan staff for developing a good detailed course on HTML5. Thanks to Team Coursera.

por jawed

Oct 28, 2015

my teacher is excellent. she is nice heart and true way of thinking. i prayer is always do a nice work. and God listen her prayer. my teacher is excellent way of teaching and good explanation. i understand each lecture and keep her way of logic in my mind.

thank you my teacher. my best way always for you.

por Pamela S

Nov 03, 2015

Colleen van Lent is a great teacher. She simplifies everything, is clear, consistent, and reviews what she's said. She explains as she goes and encourages coding along with her. This was the perfect intro course for someone who knows nothing about HTML. Would definitely take another course by her again.

por Karan S N

Jun 15, 2019

What a beautiful and knowledge course .

Thanks Colleen (Instructor) for the wonderful teaching. She has made my foundation strong in HTML 5.

This course has taught me a lot about HTML 5 and about web-development. Thanks Coursers for providing the course. Thanks to University of Michigan for this course.

por Mazen A

Oct 01, 2015

This course is perfect for the absolute beginner not only in web development, but also in programming in general. Yet, being a software developer looking to get some web dev skills, it was worth spending sometime into it getting know some more details about HTML as well as basic programming principles.

por Karen V

Oct 09, 2016

I really liked this course because Colleen explained the history and background of HTML 5, it wasn't straight to the tags and semantics and syntax; I find knowing the background really helpful to figure out what you can do. The lessons are dynamic, never boring and the supplementary material is good.

por Bonnie C

Jun 25, 2018

I already a knew a little HTML, so I wasn't sure what I'd get out of this course. It turns out, I learned a lot about how a webpage actually works, and I learned a whole lot about how to write meaningful, accessible pages. Definitely enhanced what I already knew in ways I didn't even know I needed.

por Michael T

Feb 05, 2016

Great HTML5 primer, not enough detail in the course, but honestly, how can you cover everything in three weeks? It's impossible with this format but I think UM, Colleen and Coursera did a fabulous job creating a short and welcoming intro HTML5 course. I'm already signed up for her CSS3 course!

por Michael R

Oct 04, 2015

This 'intro' course has an excellent instructor. I have used html on and off for awhile,

but the differences in HTML5 and explanation of the reasons why and the semantics

made it very valuable.

The grading was frustrating, but attention to detail IS a component of programming.

Very helpful course.

por Jonathan J B

Jun 30, 2017

Very good beginners course. Would have liked a little more information on how to layout a web page with the new HTML5 tags <section> <article> <aside>, etc., however, the focus was on basic page structure and writing not only good HTML code, but also semantically correct and accessible code.

por Mahmoud M M E

Sep 17, 2019

i have learned a lot during this course, this course provides you with the fundamentals of being a web developer and there is no wonder about how important this course is, special thanks to the instructor who showed a great skill in illustrating the course material and good luck to everyone.

por Sandra S

Jan 10, 2016

I have had some experience using HTML before, but needed a refresher on HTML5 and accessibility. This was a great way to brush up my skills, get a reminder of the basics and build a better foundation for creating accessible websites. I think it would be great for a complete beginner as well.

por Liu W

Dec 20, 2019

Another incredible course I have on Coursera!! So clear and so user-friendly from a new-hand like me. I have absolutely no knowledge in HTML and find this course so great!!

BTW, teacher, you don't talk fast.

My love University of Michigan is growing as there are so many great teachers there!!

por GAYATRI K

May 08, 2020

very useful for even those people who have little bit knowledge of html.it focuses more on semantic tags and tells the importance to adopt semantic tags.learned lots of new tags and different ways to host the sites and learned the importance of using appropriate tags.VERY HELPFUL COURSE.

por Burcu H T

Jul 08, 2019

It is so easy and understandable course for the people, who want to be a Web Developer and begin everything from scratch. Great Lecturer, her Pronunciation is so good especially for the people like me who are not a native speaker and can sometimes difficulties to have with understanding.

por Greg F

Jul 05, 2018

Great intro to web design and HTML5. Along with the basics of the HTML5 language, the course nicely covers code editing tools, validators, accessibility, and web hosting. Colleen van Lent is a very engaging instructor and really knows how to present the material at an introductory level.

por Ana C P

Mar 25, 2018

This was a really great course! Colleen's teaching style is amazing, she helps you understand all the concepts and makes you feel comfortable with your mistakes throughout the learning process, whilst also showing you how to correct them. Will be completing more of her courses for sure.

por Anock m

May 04, 2020

The lessons are well structured and easy to follow. Projects are relevant to the course content making the lessons more interactive and much better than face to face learning. I hope that the skills that I will gain at the end of my course will help me start a career in Web development.

por Rubaet B Q

Oct 14, 2019

Having great experience..It is very helpful course for beginners. The instructor (colleen) is brilliant. She helps every step and makes this course learn easy for me. How she teaching this course its just absolutely brilliant. I enjoyed everything this course. Thanks for your efforts.

por Arianna R

Dec 30, 2016

Really well explained, and the instructor is so encouraging - even in her videos. You can also tell that she's really passionate about what she does, and is also so clearly a lovely person. You'll definitely walk away feeling more confident to code. I was surprised how much I picked up.

por Deleted A

Dec 04, 2019

This is a great introductory course to the web design and development. I recommend it for anyone who wants to start a career in web design or web development. Also, HTML5 is a great skill to learn in our modern tech world, so it's highly recommended for anyone interested in technology.

por Sofiia P

Aug 10, 2016

It's really good for beginners! I didn't believe that at the beginning, because i was really new and it was hard for me to understand some things at first time. But if you don't give up, you will succeed! Lectures are simple and easy for understanding. I strongly recommend this course.

por Edith S

May 14, 2016

Even though I would have liked something more hands-on (this subject matter doesn't come naturally to me), I was able to complete the course and obtain a certificate. I appreciate all the efforts that went into this online course and recommend it to other computer programming newbies.