Chevron Left
Volver a Introduction to HTML5

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Introduction to HTML5 por parte de Universidad de Míchigan

4.7
estrellas
10,117 calificaciones
2,547 revisiones

Acerca del Curso

Thanks to a growing number of software programs, it seems as if anyone can make a webpage. But what if you actually want to understand how the page was created? There are great textbooks and online resources for learning web design, but most of those resources require some background knowledge. This course is designed to help the novice who wants to gain confidence and knowledge. We will explore the theory (what actually happens when you click on a link on a webpage?), the practical (what do I need to know to make my own page?), and the overlooked (I have a page, what do I do now?). Throughout the course there will be a strong emphasis on adhering to syntactic standards for validation and semantic standards to promote wide accessibility for users with disabilities. The textbook we use is available online, “The Missing Link: An Introduction to Web Development and Programming” by Michael Mendez from www.opensuny.org. This course will appeal to a wide variety of people, but specifically those who would like a step-by-step description of the basics. There are no prerequisites for this course and it is assumed that students have no prior programming skills or IT experience. The course will culminate in a small final project that will require the completion of a very simple page with links and images. The focus of this course is on the basics, not appearance. You can see a sample final page at http://intro-webdesign.com/html5-plain.html. This is the first course in the Web Design For Everybody specialization. Subsequent courses focus on the marketable skills of styling the page with CSS3, adding interactivity with JavaScript and enhancing the styling with responsive design. You can see a sample site for the capstone course at http://intro-webdesign.com/...

Principales revisiones

AB

Sep 27, 2017

I really enjoyed everything about this course. I thought the exercises/quizzes were fair and the instructor showed me many things that will serve me well going forward. Great course, great instructor!

TB

Nov 11, 2017

Good introduction to web development. The teacher (Colleen van Lent) has great attitude and seems interested in getting students themselves interested... she explained the intro topics very clearly.

Filtrar por:

176 - 200 de 2,496 revisiones para Introduction to HTML5

por wesley g d b s

Feb 03, 2016

Great course! The professor shows the basics with good examples, making easy to understand, changing the coding, testing and fixing errors. Besides, There are a lot of resources extremely useful for those who want to go deeper and learn more!!!

Congrats!

por Nilesh H

Mar 15, 2019

I believe this is really a great course for someone who wants to start from the very basics of Web Development. Each and every basic things are taught in order to strengthen the fundamentals of HTML. I truly enjoyed the course and learned a lot from it.

por Tushar s

Mar 09, 2016

This course is really great for beginners. Experienced web developers will find this course useful too. This course teaches how to write code in such a way that as many people can see our website including people having disabilities ( Special people!).

por Mohammad M

Jan 19, 2020

The course "Introduction to HTML5" was absolutely productive. It covered all the components of a productive course. I recommend this course for those who want to develop web page.

Thanks to course educator, team of University of Michigan and Coursera.

por Valerie B

Oct 08, 2015

This was my first experience with HTML5. I enjoyed and learned so much from this course. Dr. Colleen van Lent is very informative and provided excellent video lectures and valuable assignments. I'm looking forward to finding more courses from her.

por Brandon B

Jun 29, 2019

This course is simple and definitely worth taking if you are just starting to learn web design and coding. It will give you a basic understanding of HTML that you can expand on your own during and after the course. This is worth your time and money.

por Saheed S

Jan 25, 2017

Good course to take. At least I can now continue practicing from the project I passed. It's highly recommended course to take because I had no experience in creating a website before and now I can start experimenting with those tags. Thanks Colleen

por ANIRUDH J

Jul 30, 2018

This has been an absolutely fantastic course especially due to our instructor Colleen van Lent.I am very grateful to you mam for this course and i am , now, very eager to move ahead in the specialization.With a deep sense of gratitude, THANK YOU!!

por Resnick J F H

Nov 11, 2016

I loved this course. It is so very well-explained and easy to follow. It's the perfect start for absolute beginners. The instructor tends to be humorous and that relieves stress at the moment of learning. Also, the material provided is very good.

por Chelsea C

Nov 07, 2019

Great beginner course to HTML5 - Im a graphic designer but was never taught basic HTML in school and took this class to expand my knowledge in the design field. This course really explains everything in a way anyone would be able to understand.

por Víctor M R

Sep 14, 2017

Very easy to learn, clear explanations, good examples ... great in general. Excellent for those who wants to start learning html from zero, but useful for those who, having low or average skills, want to consolidate their theoretical knowledge.

por Beatriz M F d R

May 22, 2017

Colleen is a great teacher. I have tried learning HTML by many different means but this course approach made me really understand what was going on when I was writing and using the tags and elements of HTML. Thanks for the opportunity teacher!

por Georgie G

Oct 17, 2015

Professor is tremendously funny and personable. Course stays up-to-date and videos are paced very well with a generous amount of information. Not boring or monotonous. Recommend to anyone deeply interested about foundation and beginners alike!

por Manem Y

Feb 08, 2020

this course is different from all other HTML courses , this course not only teaches you the html elements and tags but also gives little bit knowledge about servers and all ,that's really important for a web developer . Thank you so much :-)

por Cedric W

Nov 02, 2017

excellent course. Although i currently work in the technical industry as a technical analyst in telehealth, i am new to coding. I thoroughly enjoyed this class and look forward to enhancing my skills in the next course in this series, CSS...

por Deleted A

Jun 29, 2019

I have never ever learned or tried to understand what HTML was. But in just one week, I have been able to not just learn, but enjoy the process of learning and creating content to put online. Very friendly taught, step by step. Thank you :)

por Kyle W

Oct 03, 2016

I really enjoyed this course, it was very informative. My only complaint is that on quiz questions that included example code, sometimes the ends of lines were cut off. I had to copy and paste them into an editor to read the entire thing.

por Christopher S

Jan 06, 2016

A very simple, but effective intro to HTML. Looking forward to CSS3!! Take the time to read the optional chapters in the free book PDF as some of the questions in the assignments are not mentioned in lectures, but are explained in the book.

por Visnu P K

May 24, 2017

Course content good. Approach and presentation of topic was simple and elegant. Videos, books and references, and the discussion forum made the study interesting. Thanks to Dr. Colleen van Lent for their valuable contribution and guidance.

por Fernando S V

Dec 09, 2015

I strongly recommend this course due if you want to start from zero in HTML5 world. Lectures are easy to understand and the teacher is very clear. Besides it is feasible to achieve if you have not previous knowledge about any kind of code.

por ahmed h

Sep 29, 2015

Great Instructor/Course from great University as great as the rest of Michigan university courses. Well respected Universities in addition to Duke, San Diego and Virginia Compared to the very short courses from other reputable Universities

por Kathie J H

May 28, 2017

This is an excellent course, but it's not easy. I had to study and do the work to get through it. Professor van Lent explains the coding and importance of code validation. Watch the videos and review them when writing required HTML5 code.

por Robert S

Nov 06, 2017

This is a really good introduction class. I learned enough to get started, where to find other resources, and the assignments are manageable and meaningful. This course provides guidance to get started and the resources to keep learning.

por Pam W

Dec 30, 2015

The course was a very good introduction to web programming. While I have dabbled with html in the past, I didn't know anything about semantics, which this course emphasizes. Great course. I'll be starting the CSS course soon. Thanks!

por Daphne Y H F

Jul 12, 2019

I love Colleen the lecturer of this class! I'm not a complete novice to HTML to be honest, but I still find this course very helpful as it is very well-paced and it points out a lot of aspects that really solve my real-life questions.