Chevron Left
Volver a The Brain and Space

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a The Brain and Space por parte de Universidad Duke

4.7
estrellas
518 calificaciones
144 reseña

Acerca del Curso

This course is about how the brain creates our sense of spatial location from a variety of sensory and motor sources, and how this spatial sense in turn shapes our cognitive abilities. Knowing where things are is effortless. But “under the hood,” your brain must figure out even the simplest of details about the world around you and your position in it. Recognizing your mother, finding your phone, going to the grocery store, playing the banjo – these require careful sleuthing and coordination across different sensory and motor domains. This course traces the brain’s detective work to create this sense of space and argues that the brain’s spatial focus permeates our cognitive abilities, affecting the way we think and remember. The material in this course is based on a book I've written for a general audience. The book is called "Making Space: How the Brain Knows Where Things Are", and is available from Amazon, Barnes and Noble, or directly from Harvard University Press. The course material overlaps with classes on perception or systems neuroscience, and can be taken either before or after such classes. Dr. Jennifer M. Groh, Ph.D. Professor Psychology & Neuroscience; Neurobiology Duke University www.duke.edu/~jmgroh Jennifer M. Groh is interested in how the brain process spatial information in different sensory systems, and how the brain's spatial codes influence other aspects of cognition. She is the author of a recent book entitled "Making Space: How the Brain Knows Where Things Are" (Harvard University Press, fall 2014). Much of her research concerns differences in how the visual and auditory systems encode location, and how vision influences hearing. Her laboratory has demonstrated that neurons in auditory brain regions are sometimes responsive not just to what we hear but also to what direction we are looking and what visual stimuli we can see. These surprising findings challenge the prevailing assumption that the brain’s sensory pathways remain separate and distinct from each other at early stages, and suggest a mechanism for such multi-sensory interactions as lip-reading and ventriloquism (the capture of perceived sound location by a plausible nearby visual stimulus). Dr. Groh has been a professor at Duke University since 2006. She received her undergraduate degree in biology from Princeton University in 1988 before studying neuroscience at the University of Michigan (Master’s, 1990), the University of Pennsylvania (Ph.D., 1993), and Stanford University (postdoctoral, 1994-1997). Dr. Groh has been teaching undergraduate classes on the neural basis of perception and memory for over fifteen years. She is presently a faculty member at the Center for Cognitive Neuroscience and the Duke Institute for Brain Sciences at Duke University. She also holds appointments in the Departments of Neurobiology and Psychology & Neuroscience at Duke. Dr. Groh’s research has been supported by a variety of sources including the John S. Guggenheim Foundation, the National Institutes of Health, the National Science Foundation, and the Office of Naval Research Young Investigator Program, the McKnight Endowment Fund for Neuroscience, the John Merck Scholars Program, the EJLB Foundation, the Alfred P. Sloan Foundation, the Whitehall Foundation, and the National Organization for Hearing Research....

Principales reseñas

TB
8 de sep. de 2020

I like the details that this course provides about the functionality of the brain. Dr Groh definitely took her time to prepare this course, and she likes to go in depth detail about everything.

TZ
15 de ago. de 2020

One of the best Neuroscience courses took in my life. The professor is very good at teaching and amazing personality and her research team is very great. Hope one day she would win Nobel Prize

Filtrar por:

1 - 25 de 143 revisiones para The Brain and Space

por kiruthicka s

12 de ago. de 2016

Taught for beginners in a simple and concise way! I especially liked the real life examples given to help students understand the concepts being explained - made it a lot more engaging!

por Jeff B

8 de jun. de 2016

This is an excellent MOOC. I am a PhD candidate studying human intelligence and spatial cognition specifically associated with problem solving. The content is very well structured and clearly communicated through the lectures. Having been briefly introduced to some of the concepts in my own studies prior to this course I am finding the difficulty level to be quite nice (challenging yet very manageable). The inclusion of various experiments throughout the course is a good idea as it makes it all very interesting.

por Rodrigo F G

17 de jun. de 2017

Great course !!! The information provided within the course was complete and easy to understand without oversimplifying the topics along with applicable to daily use concepts and work.

por Lavanith T

23 de ago. de 2020

One of the excellent course I've taken ob coursera. Dr. Jennifer's explanation helped me to get a whole new level of view in understanding brain and its activities in space.

por Naokichi D

3 de ene. de 2018

Brilliant! I'm taking this while reading Steven Pinker's 'How The Mind Works' and all the overlap makes the learning experience even more fun.

por Robert T

15 de mar. de 2017

Loved it. I took another class from Duke related to visual perception and was equally satisfied with the detail, and pace, of the course.

por Deleted A

30 de mar. de 2021

Terrible too much information before a quiz and lack of clarity to make assumptions. TERRRIBLE course. HOW do I unenroll!

por Aedrian A

31 de ene. de 2021

This is an interesting and excellent course on how our nervous system (not just our brain) makes sense of, processes and responds to the external physical space. There is a great and gradual mix of easy, moderate and challenging topics which can cement key concepts (especially those that you can observe or replicate on your own) quite well. For people in or aiming to be in the (allied) medical professions, a lot of the material here can serve as a review in basic neuroanatomy, neurophysiology and/or neuropathology.

A double-edged sword in this offering is the inclusion and description of landmark studies behind the discussed concepts. There is no doubt that by mentioning these studies, the collaborative and building-up nature of (neuro)science is emphasized adequately - that everything in academic textbooks and in this course did not appear in scientists' minds out of thin air. The downside, on the other hand, is that it sometimes left me wondering the proportion of these findings that are definitive or tentative. Considering the issue of replication that hounds all of empirical science research, it would be nice, I think, that future revisions of this course will incorporate statements or discussions on these matters (i.e, whether the findings are robust, or can be explained by other factors/forces beyond chance).

While I would argue that a baseline grasp of neurobiology is needed to maximize understanding of the content (especially when it comes to nuanced details which are often tackled in the quizzes), I will still highly recommend this course to everyone deeply beguiled by the topic (and can commit their attention beyond casual learning). Perhaps, those who have access the Dr. Groh's book serving as the main reference for this course might find their learning experience enhanced.

por Parul M

25 de ene. de 2020

This is pretty fun and interesting course! The video lectures are full of very interesting information and if you are interested in learning how the brain works, I am sure you'll be hooked on to it. The exercises sometimes need you to remember concepts, particularly names and I am not a big fan of that. I feel the exercises can be made more interesting and engaging. Dr. Groh regularly links to books and papers to explore more if you want to!

por Lee S

28 de ene. de 2021

Jennifer's teaching style is refreshingly direct and well illustrated. I learned a lot and confirmed my understanding of many things.

The course also resonates with a cognitive system development platform I have developed, called NeurOS. See www.cognitivity.technology for an overview. As a result of this course, I plan to build some "neural circuits" using this platform that reflect the many neural processes illustrated in this course.

por Lynn S

16 de ene. de 2021

Dr Groh was so inspiring, passionate, clear and precise. She exhibited complete mastery of teaching the course, it was like watching an artist unraveling their craft, no wonder so many artistic pieces were used as examples in the lectures! I enjoyed this very rich and interesting course as a psychomotor therapist and a neurosciences lover, it will definitely help me in my career. The course was so enjoyable that I was sad it ended.

por D.

7 de abr. de 2017

Really a well thought out course and expertly delivered! I've never had such well explained lectures, using simple terms to explain complex subjects. Our professor is a master at education as well as her subject expertise. This is a great course, a little kooky at times, but just the right amount of kooky to make it more interesting and fun. Thanks for the obvious hard work in producing the course and time expended making it!

por Dimitrios S

27 de sep. de 2017

I would put this course on the list of my top 5 courses taken in Coursera. Great teacher and great videos with the learning material. I would recommend this course to anyone interested in getting a first insight of the inner workings of the brain in terms of vision and the space perception. Thank you Dr. Jennifer M. Groh and thanks to the Duke University staff for the amazing neuroscience courses they are providing!

por Ken W

24 de nov. de 2019

Very well presented. Dr Groh is passionate in this space and easy to listen to and lean from. I work a lot with patients who have movement disorders and with other brain lesions, so this course has been very helpful for us in justifying our novel approaches to improving functionality. I have also been concerned of the effects of chronic use of IPods/Headphones on sensory integration of non auditory informations

por Alan M

26 de mar. de 2017

Fascinating insights on how one's brain orients itself in space via the senses. The lectures are loaded with useful examples, relevant research, and helpful visual aids. The class stirred in me more of an appreciation for the interrelatedness of each of the senses with each other and with memory. Dr. Groh sheds light on several of the brain's strategies for efficiently intrpreting of a complex environment.

por evren y

20 de feb. de 2021

This course was a good start for beginners in neuroscience and spatial cognition at a finer scale.I expanded my knowledge on how we see, hear, and think spatially from high school level to one step further. I appreciate Dr. Groh's effort to make the classes enjoyable. She provided many interesting papers to review on our own and the lectures were usually interesting and fun to watch.

por Daviid K

19 de jul. de 2016

Awesome course. Dr Jennifer Groh uses a wonderful methodology along the modules overlaying clear language, really funny moments, examples in drawings, laboratory and exterior experiments all of them helping to reveal for us the fascinating theme of Brain and Space. Thank you very much for this opportunity.

por Noemie P

13 de ago. de 2020

Great course. I loved Dr Groh and how simple she made it all feel (believe me, I followed an introduction to neuroscience class at university, and I understood things during this course that I had had difficulties with). I recommend this course to anyone who wishes to know more about how we perceive space!

por lucas b d a

28 de ene. de 2021

This is exactly the type of learning I was looking for in order to better understand our brain and how it perceives location and language acquisition. The instructor has a passion for sharing her knowledge as well as comes up with many visual examples to facilitate the concepts. I highly recommend it!

por Nuwar H

7 de feb. de 2021

The course is really interesting and enjoyable. I loved the examples from the daily life. Dr. Groth is really talented in explaining complex information. My favorite thing was the eye movement hat :) i recommend this course for everybody, even for people with no previous knowledge of neuroscience.

por Paul N J

14 de feb. de 2021

A big thanks to this course, I acquired a vast knowledge on how the nervous system sense everything that there is to sense in the physical space, along with its processes and response. I found the course quite challenging but dedication is the key to both enjoy and finish all the given lessons.

por cuguilke

15 de abr. de 2020

A very insightful class. Prof. Gruh has first hand experience (published papers) on the most topics.

A lot of experiments and their paper references are given to show how the neuroscience knowledge has accumulated.

Pretty good. Prettaaaay prettaaaay prettaaaay pretty good.

por Erik B

24 de jul. de 2019

I enjoyed this class. It presents a nice simple high level overview of how the brain perceives space, which is what I was looking for. After taking this class you'll have a mental "framework" which you can fill in with more detail through additional self guided studying.

por Rahul M

4 de mar. de 2018

I love courses where the instructor treats you like a smart learner instead of talking down to you, and takes you to the extent of work in the field instead of "making it easy". This course achieved its intended objective very well. Loved the course and the instructor.

por Simonov O

28 de may. de 2017

An excellent course that helps to better understand the complex functions of the brain. It covers some areas which were not discussed in the Medical Neuroscience Course by Duke University. Unfortunately, this course ended very quickly. I would like to learn more.