Chevron Left
Volver a The Arts and Science of Relationships: Understanding Human Needs

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a The Arts and Science of Relationships: Understanding Human Needs por parte de Universidad de Toronto

4.5
estrellas
916 calificaciones
274 reseña

Acerca del Curso

This course provides an introduction to: 1. Basic concepts of The Strategies and Skills Learning and Development System (SSLD), their relevance for every day relationships and provide advanced concepts for participants who work in fields of social work and health care . 2. Basic practice principles and methods of SSLD, illustrated by relationship management case studies. 3. The SSLD framework for relationship management assessment; N3C (needs, circumstances, characteristics, capacity) and problem translation. 4. Core competencies in the relationship management application of the SSLD system: Observation learning, simulation, real life implementation, review and monitoring....

Principales reseñas

M

Apr 24, 2020

Really fun and felt like I learned a lot about myself. If you are looking for insight on your relationships whether it is your significant other, best friend, or family than this class is for you!!!!

JK

May 08, 2020

This course manages to be information-packed and interesting at the same time. Professor Tsang and his team engages the leaner in a conversation-like format in each lecture that is just the lenght!

Filtrar por:

201 - 225 de 275 revisiones para The Arts and Science of Relationships: Understanding Human Needs

por Vasanthi V

Jun 30, 2020

Thanks a lot!

por Vivian L

Apr 07, 2017

Great course!

por Ninette P M

Jun 11, 2020

Thank you :)

por Sophia D

May 25, 2020

Great course

por Samir B

Apr 29, 2020

nice course

por Pankaj B

Jul 06, 2020

Excellent.

por Ronilson M N

Jun 26, 2020

Excelent!

por Phương S

Jun 06, 2020

VERY GOOD

por José J M

May 14, 2020

excelente

por Francisco C

Apr 01, 2020

Muy bueno

por Chayasorn​ R

May 01, 2020

🙏♥️🥰

por Naufal A

Apr 25, 2020

Good..

por Amr M

Jan 25, 2020

Great!

por Aysun S

Jul 06, 2020

Great

por Chew Y C

May 26, 2020

good

por Tanishq B

Jul 11, 2020

i

por Almyn C A

Aug 29, 2020

I am a college student who took this course mainly for self-development. I planned on rating this course 5 stars, however due to the abundance of areas of improvement I have found, I downgraded my score to 4 instead.

Firstly, I learned so much from this course that I was able to apply to my life fairly easily. The SSLD framework is simple yet very useful. This course gave me a new perspective on topics concerning interpersonal relationships such as dealing with relationship problems, growth, transformation and termination, intimacy and sex, and affairs. Dr. Tsang offered great wisdom he attained through decades of experience and research. I had fun reading through the additional materials they included at the end of or in between videos as well. If you enjoy cultural diversity, then you will find more reasons to like this course. The specialized lessons are presented by Ph. D. and Masters students from all over the world.

Next, I believe that the format of the videos could've used a bit of tweaking. This course consists mainly of videos of discussions between the course tutors and Dr. Tsang, although the some videos in the first week only had Dr. Tsang in them.

In addition, it was a bit discouraging at first when I discovered the great number of videos they have for each week. I was even more baffled when I observed that several of the videos were 3 minutes or less. Considering that most of videos feature conversations between two people, cutting them into segments of 200 seconds in length simply disrupted the flow of ideas. Sometimes, they take one topic, for example, the six domains of transformation, and cut it into 4 videos each less than 4 minutes each. If they spliced together the four videos into one that is 12 minutes long, it would have made the discussion more organic and would have been better in facilitating understanding.

One time, Dr. Tsang referenced something he said at the start of their conversation, and since I forgot about it, I had to back-track and skim through the previous videos just to understand what it was that he said. I think that a reason they split some topics into multiple videos, although they were part of the same conversation, may be because they had to cut a part of the conversation and didn't want to make it obvious. Honestly, a quick transition effect could've done the job. Videos in other courses do it all the time. Even if the lighting or the camera angle had changed and it was obvious that some parts of the video were shot at a different time or day, my overall comprehension of the topic was not affected at all. The concepts were easier to relate and chunk since they were just in one video.

One way they tried to remedy this gap brought about by the splitting of the topic into multiple videos was to insert a summary a the end of a video series. Unfortunately, even those felt awkward and out-of-place. One person off-camera would reiterate some of the important points, but sometimes he would fail to include all of the content of the discussion or would add another point from who knows where.

Another issue I discovered was the pacing of the lessons. This, again, is brought about by the chosen format for this course. When introducing topics and concepts, using a powerpoint presentation and adding a voice-over would have been much faster and more effective than a discussion between two people in the screen. They only got into the more interesting topics at the very last week, and even then, I felt that the discussions could've gone on for longer. By presenting the important concepts more efficiently, then more discussions on the application of the SSLD framework could have happened.

While discussion videos are the bulk of the videos (in terms of amount), they include a specialized lesson in some modules. The specialized lessons are prezi presentations with voice-overs and are about as long as the one whole lesson (around 8 normal videos). Some are just redundant and not necessarily related to the topic of that week's module. Since they are optional (I think), I suggest skipping them althogether or just read the trascript.

Those presented above are the major issues and the next few are only minor. I do not know who encodes the transciptions but the transciptions need a bit of work. I have transcribed lectures in law school as a side job before, and the work I see in this course is shoddy. The following comments do not apply to the transcriptions in all of the videos. I only noticed these because I prefer to take notes using the "save note" feature. The first is the awkward cutting in the middle of sentences. Sadly, the "save note" function does not work if the chunk of text you want to save are separated by a time-marker. It does not make sense to separate a topic, much less a sentence, using a time-marker. The second is that some words were probably mis-heard. Because a lot of the speakers in this course are from different parts of the world, thus have heavily- accented English, some words in the transcription are wrong. I see how they might have mis-heard some words, but there are times when I do not know whether the transcriptors are actually listening or not. As an example, in a specialized lesson video on gay Filipinos in Canada, instead of writing LGBTQ, the transcription has LGB"D"Q. I mean, really? My final issue on transcriptions is about completeness. I mentioned beforehand that some videos have an additional snippet at the end summarizing the topic however, the transcriptions do not include this segment.

Choosing to teach a lesson through a video of a discussion between two people has its strengths and weaknesses, Unfortunately the makers of this course exposed more weaknesses than showed off the strengths. However, I know that there are people who do not care for the things I mentioned above and by all means, I sincerely hope that you enjoy it as much as I did.

TLDR; Content-wise, very rich. I think everyone can take away at least one thing from this course. However, it is not the most professional-looking of all the courses. Main issues are about the presentation of the content.

por AAKhan

Apr 26, 2020

This course does address the science of relationships but the examples and scenarios are more oriented towards couples. And i thin because the SSLD concept is based on and has been developed for couples therapy. I would have liked relationships in general. There are so many other ones that exist other than your partner. They too need to be understood. I think a little less of SSLD would have made this possible.

The additional reading material was almost all paid material and very expensive at that. instead of constantly promoting his book the Professor could have attached relevant excerpts so that one could still read sections that were applicable.

por chin w a

Sep 01, 2020

Me core take-home is managing Needs. My own needs, the needs of others, the needs of society, the expected needs to be met. And how to handle differences & diversities, the various transformation stages of relationships. People don't stay the same forever, how to deal with changing needs & work on improving relationships, intimate and plutonic alike.

por Ana P M

May 11, 2020

The course was very good, never the less i think is focus mainly in partner relationships and covers poorly the part of mother-son, sisters, filial relationships. I think it would help a lot to include more information related to those type or relationship. However the N3C can apply to any kind.

thank you, it help me a lot.

por Barkat A B

May 04, 2020

This course is very helpful for people who are already in a relationship or going to be be in a relationship in near future. This course explores you so as well so many other dimensions of dealing with someone else and what kind of expectation one can have from you, and how important it is giving space to other people.

por Goh T Y

May 21, 2020

The course is easy to follow, and I understood how I can apply the course content in daily life. It would be good for it to be more in-depth perhaps, with sharing of more research and psychological concepts. Other than that, I think it is a relevant and easily applied course!

por Sindia b

Jul 11, 2020

This course in very insightful and welcomes you to look internally and understand your needs, and provides effective strategies for dealing with others. Its a long course, but really valuable and provides a framework that will help me moving forward. Highly recommend!

por Rohit R

Jan 01, 2018

Loved it. More art/philosophy than science, but still great work! Very analytical guy the professor is. Don't remember him ever taking a moral stance, he simply states what people tend to do, and dissects their behaviors as a consequence of interpersonal conflicts.

por Anthony R

Jun 13, 2020

This is a great course! I thought the 1st module was too slow & too abstract, but from the 2nd module onward it was a series of mind-opening revelations on how to have healthy relationships. There are a bit too many quizzes, most of them being opinion questions.