Chevron Left
Volver a Public Health in Humanitarian Crises

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Public Health in Humanitarian Crises por parte de Universidad Johns Hopkins

4.8
237 calificaciones
68 revisiones

Acerca del Curso

This course introduces a set of public health problems experienced by people affected by natural disasters and/or conflict. It discusses the many changes in people’s lives when they are uprooted by a disaster, ranging from changes in disease patterns, access to health care, livelihoods, shelter, sanitary conditions, nutritional status, etc. We will explore what humanitarian interventions could look like if we want to mitigate the effects of disasters. The course content is a mix of theoretical knowledge and many practical examples from recent disasters. We think this course is unique because it contains so many practical ‘real-life’ examples and is taught be instructors and guest lecturers who together have over 200 years of experience in this field. The course consists of 10 modules totaling approximately 9-10 hours of delivered content with an additional 2-3 hours of self-work (quizzes and writing and evaluating a short peer-review assignment) as well as lively discussions forums. The course has been designed in a way that each module builds on the lessons of previous modules. However, modules can be accessed in any order and some can stand alone. You do not have to pay for this course if you choose to enroll without a certificate. Sometimes referred to as auditing, enrolling without a certificate means that you will have access to all of the videos, quizzes, assignments, and discussions. The only difference is that you will not receive a certificate upon completion. Click the Enroll Without A Certificate link to sign up and begin the course. Even if you enroll in a session that has yet to begin, you may access most of the course materials right away by clicking the Preview Course Materials link. However, you will have to wait for the session to begin before posting on the discussion forum or accessing the final peer-reviewed assessment. Visit the Learner Help Center for details about session schedules....

Principales revisiones

JM

Jun 21, 2018

Very valuable course for people new to health, but not new to humanitarian work. Highly recommended for those interested in learning more about public health in humanitarian crises!

AB

Mar 28, 2018

this course was exceptional, well prepared, every module have clear and achievable objective, the presentation was excellence according to quality of the video and the content

Filtrar por:

1 - 25 de 67 revisiones para Public Health in Humanitarian Crises

por Morteza

May 11, 2019

The course opened my eye to see heath is not only treat a patient but also consider people.

por Billy F G

Jan 18, 2019

this is a brilliant course so reach in its content

por brian n

Jan 18, 2019

Very good Caurse

por Chinedu O

Feb 11, 2019

It was detailed but not too difficult to follow. It gets you thinking about the issues that we face presently in the world and shows you was to apply your classroom learning to real life situations. I am glad I took the course.

por Nefti-Eboni B

Feb 26, 2019

Great course, really helped me learn a lot about public health in the humanitarian context

por ALI A A

Mar 15, 2019

Very useful and informative course, with highly experienced trainers and interesting educational style

por Josue D S C

Dec 04, 2018

excellent

por VIVEK K

Apr 05, 2019

Thank you for wonderful course on public health aspects in times of humanitarian crisis. It helped me to think outside the box and read more to understand the issues.

por Lujain B

Jan 26, 2019

Well informative and very enjoyable!

por Neeraj B

Apr 02, 2018

An excellent introduction to the issues and challenges relating to Public Health in Humanitarian Crises. Taught in a systematic manner.

por Chris J

Nov 13, 2017

Found this course to be both thought provoking and challenging. Valued the depth of the content presented and the opportunity to explore the interaction of many factors that impact health during and post disasters.

por Abu S M S

Nov 11, 2017

To me the course has designed in such a way that it is suitable for any person to get a basic understanding on the complexity to respond a humanitarian crisis. Professor Gilbert, Professor Spiegel, Professor Ververs, Professor Robert and Ms Jana Mason have made the course interesting, entertaining and they have engaged me with practical experiences which helped me to understand or conceptualize the complex issues around Humanitarian Crisis. I am glad that I have got the opportunity to go through the course and I feel I have had a solid foundation on the basic problems during humanitarian crisis and how I can put myself

por Julie M

Jun 21, 2018

Very valuable course for people new to health, but not new to humanitarian work. Highly recommended for those interested in learning more about public health in humanitarian crises!

por Woody M C

Apr 02, 2018

An excellent course to help one to understand and address public health issues in humanitarian crises.

por Chioma M O

May 17, 2018

Informative, insightful and useful for those involved in public health assistance in fragile environments.

por Paul S

Jun 29, 2017

I'm impressed, but I'm biased!

por Ayoub A

May 11, 2018

Good course, I liked the smooth division of the topics and the lectures simple and comprehensive way in tackling different public health matters, giving related examples from ongoing crisis and lesson learned from past crises.

por Abdifatah B

Mar 28, 2018

this course was exceptional, well prepared, every module have clear and achievable objective, the presentation was excellence according to quality of the video and the content

por Besong E O C

Aug 11, 2017

Rewarding

por Coulibaly Z

Aug 21, 2017

Great course on Humanitarian Health, congratulations.

por SHRIPAD

Nov 13, 2017

Excellent course. Very comprehensive, provides all aspects.

por KABERA R

Dec 22, 2017

As a humanitarian clinician ,learning some public health aspects is worthy and has helped me to understand so many issues related to my current work in the field.

Eg: The clinical care is for individual or person interests and the public heath approach is for the population interest in general.

por Anna R

Jan 03, 2018

Very interesting

por Jolanta G

Aug 08, 2017

This is one of the wonderful courses, which explains a lot of unanswered questions . I would highly recommend to everyone who dreams about the peace in the world...

por Md. Z R

May 04, 2018

Excellent.