Chevron Left
Volver a Public Health in Humanitarian Crises 1

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Public Health in Humanitarian Crises 1 por parte de Universidad Johns Hopkins

4.8
estrellas
339 calificaciones
95 revisiones

Acerca del Curso

This course, Public Health in Humanitarian Crises 1, introduces discussions about the public health approach to problems experienced by people affected by disasters, both natural and related to conflict. The course discusses the many changes which occur in people’s lives when they are uprooted by a disaster, ranging from changes in disease patterns, access to health care, livelihoods, shelter, sanitary conditions, nutritional status, etceteras. We will explore what humanitarian interventions could look like if we want to mitigate the effects of disasters. The course content is a mix of theoretical knowledge and many practical examples from recent disasters. We think this course is unique because it contains so many practical ‘real-life’ examples and is taught by instructors and guest lecturers who together have over 200 years of experience in this field. The course consists of 10 modules totaling approximately 9-10 hours of delivered content with an additional 2-3 hours of self-work (quizzes and writing and evaluating a short peer-review assignment) as well as lively discussions forums. The course has been designed in a way that each module builds on the lessons of previous modules. However, you may do the modules in any order and some can be done separately. You do not have to pay for this course if you choose to enroll without a certificate. Sometimes referred to as auditing, enrolling without a certificate means that you will have access to all of the videos, quizzes, assignments, and discussions. The only difference is that you will not receive a certificate upon completion. Click the Enroll Without a Certificate link to sign up and begin the course. Even if you enroll in a session that has yet to begin, you may access most of the course materials right away by clicking the Preview Course Materials link. However, you will have to wait for the session to begin before posting your comments on the discussion forum or accessing the final peer-reviewed assessment. Visit the Learner Help Center for details about session schedules. If you want to learn more, there is a second course which follows this one entitled, Public Health in Humanitarian Crises 2. We welcome you to take this. The course has a similar set-up and discusses additional topics, such as infectious disease outbreaks, disease epidemiology, maternal and newborn health, mental health, humanitarian project design, humanitarian principles, and many other topics....

Principales revisiones

AM

Feb 06, 2020

It was a totally new domain for me to learn, Very informative and very very well articulated. Even a person like me who knew almost nothing about it, is now interested in working in it. Thanks a lot.

AO

Apr 28, 2020

I have earned very good and valuable knowledge that refresh and improved my career level one step forward,\n\nthank you very much for every single one how worked hard to produce this great course.

Filtrar por:

26 - 50 de 94 revisiones para Public Health in Humanitarian Crises 1

por Luziane D S G

Apr 15, 2020

I learned patience, discipline, willpower, focus on, determination.

I will continue and trying even more grateful will help me a lot for the opportunity of heart.

thanks

por VIVEK K

Apr 05, 2019

Thank you for wonderful course on public health aspects in times of humanitarian crisis. It helped me to think outside the box and read more to understand the issues.

por Kyle M

Mar 10, 2018

I think this is the perfect springboard for entry level humanitarian professionals who considering a career in humanitarian aid, and global and public health

por Deleted A

Aug 23, 2018

I have enjoyed the course bery much. The methodology is clear, interactive. I have learned a lot of new information, usefull for my job! Super!

por Joanna K

Jan 10, 2018

Good basic overview of Public Health in Humanitarian Crises- giving a comprehensive overview. I found it a useful and interesting course.

por Neeraj B

Apr 02, 2018

An excellent introduction to the issues and challenges relating to Public Health in Humanitarian Crises. Taught in a systematic manner.

por annet g

Jun 03, 2020

Excellent overview of all public health factors in humanitarian crises, great basis for further study. Teachers were very engaging.

por Sarah T U

Nov 19, 2019

it is a great course to prepare you to be in contact with humanitarian crisis!. I'm definetly taking the second module as well.

por Alaa a

Apr 03, 2020

great course ! i wished if there was a way to ask questions or if there was some more examples of humanitarian interventions .

por Paula H F

Jun 16, 2020

Excellent thematic content, excellent teachers. I learned a lot from this course. It is a good starting tool in public health

por Hunduma K

Aug 12, 2019

i am very happy to take this course as it helped me to know more about public health problems in humanitarian crises.

por Mary D

Jun 10, 2020

This is a difficult class but it's incredibly informative and provides so much room to understand the topic fully.

por Aijaz P

May 14, 2019

EXCELLENT COURSE. Well organized. Knowledge delivered in understandable manner. Lot new dimensions were discovered

por Ayobami O

May 26, 2019

Highly educative and quite engaging course. I am satisfied with what I learnt on health in disaster settings.

por Chioma M O

May 17, 2018

Informative, insightful and useful for those involved in public health assistance in fragile environments.

por Ichegbo, N K

Mar 24, 2020

This course was so much fun, the teachers kept me engaged in all the videos. Very interesting I must say

por ALI A A

Mar 15, 2019

Very useful and informative course, with highly experienced trainers and interesting educational style

por Woody M C

Apr 02, 2018

An excellent course to help one to understand and address public health issues in humanitarian crises.

por Gursevak K

Dec 15, 2017

This course should be a part of every environmental engineering and environmental health program

por Nefti-Eboni B

Feb 26, 2019

Great course, really helped me learn a lot about public health in the humanitarian context

por Adeola J

Jan 08, 2020

Excellent beginners approach to complex humanitarian emergencies. Thanks a lot!!!

por Ahmed G A

Jul 09, 2019

Learnt so much information that i am sure will support me and my career also.

por Matteo c

Jan 23, 2020

I found this course well done , I am satisfied with all my expectations

por Célio N

Sep 03, 2017

Amazing Course. With this tool I will be able to do a better job!

por BINTU M M O

Aug 27, 2018

C'est une base solide pour ma carrière dans le monde humanitaire