Chevron Left
Volver a Introduction to Imagemaking

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Introduction to Imagemaking por parte de Instituto de Artes de California

4.5
1,434 calificaciones
289 revisiones

Acerca del Curso

This course for serious makers, and for students new to imagemaking. Imagemaking is a fluid and exciting area of graphic design that comes out of practice and process: experimenting fearlessly, showing and sharing ideas, and giving and receiving knowledgeable and constructive input. For the sake of this online platform, we have applied some structure to our investigations, but for the most part imagemaking is loose and unstructured. If we must adopt a rule in this course it is only this: you will not become a graphic designer by watching videos alone. Or, don't just make stuff just in your head. So here, the focus here is on making, and you are expected to devote serious time and intellectual energy to that activity in this course. Specifically, you will: - experiment with a range of materials and techniques to make images for graphic design - expand your visual vocabulary both in terms of making and talking about work, in order to discuss your work and work of others - learn how to make, manipulate and arrange images to create compositions, eventually culminating in the design and production of an-image-based book. The first half of the course is an opportunity to experiment and explore imagemaking in order to expand your visual vocabulary. You will create pieces that are expressive, meditative, or 'design-y' to instigate, evoke, experiment, record, explain, or try out a media. In the second two weeks, we’ll invite the images to deliberately and intentionally carry meaning and communication through relational moves like juxtaposition, composition, and context. We’ll look at developing and expanding the range of approaches for putting things together by composing page spreads with your images. Since nothing exists without context, we look at how to intentionally drive the image’s connotations, meanings, and associations generated through elements of composition and “visual contrasts.” Ultimately, we will take the images that you create and make a book from them. The results of your assignments (and experiments) may generate something completely unknowable now or in the future—and that's the goal....

Principales revisiones

ID

May 22, 2019

Very useful course. Really puts you to practice. I learned a lot and feel encouraged to continue. Reviewing other peer's work was inspiring and gave me fresh ideas about what I could have done better.

LC

Oct 09, 2017

I'm so happy i did this course. Gail, you're amazing and you made my imagination go wild with just your words. I can see you love your craft and that's very inspiring. Enjoyed this course all the way!

Filtrar por:

201 - 225 de 285 revisiones para Introduction to Imagemaking

por E. C C

Jan 29, 2017

Nice class introducing the ideas of scale, composition and use of white/negative space. A must for people who always want to fill the page. Sometimes less is more.

por Kara K

May 11, 2016

If you enjoyed the first course in this specialization, you'll enjoy this course, as it's much of the same. The class is more of an independent studio session rather than an instructional course. If you're looking to work with a single visual subject for a few weeks (but lack the discipline or knowledge to do so on your own), this course will benefit you. If you're looking to save money, perhaps stick to just the first class in the specialization (or take this one if you're only interested in image-making).

por Karen

Sep 30, 2016

如果有真实的workshop,相信效果会更好,这样的教育形式将在中国有很大的发展。

por Kaiva J

Jun 05, 2016

Loved it. More non graded assignments would have been great.

por Teri L

Jul 09, 2018

Introduction to Imagemaking by the California Institute of Arts is an easy, accessible course online. Of course, it is a build-on to all the skills and vocabulary learnt from the last two courses. From this, the assignments are quite fair and understandable and are build-ups to eventually make a short pictorial narrative at the end.

por Samuele R

Sep 02, 2017

Quite engaging, I improved my knowledge of Illustrator thanks to the assignments, but I think a few lesson videos are too few/short, especially in the end.

por Lisa H

May 21, 2017

Nice, hands on course where you really get to the practical parts of design.

por Olli V

Feb 13, 2018

A well-structured and inspiring course that broadened my perspectives on imagemaking. Although it's clear that imagemaking is definitely an open-ended process, I felt there could've been more examples of digital imagemaking techniques and compositions to give a more comprehensive template for creative thought. Recommended!

por Nicole S

Jun 04, 2018

Very good course for the amount of time they spend with you.

por Melanie J

Jul 03, 2017

I found this course to be much more experimentation then anything else. I definitely learned some about composition, but I wish it would've been more focused on layout.

por Anastasia O

Jun 17, 2018

I learned a lot about imagemaking but I wasn't sure what the point was about making a book. It was fun but I felt "bookmaking" should be another class.

por Pilar F

Apr 08, 2018

ESTUVO SUPER BUENO. PARA MI SOLO FALTÓ QUE EXISTIERA UNA INSTANCIA DE EVALUACIÓN/COMENTARIOS POR PARTE DE LOS DOCENTES.

IT WAS GREAT. THE ONLY THING I MISSED WAS THE CHANCE TO BE EVALUATED OR TO RECEIVE COMMENTS BY THE TEACHERS.

por Jose M G E

Nov 22, 2017

I really like the course, I learn a lot of things

I think that some instructios for the assigments are not fully explained

and also I think the voice of the theacher in the videos is low monotonous

por Winnie W

Jul 14, 2017

More theory and example will give students more detail about image making. Not only a notion.

por Jai C

Jun 26, 2017

This course has really guided me through making my own images. I can now research any subject and abstract images from a lot of different techniques. It has also made me realize my strengths are the areas for improvement.

por eder a r c

Aug 27, 2018

Muy interesante

por Anca E

Oct 06, 2018

Course could do with a bit more content and putting some more theory behind the examples, explaining better different currents and schools of thought. It also had too much overlap with the first course in the specialization

por Passant M T

Oct 19, 2018

good course

por Maria T G

Nov 10, 2016

Challenging and great!

por MUSTAFA A

Apr 08, 2017

Thanks for this creative course that learned us different ways andaspects of image making.

por Paul M

May 09, 2016

I really enjoyed this course and it was one of the most helpful along with the Typography course, but it felt a little impersonal and short on information when I compare this one to the previous ones. I would love to look at more examples of imagemaking and uses of hierarchy.

por Beverley H

Oct 25, 2016

Really enjoyed the challenges it made me face with designing my own booklet.Has inspired me to do more.

por Leroy S

May 25, 2016

Gail Swanlund is awesome. Her voice is amazing and fun to listen to. She explains things in a very creative way. So far, this has been my favorite among the Graphic Design Specialization courses. Still have two more courses to go yet!

por Sue D

May 12, 2016

I love taking courses by the California Institute of the Arts. With that being said this course wasn't the best. It seemed there was not enough information provided. The assignments were too simple. It also seemed like this very material was covered in an earlier course. At least it was available for everyone, not just those that paid. The critiques are the most important part and it was still provided for this course. For that reason alone I raised my review from 2 stars to 4.

por Julia R

Jun 15, 2018

Great course if you want to practice image making!