Chevron Left
Volver a Fundamentals of Immunology: Innate Immunity and B-Cell Function

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Fundamentals of Immunology: Innate Immunity and B-Cell Function por parte de Universidad Rice

4.7
estrellas
221 calificaciones
46 revisiones

Acerca del Curso

Course 1 of a three course specialization called Fundamentals of Immunology. Each course in the specialization presents material that builds on the previous course's material. This is the first leg of a three-part journey through the defenses your body uses to keep you healthy. In this part we hope to give you the vocabulary and concepts you need to interact with the medical community and to provide them in a context that makes them memorable. Fundamentals of Immunology introduces students to the basic functions of the adaptive and innate immune systems. The early lectures survey cells, tissues and organs using metaphors, cartoons and models to improve understanding and retention. After describing the form, function, origin and varieties of antibodies, subsequent lectures provide details on the mechanism of the generation of variation. The course provides animations of gene rearrangement and class switching and descriptions of affinity maturation correlated with detailed physical models of antibody structure. The final lecture reviews these concepts in anatomical context. Testing employs multiple choice questions testing facts, concepts, and application of principles. Questions may refer to diagrams, drawing and photographs used in lecture and reproduced in the outline. What You’ll Learn: The difference between adaptive and innate immune systems, the characteristics of various pathogens that they protect you from and the overall strategies employed in this protection. The detailed structure of antibodies and related immunoglobulin receptors, the characteristics and function of the different antibody classes and the mechanism for producing both the recognition regions and stem regions.  Finally, how these structures are coded for in the DNA and expressed in the B cells....

Principales revisiones

AR

Aug 06, 2019

So far the lecturer has been very entertaining and interesting in her explanation of various concepts of immunology. I am excited to finish this course, which will be relevant to my future studies.

EJ

Feb 25, 2019

This was a great course. Immunology is my professional speciality and I still managed to learn new things. The lecturer is very knowledgeable and very engaging. All with all a great course.

Filtrar por:

1 - 25 de 46 revisiones para Fundamentals of Immunology: Innate Immunity and B-Cell Function

por Marvin B

Feb 11, 2019

The course has good depth and is well presented. If you plan to take this class for academic credit at your academic institution later, this online course should be very helpful. The handout materials need some work to be practical, but I learned a great amount of basic knowledge. If you already know anything about genetic sequencing, it would be helpful. It is the only part of the course I felt very uncomfortable with. I would recommend this course to anyone serious about learning the immune system from the foundation. It is not a course for the casual learner. You will have to repeat view some lectures and do some side internet searches to understand all that is needed to finish, but I think you will find it time well invested.

por Momchil N

Feb 06, 2019

The best course ever and the material provided during the course to illustrate the knowledge is amazing

por Akhil G

Mar 13, 2019

this course only contains only theory and theory no practical animation which makes very easier to understand... so this course is not at all helpful for me... :(

por Julie D

Oct 18, 2019

The professor is excellent. She is engaging, charismatic and fun. She presents very complex material in a digestible format and ties together why these cellular mechanisms are so vital to the real world. She is not focused on having studies memorize information, instead, she wants us to understand the concepts as evidenced by the critically-thought out quiz questions she presents. The tests are open book and allowable for 3 attempts but most importantly, the questions actually TEACH you if you take the time to read the right and wrong answers. If you do some digging as to why your answers are wrong you will truly learn. I wish that all instructors were as holistically-focused on conceptual learning as this Ms. Novotny. Five out of five stars!!! I've recommended her course to multiple colleagues.

por Melanie W

Apr 20, 2019

Professor Novotny provided relevant context that made a complex subject comprehensible for me. I really enjoyed her analogies. Her thinking questions in the tests required me to truly apply my knowledge to get them right. This could be the best course I have ever taken in my life. Thank you so much, Prof. Novotny!

por Sakhile S N

Oct 20, 2019

This was an excellent course, it helped me a lot, i took it co-requisitly with my university one, i felt i gained more here than i did with my university module.

Dr Alma Moon Novotny was awesome, she recapped and spoke slow enough for me to grasp the concepts.

por Prabin K

Sep 23, 2019

It is a nice lecture series. Helpful in understanding the concepts of immunology. Most of the concepts of immunology are clearly explain diagrammatically that helps me easily understand the things.

Lastly, thank you , professor, for such a lucid lecture

por Durbar S

Dec 04, 2019

Excellent! Videos are enough. may require re-watching. Professor

Alma Moon Novotny was really good. She's cute and has come up with lot of techniques to make things harder to forget. Would love to take more courses.

por AARON L A R

Aug 06, 2019

So far the lecturer has been very entertaining and interesting in her explanation of various concepts of immunology. I am excited to finish this course, which will be relevant to my future studies.

por Oleg Z

Feb 18, 2020

The course presents with excellent step-by-step detailed explanation of immunity from the systems biology perspective: starting on organism level and going down to the cell and mollecular levels.

por Emiel d J

Feb 25, 2019

This was a great course. Immunology is my professional speciality and I still managed to learn new things. The lecturer is very knowledgeable and very engaging. All with all a great course.

por MaartenL

Oct 04, 2019

Very instructive introduction to the field of immunology. It dares to simply the material a bit when necessary, yet still provides the student with a lot of insight in the matter.

por harshal

Dec 13, 2019

This course is an amazing introduction to immunology. It really helps to understand the basic concepts and helps to alleviate the theories and understand them better.

por Jorge L D L C O

Dec 03, 2019

Excelente curso, Alma Moon es una profesora muy didáctica. El curso se aprovecha mejor si uno ya tiene algún acercamiento con la inmunología. Gracias Rice University.

por Miguel F P

Jan 06, 2020

It is excellent if you want to know how your body works without being afraid of getting lost in dense concepts and complicated vocabulary

por kristin v r

Apr 05, 2019

Great Professor. Funny and explains material well. Gave me the real quirky science teacher experience that I loved in Undergrad.

por Laura O

Oct 10, 2019

Super accurate, relevant and works with engaging enthusiasm which is contagious! Draws you in like no other professor :)

por Rui H

Nov 17, 2019

It is a wonderful course that provides a good way for me to understand the basic concepts in Immunology.

por NKOSINGIPHILE T

Aug 11, 2019

Thanks very much for the course. It had a good information. I benefited a lot.

por Geraldo M J

Dec 18, 2019

Excepcional! Um complemento fundamental para as minhas aulas de Biomedicina

por Fatma M E

May 03, 2019

It was a great course with wonderful material and organizing very well

por Chris P

Oct 13, 2019

A really well taught introduction to the Fundamentals of Immunology.

por Vicencio D

Apr 06, 2019

Excelente nivel, otorga una perspectiva biológica muy interesante.

por Brian J

Oct 12, 2019

Strong and pretty thorough introduction to a fairly complex topic