Chevron Left
Volver a Fundamentals of Immunology: Innate Immunity and B-Cell Function

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Fundamentals of Immunology: Innate Immunity and B-Cell Function por parte de Universidad Rice

4.7
estrellas
663 calificaciones
134 revisiones

Acerca del Curso

Course 1 of a three course specialization called Fundamentals of Immunology. Each course in the specialization presents material that builds on the previous course's material. This is the first leg of a three-part journey through the defenses your body uses to keep you healthy. In this part we hope to give you the vocabulary and concepts you need to interact with the medical community and to provide them in a context that makes them memorable. Fundamentals of Immunology introduces students to the basic functions of the adaptive and innate immune systems. The early lectures survey cells, tissues and organs using metaphors, cartoons and models to improve understanding and retention. After describing the form, function, origin and varieties of antibodies, subsequent lectures provide details on the mechanism of the generation of variation. The course provides animations of gene rearrangement and class switching and descriptions of affinity maturation correlated with detailed physical models of antibody structure. The final lecture reviews these concepts in anatomical context. Testing employs multiple choice questions testing facts, concepts, and application of principles. Questions may refer to diagrams, drawing and photographs used in lecture and reproduced in the outline. What You’ll Learn: The difference between adaptive and innate immune systems, the characteristics of various pathogens that they protect you from and the overall strategies employed in this protection. The detailed structure of antibodies and related immunoglobulin receptors, the characteristics and function of the different antibody classes and the mechanism for producing both the recognition regions and stem regions.  Finally, how these structures are coded for in the DNA and expressed in the B cells....

Principales revisiones

AR

Aug 06, 2019

So far the lecturer has been very entertaining and interesting in her explanation of various concepts of immunology. I am excited to finish this course, which will be relevant to my future studies.

OZ

Feb 18, 2020

The course presents with excellent step-by-step detailed explanation of immunity from the systems biology perspective: starting on organism level and going down to the cell and mollecular levels.

Filtrar por:

26 - 50 de 133 revisiones para Fundamentals of Immunology: Innate Immunity and B-Cell Function

por Prabin K

Sep 23, 2019

It is a nice lecture series. Helpful in understanding the concepts of immunology. Most of the concepts of immunology are clearly explain diagrammatically that helps me easily understand the things.

Lastly, thank you , professor, for such a lucid lecture

por Sunil S

Apr 13, 2020

The best and well-organized course for beginners and also for intermediates. It was like blessing fro me to joining this course and learning and clearing the basics concepts of immunology. I am falling in love with this course.....

por Sumitra P L

Jun 11, 2020

So far, I am thoroughly enjoying this course. I love the enthusiasm and passion that the teacher teaches with. Moreover, I love how the teacher has summarized all the major concepts into tables, making it easier to remember them.

por Durbar S

Dec 04, 2019

Excellent! Videos are enough. may require re-watching. Professor

Alma Moon Novotny was really good. She's cute and has come up with lot of techniques to make things harder to forget. Would love to take more courses.

por AARON L A R

Aug 06, 2019

So far the lecturer has been very entertaining and interesting in her explanation of various concepts of immunology. I am excited to finish this course, which will be relevant to my future studies.

por Oleg Z

Feb 18, 2020

The course presents with excellent step-by-step detailed explanation of immunity from the systems biology perspective: starting on organism level and going down to the cell and mollecular levels.

por Sandy

Mar 31, 2020

Professor Novotny is one of the best teachers I have seen, she has such a good sense of humor and she makes learning fun and easy....and I love the owl T-Shirts she wears! 8-)

por Muhammed S K M

Jun 09, 2020

The way of teaching and the way of conducting tests are excellent. I was not much interested in immunology until I start this course but now I started loving the subject.

por Irina S

Mar 29, 2020

This is an amazing course where all scientific materials presented in a very interesting, engaging and easily comprehensive way be the brilliant Professor A. M. Novotny

por harshal

Dec 13, 2019

This course is an amazing introduction to immunology. It really helps to understand the basic concepts and helps to alleviate the theories and understand them better.

por Jorge L D L C O

Dec 03, 2019

Excelente curso, Alma Moon es una profesora muy didáctica. El curso se aprovecha mejor si uno ya tiene algún acercamiento con la inmunología. Gracias Rice University.

por Samantha L

May 11, 2020

Professor Novotny creatively engages students and makes learning interesting and understandable. I really enjoyed this course and would highly recommend it.

por Snega M D S

Jul 03, 2020

I really loved the course and it did meet my expectation. But if the content were organised it could have been great. My instructor was really amazing.

por Irune I P B

May 29, 2020

Muy bueno, realmente está bien explicado. Es una materia compleja pero no se nota por como se explica. Muy dinámico y didáctico. Totalmente recomendado

por Abhinav B

Apr 24, 2020

I had a wonderful time doing this course! Professor Alma is a phenomenal teacher who made me understand all of the concepts at ease and a lot of fun!

por Werner S

Jun 08, 2020

This is a fantastic and very instructive course. It is really fun to watch the lessons, the material is excellent. This final exam was a bit tough!

por Romit B

May 30, 2020

The course was very interesting and enlightening. Professor Alma has explained topics in a very interesting manner. thank you for this opportunity.

por Nikhil K S

May 14, 2020

The course was immensely helpful for me and had attractive explanation through model and pictures which gives more insightful view of the subject.

por Nicolas B

Jul 03, 2020

it was an interesting course and the lecturer really made the work simple to grasp and the per review feedbacks were really assisting. Thank you.

por Sierra C

Mar 25, 2020

I actually really loved this course. I found it very interesting and I learned a lot more on a much deeper level than I initially expected.

por Miguel F P

Jan 06, 2020

It is excellent if you want to know how your body works without being afraid of getting lost in dense concepts and complicated vocabulary

por GIACOMO S M

May 29, 2020

This course is very useful for anyone who is starting to study immunology or wants to improve his knowledge about general immunology!

por Vignesh I

Apr 16, 2020

Simply amazing!! Really appreciate the work done by all the people involved in this course. I was able to learn a lot!

Thank You :-)

por Jhon J O M

Jun 30, 2020

Es un excelente curso que permite aprender las bases de la inmunología y a su vez profundiza en muchos aspectos. Muchas gracias.

por kristin v r

Apr 05, 2019

Great Professor. Funny and explains material well. Gave me the real quirky science teacher experience that I loved in Undergrad.