Chevron Left
Volver a Indigenous Canada

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Indigenous Canada por parte de Universidad de Alberta

4.8
estrellas
4,528 calificaciones
1,717 reseña

Acerca del Curso

Indigenous Canada is a 12-lesson Massive Open Online Course (MOOC) from the Faculty of Native Studies that explores Indigenous histories and contemporary issues in Canada. From an Indigenous perspective, this course explores key issues facing Indigenous peoples today from a historical and critical perspective highlighting national and local Indigenous-settler relations. Topics for the 12 lessons include the fur trade and other exchange relationships, land claims and environmental impacts, legal systems and rights, political conflicts and alliances, Indigenous political activism, and contemporary Indigenous life, art and its expressions....

Principales reseñas

DN

Aug 31, 2020

This is a great survey course about Indigenous Canada. As a participant, I have learned and unlearned so much about Indigenous Canadians, and more important, this course has inspired me to learn more.

JB

Jan 22, 2018

Excellent course that provides a great foundation for learning about Indigenous cultures and worldviews. Provides thoughtful topics to explore and insightful knowledge. I highly recommend this course!

Filtrar por:

176 - 200 de 1,759 revisiones para Indigenous Canada

por Amber-Rose W

Oct 05, 2020

This course was incredible and very informative. Throughout my entire life, I have been learning about the history of Canada through a settler-bias lense. This course was eye-opening and enlightening. I believe it's important that we as settlers are given this Indigenous perspective, so that we may be able to stop the colonization practices that still are in effect today. I highly recommend this course to everyone who's ever sat through a Canadian curriculum-based history class, you will learn more in these 12 weeks than you did in the 12 years you were in school.

por Sophie C

Oct 26, 2020

I learnt so much from this course, valuable, historical information regarding the Indigenous People's of Canada which really made me question many things. This course was very thought provoking, inspiring, tragic, and yet hopeful all at the same time. The negative effects of Colonialism were astonishing and rippling through decades of injustice, persecution, intolerance and a lack of respect and understanding, particularly to women, made me hold my breathe at times and also made me very angry. I think everyone in Canada would benefit from this course. Thank you.

por Kelley T

Sep 21, 2020

I have told everyone I can about this course!! I cannot fully express how moved and grateful I am for everyone who has been a part of bringing this course to life. It is engaging, insightful, grounding, and sobering...all while being communicated from a space of deep and authentic truth in a way that doesn't shame or harm those of us that need to learn, live, and truly witness the reality of our history. Thank you so much for this work you have all done. It has shifted so much within me and in how I see and experience the world. With deep gratitude, Kelley.

por Eva Q

Aug 02, 2020

This is a wonderful course. Wish I learned this in school. The history of Canada and how it was colonized is well administered. Good descriptions and examples. Beautiful art work. I was introduced to so many wonderful indigenous artist and activist that I can now follow on twitter, Instagram and Facebook. As beautifully displayed our history is, it is also very difficult and disheartening. This happened a century ago and yet even today, the struggle continues. I have a better vision of Canada and I have a open heart to our indigenous population. Thank you

por Richard R

Sep 01, 2020

This is an excellent review of indigenous culture, history, and political and social issues. For someone not well versed in this subject matter in spite of relatively advanced age, it has been the source of considerable sober reflection. My default impressions and conceptions have been challenged throughout the course and I now see the need for more personal study to further revise my previously defective non-indigenous perspective. If there is one message that I take away, it is that it is never too late to learn a new understanding of other people.

por Jocelyne L

Oct 07, 2020

This course was a great foundation for continuing study of indigenous history. I thought that I had some background but find that I have an awful lot to learn.

The class material was well organized covering the main areas. Professor Bear delivered the lectures in a most compelling fashion. This content along with the Sunday discussions provide a fantastic taking off point for further study. I do believe that we all have a duty to learn what the arrival of the settlers has meant to the lives and loss of lives of indigenous people.

Loved the art content.

por M F

Sep 07, 2020

This eye-opening course has succeeded, not only in teaching participants about the history (past and present) of Indigenous Canada, but also leaving them with enough questions and motivations to seek more learning. Personally, I will not stop learning and will continue my research "back home." I want to see what an Indigenous USA course would look like (we have a lot to answer for). I am grateful to have participated and to have furthered my understanding. This is learning that I will take with me to my classroom, to impart to my students.

Thank you.

por Louise B

Oct 01, 2020

For me, this course on Indigenous Canada is just a beginning. I have learned so much and I definitely want to know more. In studying my country from a different perspective, I have felt every emotion. I have cried as my eyes were opened, have stood in awe of First Nations’ resiliency and have even laughed as I watched a satirical performance of the 1491’s. Book titles, Internet links and the names of various artists, writers, scholars and activists have given me enough resources to continue to “dig deeper, look closer, think bigger”. Thank you!

por Cathy B

Oct 14, 2020

Thank you so much for this course. I thought I understood somewhat but I really had no idea. I am ashamed to say that at 65 years old, I am just now learning of the real struggles of indigenous peoples brought on, not only by my direct ancestors but modern day people as well. I have thought a lot about the aspect of 'what can I do' but I guess educating myself and others is probably the best course of action. From that can grow educated input where appropriate in contributing to dialogue and reconciliation. I feel very ashamed of our history.

por Irina D

Feb 17, 2019

I absolutely love this course! I have learned so much! I feel like I knew nothing about the Indigenous Peoples prior to taking this course. I also feel that courses like this should be mandatory in all Canadian schools. It is very important to teach children about the Peoples whose lands we live on and about their culture and history. Big thank you for the creators of this course!!! I've enjoyed it very much - the format, the presentation style, the art, the music. I want to learn more and I hope to find more similar courses. Chi-miigwech!

por Paul H

Dec 24, 2017

Very informative and useful course, particularly given its Indigenous perspectives on the long, diverse and vibrant history and legacy of First Nations, Inuit and Metis peoples in northern North America, as well as more recent and ongoing impact of European colonization and contemporary Canadian society. A very worthwhile endeavour especially for non-Indigenous people seeking to understand the truth and engage in this second opportunity to learn from and walk respectfully with Indigenous peoples and create together a better relationship.

por Kim R

Nov 10, 2019

I have thoroughly enjoyed learning and analyzing my self awareness on each of the modules. The course was able to connect the dots in my understanding of my own culture. I learned a great deal of information with regard to treaties and governance and even the Indian Act. I learned the history when a child but I enjoyed it much better from an indigenous perspective. I am grateful also to better know what our ancestors lived through to better understand Intergenerational trauma. I will continue to seek a greater way of being. Miigwech!

por Kenneth M

Sep 21, 2020

I truly appreciate the calm and factual presentation of both the beauty of indigenous culture and the painful truth of the ways in which settler behaviour has, and continues to, undermine, abuse, deny, and resist our duty to honour the peoples who hosted settlers and supported them, and upon whose land we travel together as treaty people. This has helped me to recognize that the presumed attributes of indigenous people that we whites find distasteful all find their source in colonization. Thank you for this mind-expanding presentation.

por Monica P

Aug 08, 2018

Highly recommended! I have always had a strong affinity with Indigenous worldview, culture and traditions, but taking this course was an amazing discovery experience! I just loved the integration between content and art, and Leah Dorion's paintings and explanations were very powerful! The new information I learned not only expanded my horizons but also increased my respect and admiration for Indigenous peoples. Thank you for the opportunity! I hope there will be other modules in the future, maybe one to discuss cultural appropriation?

por Alexandre C

Jun 06, 2017

This course thoughtfully covered a very challenging and broad subject. It introduced me to parts of Canadian history and the Indigenous experience that I did not know or understand prior to this course. I hope that additional courses will be organized to go more deeply into the issues introduced by this course - I would especially be interested in learning more about Indigenous land and natural resource management and rights. I would like to express a heartfelt thank you to the instructors and researchers who put this course together.

por Erin-Marie M

Jun 14, 2020

Huge thanks to everyone involved in creating this course and putting it out into the world. The modules are so well put together - they are deeply researched, and clearly structured and narrated. I greatly appreciate the inclusion of course notes, and all your references, so that I can continue to further my education. As someone born and raised on Treaty 7 land, everything I learned in this course is long overdue. I do hope this course can be used as a model for/inspires the revision of curriculum at all levels across the country.

por Heather W

Jul 30, 2020

I appreciated the progression of the material which helped to build an understanding of the roots and ongoing colonization of Indigenous people. Also the quizzes were hard enough to show whether I understood the material.

I feel like I have a deeper understanding of the complexity and richness of the world views of the Indigenous peoples that were represented in this course.

The art work was also an embodiment of the values of interconnectedness and storytelling.

Very worthwhile course and I am very grateful to have taken it.

por Katherine S

Oct 04, 2020

I thoroughly enjoyed the course. I feel much more informed about indigenous history. I liked the way that some of the more recent recent issues were brought in such as "idle no more" etc. I am a bit of a reading buff so I appreciated the nods to Vine Deloria and Howard Adams but maybe you could put a bit more in the lesson 12 about current Canadian Indigenous authors. I really liked the paintings of Leah Dorian and her explanations. The quizzes are thought were fair and related to the course material well. Thanks and Best Wishes.

por Liyan D

Jun 07, 2019

Growing up in central and northern Alberta, I thought I had a pretty good idea of Indigenous history. I was wrong. This course has changed everything. For example, I now REALLY understand that I was born on Treaty 6 lands, and spent quite a few school years on Treaty 8 land. That reality matters and should be foremost in our minds. I also learned that there is another word for "Cree" and I had no idea that was the case. I now know that nehiyawak (lower case only) is a correct and respectful term. Everyone should take this course!

por Alison P

Oct 15, 2020

A great, comprehensive overview that should be required learning for all Canadians, particularly Settler Canadians. In learning in public schools in the 70s and 80s, the Indian Act, in particular, was 'romanticized' and presented as a positive development, when it was anything but. This was one of the major learnings I will take forward, in addition to understanding Indigenous 'ways of knowing', culture, art, governance and social structures. Thank you so much to the presenters and the University of Alberta for sponsoring this.

por Danielle J

Oct 04, 2020

Every single person in Canada should have to take this course! It has been so informative, I loved the artwork depicting and referencing the different themes of the course and all the archival footage. Thank you so much for offering this course and I will continue learning about and exploring many of the themes, politics, cultures and stories covered in the course. An excellent course for anyone wanting to deepen their understanding of issues and the 'narrative' around First Nations in Canada. Seriously, I really enjoyed it.

por Kayleigh K

Aug 22, 2020

Thank you so much for offering this course for free. The course was thorough while still being introductory, and the modules are easily organized and accessible, allowing all levels of learners to complete at their own pace and preference. The instructors and guest interviews were very informative and engaging. This course offers an enjoyable and meaningful online learning experience that every Canadian should participate in, as this is information that should be taught to all from a young age but is not. Highly recommended!

por Cynthia K S

Jul 01, 2020

Informative and Eye Opening

I took this course years after I completed a minor of Native American anthropology from the U of A (2002). Years have passed so it was nice to actually have the course taught by Indigenous people, instead of white anthropologists. I also had a stroke between the two times and the course was designed in such a way that I could re-learn the information and still manage to take the quizzes. It was good, up to date, hopeful, and makes me want to learn even more about Indigenous cultures. Thank you!

por Ann E S

Aug 20, 2020

So good! Every settler Canadian should have to take this course. As a new Canadian this was far more informative on the history of this land, pre- and post-contact, than any university course in Canadian history or government guide for the citizenship exam I've taken or read! Thank you so much for giving us such an excellent overview and I can't wait to take the opportunity to delve deeper into the intricacies touched on in the course and into the history and culture of the Mi'kmaq in the area of Canada I've settled in!

por Christopher M C

Aug 12, 2018

It was refreshing to take a course whose aim was to present the breadth of a major topic. It succeeded. Along the way, it probed the depth of several major subtopics and provided great resources for further exploration. I started taking notes in week 1, but soon put my pencil down, as few words were wasted in the lectures and it became clear that everything being said was important. I'm American and was searching for a course on Native Americans in the U.S. I found this one first and I'm glad I did - it was a treat!