Chevron Left
Volver a Indigenous Canada

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Indigenous Canada por parte de Universidad de Alberta

4.8
estrellas
3,648 calificaciones
1,334 reseña

Acerca del Curso

Indigenous Canada is a 12-lesson Massive Open Online Course (MOOC) from the Faculty of Native Studies that explores Indigenous histories and contemporary issues in Canada. From an Indigenous perspective, this course explores key issues facing Indigenous peoples today from a historical and critical perspective highlighting national and local Indigenous-settler relations. Topics for the 12 lessons include the fur trade and other exchange relationships, land claims and environmental impacts, legal systems and rights, political conflicts and alliances, Indigenous political activism, and contemporary Indigenous life, art and its expressions....

Principales reseñas

DN

Aug 31, 2020

This is a great survey course about Indigenous Canada. As a participant, I have learned and unlearned so much about Indigenous Canadians, and more important, this course has inspired me to learn more.

JB

Jan 22, 2018

Excellent course that provides a great foundation for learning about Indigenous cultures and worldviews. Provides thoughtful topics to explore and insightful knowledge. I highly recommend this course!

Filtrar por:

151 - 175 de 1,352 revisiones para Indigenous Canada

por Kayleigh K

Aug 22, 2020

Thank you so much for offering this course for free. The course was thorough while still being introductory, and the modules are easily organized and accessible, allowing all levels of learners to complete at their own pace and preference. The instructors and guest interviews were very informative and engaging. This course offers an enjoyable and meaningful online learning experience that every Canadian should participate in, as this is information that should be taught to all from a young age but is not. Highly recommended!

por Cynthia K S

Jul 01, 2020

Informative and Eye Opening

I took this course years after I completed a minor of Native American anthropology from the U of A (2002). Years have passed so it was nice to actually have the course taught by Indigenous people, instead of white anthropologists. I also had a stroke between the two times and the course was designed in such a way that I could re-learn the information and still manage to take the quizzes. It was good, up to date, hopeful, and makes me want to learn even more about Indigenous cultures. Thank you!

por Ann E S

Aug 20, 2020

So good! Every settler Canadian should have to take this course. As a new Canadian this was far more informative on the history of this land, pre- and post-contact, than any university course in Canadian history or government guide for the citizenship exam I've taken or read! Thank you so much for giving us such an excellent overview and I can't wait to take the opportunity to delve deeper into the intricacies touched on in the course and into the history and culture of the Mi'kmaq in the area of Canada I've settled in!

por Christopher M C

Aug 12, 2018

It was refreshing to take a course whose aim was to present the breadth of a major topic. It succeeded. Along the way, it probed the depth of several major subtopics and provided great resources for further exploration. I started taking notes in week 1, but soon put my pencil down, as few words were wasted in the lectures and it became clear that everything being said was important. I'm American and was searching for a course on Native Americans in the U.S. I found this one first and I'm glad I did - it was a treat!

por Emma B

Aug 20, 2020

This was an informative, engaging, and well-organised course, which I am very glad that I was able to participate in. The blend of lectures and reading was effective: I appreciated being able to listen, take virtual notes, and access the text for each unit. The visual art component for each unit was excellent. I would thoroughly recommend this course to people, whether fellow educators, Canadian residents, or those with interest simply in learning and understanding more about Canada. Thank you for this opportunity.

por Jennifer S

Aug 07, 2020

It is vital for Canadians to look carefully at all systemic racism in Canada, and not just that which is front page news. Our Indigenous communities are the original victims of our systemic racism and we need to do better. One way of doing better is knowing better. We can get closer to our Indigenous peoples by learning about them through their own representations, and not that of an education system directed by predominantly white scholars. This course is a generous start to learning, and I highly recommend it.

por Sharifa D R

Jun 18, 2018

This course was an amazing introductory course to Indigenous Worldview, Community, and History. The only way humanity can do better, is to educate themselves of failures and wrongdoings in the past. #preventhistoryfromrepeatingitself I hope this course acts as a staring point for people who want to know more about the Indigenous land we are inhabiting. As mentioned in the course there is much more knowledge to be learned, and I am sad the course was not longer. I Highly recommend this course to every Canadian!

por Gwendolyn F

Jun 05, 2017

Indigenous Canada Course has opened my understanding of the powers that be and the destruction this power had/has over so much.

How Indigenous people held on to their culture in various ways to continue into the present, traditionally with modern inclusion.

How the Aborigine in Australia have used the North America Indigenous/Aboriginal culture to parallel with theirs.

Thank you for allowing me the opportunity of learning more of the cultures where I came from and gaining an appreciation for original "Canadians".

por Stefanie K

Jul 26, 2020

Not only were the instructors delivering the content in a spectacular way, but the voice-overs of chiefs, as well as the interviews with members of the community really put the entire course together. The history being told was such an eye-opener and helped to structure my support further for the Indigenous community. The interactive paintings at the end were so beautiful and well done, and it really shows the depth of history. I will begin to educate those around me with this authentic knowledge. Thank you!

por Kim R

Jun 03, 2017

This course was truly inspiring and eye-opening. Each and every Canadian should take this course in order to educate him or her to the complexities of Indigenous peoples' history and culture. As an educator for 30 years, I wish that I had been more knowledgeable of the struggles and history, so that I could have better taught my students. I hope that more courses such as the one you have provided will be made available, so that myself and others can further our studies. Thank you so much for this opportunity

por Andrew B

Aug 06, 2020

This course was fantastic. There were a few glitches here and there, but they were merely technical. As someone who should know more, but knew almost nothing about the history of the country where I was born and the peoples who it belongs to, I now have an entire notebook of notes. I think that this course provided an extremely in-depth overview and I cannot wait to dive deeper into these histories and complex societies. I even picked up The Indigenous Peoples of Canada Atlas collection for further reading.

por Jazmyn-Rae D

Aug 05, 2020

I was raised on community and attended school in a small town just outside. I went to a French Immersion school until grade 10, until my parents let me make the decision on whether or not I will complete highschool with French under my belt. After this course, it helped me better understand my culture and what my ancestors have done to ensure I gave the tools I need to continue our battles for our rights. This course was taught at a great paste and offered great learning tools, I highly suggest enrolling.

por Matthew P A

Sep 20, 2020

It is the best massive open online course I've ever taken. I'm blown by how the instructors/developers managed to put together a self-paced course with an enormous amount of information and yet kept the course interesting. It is a lot, but each module is a fascinating and eye-opening learning experience. I'm grateful that I get to go through this course and look at Canadian history through Indigenous' lenses. This is a fantastic course. It's a must for history fanatics and everyone else in Canada.

por Lafferty

Sep 05, 2020

I would consider this course to be essential to learning and gaining an understanding of Canadian history for every Canadian. I am 69 years old and have adult children both of whom have native studies degrees and education degrees from the u of a, and have invested their careers into bettering the condition of indigenous people and It is a privilege for me to be able to take courses that will allow me to better understand and appreciate what they do, so thank you for this incredible opportunity.

por Kailey D

Sep 12, 2020

Amazing. As a Metis person living in Canada there was a lot of things I did not know or understand how they came to be, it was amazing to be able to learn and relearn many things and put puzzle pieces together for my own experiences and families experiences. I am very grateful for this course and have recommended it to many friends and family. I leave this course with a greater understanding of the indigenous world around me and again, I feel extremely thankful that a course like this exists.

por Bonnie H

Aug 30, 2020

I got so much out of this course and learned so much that was never included in the school curriculum.

It would be a great thing if everyone would take this course, so that we could all be a little better educated on the indigenous in Canada. I feel it would help people to have compassion and empathy and understanding for all they have been through and all they are still going through. We need to all work together to make this country work to be mutually beneficial for everyone, not just some.

por Sahara Z F

Jul 22, 2020

It is a very interesting course. Learning about history has always been something that has interested me and this course was a very good resource in learning more about Indigenous people from Canada. I would recommend this to anyone who is interested in history regardless of where you are from. Knowing and recognizing colonization and its impacts not only helps us better understand the modern civilizations in America but it also helps us make sure we won't let anything like this happen again.

por Daniela M M

Sep 21, 2020

I really loved this course. It not only helped me unlearn so many more things about Indigenous history and colonialism, but it also taught me so much more about the colonial history of Canada and Indigenous peoples! So I am very grateful to Dr. Tracy Bear for creating this course, because it will help me in my future work with Indigenous communities and with my hopes to work in language revitalization. It was a truly marvellous course, and I hope many more Canadians choose to learn from it.

por Hugh W

Jul 21, 2020

This was my first online course offered via coursera. I found the course on Indigenous Canada very enlightening, comprehensive, and honest. It was a nice mixture of facts, expert interviews, and relevant artwork. The course notes were very helpful to follow along as I watched the videos from the instructors. The module quizzes were a fairly stress free way to test your understanding. Thanks to the instructors for taking the time to put together such an important course for all Canadians!

por Christina F

Sep 16, 2020

This is the Indigenous History that our Canadian schools should have taught us. I greatly appreciated hearing the Indigenous perspectives on the many historical events that shaped this country. I also enjoyed how the course dove into the current movements, concerns and issues that Indigenous people are still facing. I think many minds would be changed after completing this course with an open mind. I am also proud that this course was offered by my Alma Mater, University of Alberta.

por Sarah C

Sep 09, 2020

By far the best overview of Canadian history from an indigenous perspective that I have ever had. I wish I’d been exposed to this sooner! I will say the structure of some quiz questions was weird (grammatically I mean), but the course provides 3 attempts for each quiz so that more than made up for the occasional mistake due to misinterpretation of the strangely worded quiz question and/or answer selection. I will be recommending this course to all my friends and family!

por Marnie R

Aug 16, 2020

I learned a lot about the history of the various Indigenous groups across Canada including social, cultural, political and historical challenges, perseverance, and accomplishments. The modules were very well organized and presented in a manner that made it interesting to read and listen to each week. I was very happy with the teachings of this course and will use my newly gained knowledge to be better in my daily life and work life when engaging with Indigenous Peoples.

por Laura B

Aug 10, 2020

Very informative and an eye opener for those, like myself, wanting to know more about the Indigenous history that our School System does not include in the history of Canada during my HS years. Loved how you can either watch the lesson and listen, or scroll down and read along while the video is minimized still in view. After certain lessons, I wanted to get a hold of the Bill of Rights and read everything that involves the Treaties, I know there's so much more to know!

por Kate C

Aug 30, 2020

I was ashamed to say I knew little about Canada's Indigenous people despite emigrating here a couple of decades ago. This informative and thought-provoking course allowed me the opportunity to expand my knowledge and better understand the effects colonialism had on Canada's Indigenous people. It opened my eyes to a different perspective and view Canada through a different lens. Much appreciation to Coursera and the Faculty of Native Studies at University of Alberta.

por Jana C

Apr 10, 2019

Indigenous Canada is an OUTSTANDING course. The lectures were presented in an engaging and professional manner and I appreciated the thought-provoking interviews throughout, as well as the art depiction/description at the end of each module.

This course left me with many emotions, which in turn, has placed within me the desire to delve deeper into the histories and stories of Indigenous people.

Thank you, I am grateful for the opportunity to have taken this course.