Chevron Left
Volver a Indigenous Canada

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Indigenous Canada por parte de Universidad de Alberta

4.8
estrellas
3,648 calificaciones
1,334 reseña

Acerca del Curso

Indigenous Canada is a 12-lesson Massive Open Online Course (MOOC) from the Faculty of Native Studies that explores Indigenous histories and contemporary issues in Canada. From an Indigenous perspective, this course explores key issues facing Indigenous peoples today from a historical and critical perspective highlighting national and local Indigenous-settler relations. Topics for the 12 lessons include the fur trade and other exchange relationships, land claims and environmental impacts, legal systems and rights, political conflicts and alliances, Indigenous political activism, and contemporary Indigenous life, art and its expressions....

Principales reseñas

DN

Aug 31, 2020

This is a great survey course about Indigenous Canada. As a participant, I have learned and unlearned so much about Indigenous Canadians, and more important, this course has inspired me to learn more.

JB

Jan 22, 2018

Excellent course that provides a great foundation for learning about Indigenous cultures and worldviews. Provides thoughtful topics to explore and insightful knowledge. I highly recommend this course!

Filtrar por:

176 - 200 de 1,355 revisiones para Indigenous Canada

por Jana C

Apr 10, 2019

Indigenous Canada is an OUTSTANDING course. The lectures were presented in an engaging and professional manner and I appreciated the thought-provoking interviews throughout, as well as the art depiction/description at the end of each module.

This course left me with many emotions, which in turn, has placed within me the desire to delve deeper into the histories and stories of Indigenous people.

Thank you, I am grateful for the opportunity to have taken this course.

por Jeannette L

Aug 17, 2020

I thoroughly enjoyed the information provided in this course. I also appreciated and enjoyed the three lecturers who came across as sincere and unpretentious. I especially liked how artwork was incorporated into the material. Some of the quiz questions were poorly worded though, causing unnecessary confusion. Based on how the material is presented, the questions did not always make sense, and sometimes two answers were clearly correct, although only one was accepted.

por Catherine J

Jul 29, 2020

Miigwech! Thank you for this course. As someone of white settler ancestry, who was educated in rural Ontario several decades ago, I was painfully aware that I was missing a great deal of Indigenous history. It was refreshing to hear some of the same histories I was taught from an Indigenous perspective. As an educator, I appreciate the depth and detail offered in this introductory course, and will recommend it to others. -- Dr. Catherine Jenkins , Ryerson University

por Francois C

May 18, 2020

Excellent series of lectures given in the Indigenous oral tradition. Very eye opening for a Canadian whose knowledge of Indigenous people had primarily come from a few pages of a high school history book. The course only touched on many important and current issues which I am now in a better position to appreciate, and will follow with great interest. I offer my sincerest thanks to the lecturers, and to the University of Alberta for making this course available.

por Sean M

Jul 16, 2019

I would recommend Indigenous Canada to anyone with an interest in acquiring knowledge about Aboriginal/non-Aboriginal relationships and how our collective history shapes our relationships today.

The course is a worthwhile investment of time for those who are interested in seeing matters from an indigenous perspective. It was certainly helpful for me and brought me to a new level of understanding of the complex history of indigenous people and the nation of Canada.

por Heidi M

Oct 27, 2017

It was fantastic in every way. I highly recommend this course. The format and the quality of the videos and course notes were very high. The actual content was delivered in a concise but thoughtful way. I have taken previous courses on Indigenous history and learned more in this course then I have in all the others combined (including the history classes/courses from high school and university). This is really something every settler in Canada should have to take.

por Nicole M B

May 06, 2020

There is so much covered in this course. It is very thorough in a lot of different subjects affecting indigenous populations, from the past up through the present. There is a lot of content regarding the various treaties, laws, and interactions with the Canadian government, and they are particularly thorough with this material. If you are looking for a class that will give an broad introductory base in indigenous law, culture and thought, this course is for you.

por Caitlin C D

Apr 30, 2017

This course is absolutely phenomenal. I learned a great deal about a wide range of topics, such as the diversity of indigenous groups in Canada, the history of colonisation and its ongoing negative impacts on indigenous communities, and the struggles currently faced by indigenous communities and individuals.

I would recommend this course to anyone. I want to thank the course creators for sharing their knowledge and insight concerning these important topics.

por Val H

Jul 03, 2017

Excellent course! I can not say enough good things about it. I especially appreciated going through history in chronological order from and Indigenous perspective. The lectures were extremely well done, the information was concise and easy to understand. I highly recommend this course for all Alberta teachers in preparation for the new Teacher Quality Standards. The information provided will give you a solid foundation to hang all future learnings from.

por kum m o

Aug 02, 2020

learnt a lot , enjoyed the course. Thank you I will be forever be grateful to the generosity for the indigenous people for allowing me to live in your beautiful land Canada. I hear and feel your sufferings, you have been unjustly and cruelly treated, I cried for you. Please continue to be the real caretaker of the land, the air the rivers, the animals, the forest, the natural resources and all that is beautiful in This Canada.

God bless each one of you

por Nina R

May 18, 2020

A very well done course. I have learn a lot about the History of Canada from an Indigenous people's perspective and most important, I have understood and embraced way more their culture, their traditions, their sacred ways to do things and the value that they give to the land and their connection with it. Western world should learn so much about their values and their respect for the environment/land and the human soul. It's priceless. Thank you so much!

por Aurelija M

Aug 01, 2017

Fantastic course! Even though I knew quite a bit before, some passages were still incredibly moving to learn, making me angry, reading about the atrocities committed by the settlers. The materials provided were really good, the lecturers were really good. 10/10 would take this course again if I could! Would love to see more of such courses on Coursera as it's super important to learn about the history and how to become an ally, even though being European.

por SAMJAILA T

Feb 18, 2018

I am so grateful to the University of Alberta and staff member of this course "Indigenous Canada". It provides a vast knowledge on the people, history, and lives of Aboriginals in Canada which explores a distinct narrative through different forms of art, story telling, painting, interviews, and detail explanation with a great evidence and materials. I am so glad and also thankful to everyone involved in this thought provoking course. Highly recommended !

por Carmen R

Sep 21, 2020

THANK YOU, THANK YOU, THANK YOU! This course was incredible! I am beyond grateful for it and for the information is provided me with. THANK YOU for teaching me, inspiring me to learn more, inspiring to examine my own space and for inspiring me to examine EVERYTHING when it comes to my life in Canada. I am deeply grateful. It is a great disservice that more people are not made aware of the incredible Indigenous history, culture and people. Thank you. xo

por Julio C M H

Jul 25, 2020

Although it is a "fast" course, I think that the diversity of topics gives a very complete picture of the history and contemporary socio-cultural problems of the Aboriginal peoples of Canada. Furthermore, despite the fact that they are many topics, the cross-cutting topics that guide all the sections are very good so as not to lose sight of the historical memory and the main problems with which the indigenous peoples in Canada have long had to struggle.

por Brenda D

Apr 18, 2020

I really enjoyed this course. It was nothing of which I was expecting. It opened my eyes to a lot of issues that I did not understand as I am not from an Indigenous background. I hate the stigmas that the Government has installed on us towards the Indigenous peoples, I guess it just goes to show that everyone no matter where you are from or what you have been groomed to know should always ask questions on the why's. Thank you for opening up my eyes.

por Elizabeth D

Sep 26, 2017

It was fantastic. Challenging enough for me and yet not so daunting that I couldn't do it. I felt like I might not be able to manage the course but, in fact it was very informative and easy to learn.

I liked the presenters very much and especially liked the thank you at the last lesson, because it did feel to me, after 12 weeks together that I knew the presenters. I learned a lot, it just showed me that I can go further, and I will. Thank you again.

por Tanya T

Sep 22, 2017

I really enjoyed this course, particularly that the format was video lectures as I could then hear the distinct voices of the people speaking. I very much appreciated to the stories, art work, and music incorporated into the lectures. I think this is an important topic for all Canadians, and our responsibility to educate ourselves on the past. Thank you to all who participated in the creation of this course, and thank you to Coursera for offering it.

por Emma C

Aug 31, 2020

This is a really great course and I've learnt a lot from it. A few things regarding presentation and the notes could do with tidying up a bit but that didn't take away from the overall message and the amount/quality of the information that they get across. Massive thank you to everyone involved. As a non-Canadian, it has truly been an honour to get such an insight into the indigenous past, present, and future of a country that I love. Thank you.

por Beth M

Aug 30, 2020

Thoroughly enjoyed this course and learned so much! Content was accessible, well-organized, and wide-ranging. Instructors were engaging and knowledgeable. As a settler coming from an unfortunately colonial understanding of Indigenous peoples of Canada, I appreciated how much was covered in this course and especially the extensive references in the course notes that direct me to even more information. Really can't recommend this course enough!

por Anne H

Jan 18, 2018

Thank you Dr. Bear and your team for an inspirational course. I have thoroughly enjoyed my travels through it and have found myself abashed over my previous unawareness to this critical situation. As a retired teacher-librarian I wish I had taken this course sooner in order to assist my thousands of students in their knowledge of Canada's Indigenous peoples. Your information has inspired me to continue in my quest for learning in this area.

por C B

Aug 27, 2020

This course was really well done and certainly stimulates thought, discussion, and a desire to learn more in certain areas. Thank you!

My one constructive suggestion would be to minimize the number of quiz questions that are written in the negative form. They make the questions very confusing and rather than test knowledge, they test the ability of the learner to manipulate the question, information and the choices into a negative form.

por Eun K ( C

Jul 10, 2020

Thank you for the well-organized informative course about Indigenous Canada. Although it was a short course, I learned a lot about the culture and history of Indigenous peoples in Canada. The course helped me gaining a better understanding about the Indigenous people and with the enhanced understanding through this course, I am confident that I would be able to connect and relate better with the Indigenous people I come across. Thank you.

por Abigail E

Mar 25, 2020

This course was very informative. Not only did it give an overview of historical and current beliefs of the Indigenous communities, it also outlined some of the contemporary issues related to Indigenous life. I was grateful to gain a new perspective and it stripped away many of the racial and stereotypical views of western culture. I will be happy to share my new knowledge and advocate for Indigenous challenges and truths in my own life.

por PATRICIA D

Sep 18, 2020

This was an excellent course that explained what the Indegenous Canada nations had to endure when the settlers arrived and included many political and social hardships they have had to suffer. It was humbling to learn so much about these wonderful people who have been so important to the history of Canada and the solidarity they have with each community and each other is remarkable I highly recommend this extremely important course.