Chevron Left
Volver a Indigenous Canada

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Indigenous Canada por parte de Universidad de Alberta

4.8
estrellas
3,378 calificaciones
1,232 reseña

Acerca del Curso

Indigenous Canada is a 12-lesson Massive Open Online Course (MOOC) from the Faculty of Native Studies that explores Indigenous histories and contemporary issues in Canada. From an Indigenous perspective, this course explores key issues facing Indigenous peoples today from a historical and critical perspective highlighting national and local Indigenous-settler relations. Topics for the 12 lessons include the fur trade and other exchange relationships, land claims and environmental impacts, legal systems and rights, political conflicts and alliances, Indigenous political activism, and contemporary Indigenous life, art and its expressions....

Principales reseñas

AC

Feb 24, 2020

Very informative. They teach history and mention the aboriginal journey, but this tells another story. Thank you for allowing me an opportunity to glimpse into to the world of an aboriginal of Canada.

DN

Aug 31, 2020

This is a great survey course about Indigenous Canada. As a participant, I have learned and unlearned so much about Indigenous Canadians, and more important, this course has inspired me to learn more.

Filtrar por:

201 - 225 de 1,266 revisiones para Indigenous Canada

por Jodine C

Jul 20, 2020

The course is well designed, informative, and easy to follow. It provides a great educational opportunity to gain insight on, and work towards understanding of, some of the historical and contemporary issues faced by our Canadian Indigenous communities. This course has helped me to become a more informed Canadian citizen and has undoubtedly enhanced my professional abilities as educator of Saskatchewan elementary students.

por Dan L

Jul 08, 2020

An excellent course that does a fantastic job giving some concrete background to Indigenous relations, culture, and contemporary resistance without falling into narratives of Indigenous people being from a static past or as being non-diversified. I really enjoyed a lot of the comprehensive art and political balanced lectures and would recommend this course to those interested in Indigenous history and cultural contributions.

por Talya R

Oct 26, 2017

An excellent, resource-full and all-encompassing eyeopener for anyone willing to listen and learn about the true past, present and future for Indigenous peoples in Canada. This course will positively enhance what you were taught about Canada's history, and more importantly, increase your own awareness of your personal contributions to the continued oppression and racism against indigenous peoples. Highly highly recommended.

por ET K

Oct 05, 2018

I really enjoyed learning about indigenous worldviews and history through this course. It challenged a lot of my previously held knowledge and views about Indigenous Canada (and to be honest, I did not know as much as I should have). I have recommended this course to family, friends, and colleagues, and I will continue to do so. Thank you to the course creators and contributors for putting together such an engaging course.

por Carmen D

Jul 20, 2020

I loved the way the course was presented from the beginning to end. It has a great sequence of topics, themes and general history. The presenters are clear and honest on their presentation, they truly show coherency between who they are and what they say. The readings are a great support to the course and the paintings compliment each week beautifully. I congratulate you for a wonderful course. Thank you very much!

por Monika N

Sep 03, 2020

I have enjoyed every minute of it. In the past, I have taken Canadian history courses and seminars with a focus on Indigenous history and culture, but this one has genuinely given me a different perspective, filled up certain gaps and answered questions. As a naturalized Canadian, I strongly believe that knowing the true history and social dynamics of one's (new) home is essential in order to feel like a part of it.

por Denise M

Aug 12, 2020

I have learned more than I could have imagined about Indigenous peoples' perspectives. I am now armed to pursue my education about the Indigenous Peoples of Canada. I will be doing more reading, discovering and pursuing discussions with my reading circles around the plethora of resources available to add to my base of knowledge. Thank you Dr. Bear and colleagues for this rich and captivating learning experience.

por Devan N

Aug 14, 2020

It was great to have a course from the perspective of those who were colonized. Too often, history is "written by the winning side," and today we, as a society, have much to learn from the ways of other cultures who were not wrong in what they believed. This is especially relevant now in a time when the pendulum has swung too far in the direction of the individual, and the fabric of society is being torn apart.

por Janet S

Apr 04, 2020

Thank you for offering this course. I learned so much. I had to unlearn a great deal as my educational K-12 and university education, prior to this course, so Eurocentric. I am glad that my son will be a part of an educational system that will provide more than that one view. I have invited my colleagues, my students' parents, and my family to also participate in your course. It is excellent. Thank you.

por Maryann A

Sep 21, 2020

I enjoyed this course immensely from beginning to end! Never a dull moment, so much information, such truth and very eye opening. I look at the Indigenous community with a much different lens than when I first started the course. Although I am Metis' myself, I did not have the "whole" cultural background that I've learned through this wonderful course. Thank you for bringing such incredible insight. Merci'

por Roxanne G

Sep 07, 2020

Thank you to the teachers and all contributors to this course. I've learned so much. This gave me a much better sense of the ongoing battle that ingenious peoples continue to fight for in order to reclaim their culture and have their honest histories told. I, for one, wish to be an allie and will continue to educate myself in order to better understand. Thank you so much for your help in this journey!

por borhan a

Aug 31, 2020

It was so powerful influencial course that I was driven faster than the required time to complete the weeks modules. I am currently working on restorative justice and practice in academic medicine in developing relationship between doctors and patients for patients safety and satisfaction. This course helped me to get into the depth of knowledge regarding restorative justice and practice in ancient period.

por Jonathon R L

Aug 07, 2019

Very interesting, learned a lot, great presenters. Excellent course to take to become acquainted with the current state of indigenous affairs. Also provided a perspective that I had previously not been exposed to. Would benefit greatly from a more dynamic presentation of the content--while the videos are well-done, delivery felt very static after the first few modules and made it difficult to stay focused.

por Alison C

Aug 07, 2020

This was the primer I required and the beginning of learning more. The lessons were engaging, and informative. The interactive art piece was a highlight, giving credence to the the past in the present together. There was a lot of information and much that I did not learn from text books in school in the 1960's. I was on a class trip to Expo '67 and learning the context of the Pavillion was fascinating.

por Cherie C

Aug 02, 2020

The course was an excellent opportunity to build on my existing knowledge which deepened my understanding of indigeneity. The modules provided new terms to portray concepts with that were more accurate and meaningful. Also, the art work, interviews and information presented has critically supported me with different tools so I can approach the topic of Indigenous culture with my students in multiple ways.

por Robert C C

Jan 12, 2018

This is an excellent course and it hits one right between the eyes and in one's heart about the history of Indigenous peoples not only in Canada, but also in all of North America. Sometimes it was hard to choose best answers on quizzes as some of the answers were very similar, but the quizzes were fair and the lectures were excellent. I really enjoyed the discussion of the arts. Highly recommend this

por Sheilah M

Sep 06, 2020

Well organized, interesting, comprehensive, and clearly presented. Grateful to have an opportunity to learn about the history of Canada from an Indigenous perspective. It was not available in my curriculum in middle school, high school or post secondary classes. It was also helpful to learn online at my own pace. Highly recommend this course.

Would also love to see more in-depth classes available.

por Jennifer S

Aug 08, 2020

It was an enlightening, fascinating and emotional ride. This course was well organised and beautifully presented. I particularly enjoyed Leah Dorion's artwork and her process to illustrate story and symbolism. You are right - every Canadian should engage in this course and other ways of learning about Indigenous culture and issues. This is a starting point for me and I thank you for your efforts!!

por Judy S

Apr 20, 2020

With humility and gratitude, I thank Dr. Tracy Bear and Dr. Paul Gareau for the Indigenous Canada course. I have learned so much, and been inspired to learn more. The course is comprehensive and holistic, and organized in the most thoughtful and interesting way. The course will forever be a significant part of my journey as a settler in Canada for Reconciliation with Indigenous Peoples. Thank you.

por Chelsea G

May 20, 2020

This is a great course that is inclusive to the multi-dimensional Indigenous experience and histories across Canada. The content highlights issues pertaining to almost all of Canada's geography and explains why and how Indigenous experiences differ. Overall, this is great course for beginners to Indigenous content and also a superb resource for those who are more experienced and want a refresher.

por Jeanetta D

Aug 28, 2020

Very well done and put together. It was a big differences from the education I got in school in the 90s especially in the Catholic District School Board of Ontario. I am going to research and explore more on how I can support or learn more about the indigenous communities close to where I live. I am an Ontario certified teacher in Oshawa. Thank you for making this course available to the public.

por Alexandra T

Aug 12, 2020

While it isn't possible for one course to go in depth about indigenous history and cultural issues in Canada, this course gives a good overview of where to start, and fills in the gaps from the Canadian history I was taught in school. Very applicable to me personally in my work environment to improve understanding and empathy when working on issues that may impact indigenous peoples in Canada.

por Heather B

Jul 27, 2020

I absoutley enjoyed this course! What an eye opener. I was born and raised in Toronto and went to Elementry and high school and was never taught majority of the information that was taught in this course. Thank you so much for having this course available to Learn the truth about Indigenous culture. This course has inspired me to help spread the awarenss of Indigenous culture anyway I can! :)

por Julia P

Apr 22, 2020

This course is well researched and has so much information that every Canadian should know about. It incorporated interesting interviews, and some art pieces commissioned to highlight the course and important aspects of Aboriginal history. Discussion forums with answers from mediators along with course notes and references were helpful in digging a bit deeper into the informaiton. Well done!

por Elyssa D

Sep 13, 2017

I have always had an interest in Indigenous culture and issues. This course has allowed me to gain insight into an Indigenous' perspective of Canadian's history. The way videos and notes were used was very organized and helpful. This course should be mandatory for all Canadians and be integrated in our education system. Thank you for this wonderful learning experience! Highly recommend it!