Chevron Left
Volver a Industrial Biotechnology

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Industrial Biotechnology por parte de Universidad de Mánchester

4.7
estrellas
2,546 calificaciones
598 reseña

Acerca del Curso

Fossil fuels have been the primary energy source for society since the Industrial Revolution. They provide the raw material for the manufacture of many everyday products that we take for granted, including pharmaceuticals, food and drink, materials, plastics and personal care. As the 21st century progresses we need solutions for the manufacture of chemicals that are smarter, more predictable and more sustainable. Industrial biotechnology is changing how we manufacture chemicals and materials, as well as providing us with a source of renewable energy. It is at the core of sustainable manufacturing processes and an attractive alternative to traditional manufacturing technologies to commercially advance and transform priority industrial sectors yielding more and more viable solutions for our environment in the form of new chemicals, new materials and bioenergy. This course will cover the key enabling technologies that underpin biotechnology research including enzyme discovery and engineering, systems and synthetic biology and biochemical and process engineering. Much of this material will be delivered through lectures to ensure that you have a solid foundation in these key areas. We will also consider the wider issues involved in sustainable manufacturing including responsible research innovation and bioethics. In the second part of the course we will look at how these technologies translate into real world applications which benefit society and impact our everyday lives. This will include input from our industry stakeholders and collaborators working in the pharmaceutical, chemicals and biofuels industries. By the end of this course you will be able to: 1. Understand enzymatic function and catalysis. 2. Explain the technologies and methodologies underpinning systems and synthetic biology. 3. Explain the diversity of synthetic biology application and discuss the different ethical and regulatory/governance challenges involved in this research. 4. Understand the principles and role of bioprocessing and biochemical engineering in industrial biotechnology. 5. Have an informed discussion of the key enabling technologies underpinning research in industrial biotechnology 6. Give examples of industrial biotechnology products and processes and their application in healthcare, agriculture, fine chemicals, energy and the environment....

Principales reseñas

MK

5 de mar. de 2021

Great course. Im a chemical engineering, applying for master's in Chemical Biotechnology. This course really helped in understanding the basics of this amazing field. Thanks guys. Humans are awesome.

JC

28 de abr. de 2020

Very informative and very well organised course and it really helped me provide a good insight into the world of Biotechnology, the applications in the health sector and its potential in the future.

Filtrar por:

451 - 475 de 604 revisiones para Industrial Biotechnology

por DEVIKA M S

23 de ago. de 2020

Good

por Mona A A

7 de ago. de 2020

good

por ghazal s

17 de jul. de 2020

good

por Amarjeet r

14 de jun. de 2020

Good

por Priyanka G

6 de jun. de 2020

Good

por supuni j

25 de may. de 2020

Best

por Harsh T

25 de may. de 2020

Nice

por PRASHIK S G

21 de may. de 2020

Good

por Shivani

9 de may. de 2020

Good

por Gokul

24 de abr. de 2020

GOOD

por Md. F A

16 de abr. de 2020

Good

por Deleted A

3 de feb. de 2019

nice

por GARCIA, P J (

14 de nov. de 2020

The course was appealing and very informative. Although, I cannot see that this would be well-understood with a beginner-level of knowledge, as shown in the course info. Also, the transition to every video every week was very hard to adapt due that of many professors unsystematically ordered in presentation (as I see to be), and there was a presentation that has audio problems (i.e. in Week 5 Module 5). On the flip side, the course was able to deliver information that interests me more as a BS-MS Chemical Engineering student to research in the field of Biochemical Engineering - this due to the expanse of introductory information (I believed for awareness) lectured by numerous professors in different fields.

por Anton Z

22 de may. de 2020

The course presents a comprehensive overview of significant Industrial Biotech achievements and most promising areas of study. The creators put great emphasis on genetic engineering opportunities. However, in the real enzyme world, true non-GMO enzymes can be perfectly applied in many cases, specifically in the food sector with very high yields and selectivity. I would love to see more specifics on how some certain enzymes were developed, how some certain genes were picked with a further tune-up of the downstream process. Overall, I enjoyed the course a lot, specifically the part about next-generation biofuels and biopharmaceutical synthesis.

por PUNYA J

16 de may. de 2020

There are some pesky details which are relevant only for a very specific set of learners but nevertheless are part of the tests. On the other hand, the course, in general is well developed and well presented. The focus is on introducing the immense possibilities in the field while giving some technical knowledge to understand and appreciate the advancements in this field. Great course for a beginner. My advice to a general learner would be to not get bogged down if you get low scores in the tests and focus on long term learning gains.

por Pyda H S

12 de sep. de 2021

The course covered pretty wide range of concepts and applications. I liked the synthetic biology (week 2) topic. A wide range of topics were explored in week 5 such as enzymatic fuel cells, hydrogels, biofuels. The week 6 part looked repetitive to the previous' weeks courses. Hence it was a bit boring. If the repetitions were removed and any sums were explained in the week 5 productivity and economics of processes, it would have been very useful. Nevertheless it was a great course. Would recommend it.

por Aravind U

25 de mar. de 2022

Absolutely honoured to be a part of this intruiging course ,mentioning about the course it gives a limpid idea on different branches of biotechnology with emphasis on industrial applications. I would like to reccommend this course to students who already have an imperative knowledge of biotechnology since the course modules consist of topics that are complex with applications.

por Michael S L

5 de ene. de 2022

​Generally very useful and I was able to put my high school science studies to good use. Does require basic scientific understanding to get more value from the course. Good that it was given by a wide variety of lecturers for diversity however it does make the depth and pace somewhat inconsistent and modules did not necessarily follow a logical sequence of buildup

por Jan H J

16 de oct. de 2020

Overall, the course was a big help in introducing biotechnology to first time learners. However some video and audio quality were not that great and were sometimes not synced on what is displayed on the screen. The instructors did a great job in explaining a very wide topic although I may personally had difficult time understanding the complex diagrams displayed.

por Shuvayan D

18 de jun. de 2020

A great course from wonderful professors. I am really thankful to them. The course is not completely for beginners. You need some preliminary knowledge of drugs designing, bioinformatics,tissue engineering to completely understand the course. The details and prospects of biofuels , biopharmaceuticals ,biomaterials are really exciting!

por Brendan C

27 de ene. de 2019

Very informative and captivating course. I feel like my understanding of biotechnology is now at a point where I can pick up topics of interest to learn more at my leisure. I'd love to take another course like this.

Most of the lecturers were great, except for the glycoscience Prof., who just read out long wordy slides.

por Miao L

21 de ene. de 2019

Overall it's a great course to generally peek into Industrial Biotechnology. Since my major is biochemistry, this course is not difficult for me to catch up with. It's quite a good resource for academic researchers to broaden the horizons, especially in applications and real cases of their research.

por Mohammad S

4 de oct. de 2020

this course is benificial for those who want to revised their acadamic syllabus in fast way

this course includes some of main chapter of biotechnology engg,

This short term course is very useful for those whose are unable to go out for internship in this pandemic.

thanking you!

por Andrea B

2 de may. de 2021

It was a really great course! But I would appreciated more if its updated to 2021 because I believe some of the references are a bit old but good of course.

Overall I think it was great! I am a chemical engineer so I really enjoyed de the biotechnology process part :)