Chevron Left
Volver a Inferential Statistics

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Inferential Statistics por parte de Universidad de Ámsterdam

4.4
estrellas
439 calificaciones
127 reseña

Acerca del Curso

Inferential statistics are concerned with making inferences based on relations found in the sample, to relations in the population. Inferential statistics help us decide, for example, whether the differences between groups that we see in our data are strong enough to provide support for our hypothesis that group differences exist in general, in the entire population. We will start by considering the basic principles of significance testing: the sampling and test statistic distribution, p-value, significance level, power and type I and type II errors. Then we will consider a large number of statistical tests and techniques that help us make inferences for different types of data and different types of research designs. For each individual statistical test we will consider how it works, for what data and design it is appropriate and how results should be interpreted. You will also learn how to perform these tests using freely available software. For those who are already familiar with statistical testing: We will look at z-tests for 1 and 2 proportions, McNemar's test for dependent proportions, t-tests for 1 mean (paired differences) and 2 means, the Chi-square test for independence, Fisher’s exact test, simple regression (linear and exponential) and multiple regression (linear and logistic), one way and factorial analysis of variance, and non-parametric tests (Wilcoxon, Kruskal-Wallis, sign test, signed-rank test, runs test)....

Principales reseñas

MN

Jul 25, 2020

Feeling blessed to perform this course . It was truly an amazing experience for me to go though this course .Learned bunch of theories with their mathematical example.Thanks to the instructors.

ND

Feb 13, 2018

Incredibly dense (which they warn you about) so the lecutres fly over so much important info it's hard to keep track of even with a strong focus. A very good overview though.

Filtrar por:

101 - 121 de 121 revisiones para Inferential Statistics

por RAVIKA C

Jun 10, 2019

It is a little tough. But has a good amount of syllabus!

por Vikram S

Jul 21, 2020

Nice experience.

por Peng W

Dec 20, 2016

Too fast.

por 田野

Jun 20, 2016

S

por Jose M P

Jul 17, 2020

The previous course (Basic Statistics) was way better at explaining subjects and what the mistakes where in tests. This made it easier to learn than this course which was way more complicated and strict in their questions. I ended up not understanding some subjects entirely but also I don't understand what is it that I got wrong. Maybe there are ways to find out but I barely had time to complete the course so I had even less time to do a thorough research on every mistake I had. Just wished this was easier.

Also, there are some mistakes with what the teachers are saying and the numbers in the videos. Normally I would just understand it as an honest mistake, but I noticed people made remarks on this 2 years ago or so and they haven't been fixed. This makes me feel like the University of Amsterdam doesn't really care about the quality of this course.

In conclusion, subjects are very interesting and if you have the time to really dig into the course, it is ok. But because I paid a monthly fee, I expected it to be of far better quality and more student friendly and not just an old fashioned course where you have to get by on your own.

por Simran S

Apr 09, 2016

Lots of topics crammed into short videos. But still I was able to stick to it complete it. There are a few mistakes here and there that create confusion. Had to watch the videos over and over for some concepts (whcih is ok). All in all a good course but can be improved.

por Vibhor B

Oct 22, 2020

For people starting out in the field of statistics, this course can be pretty hard. There's a lot going on, the quiz questions are confusing, there are no explanations, and a lot is assumed.

por Vicky G

Apr 05, 2020

Most of the class is great with good examples and deductions. Wk 6 lectures had too many mistakes and not enough explanations about the steps, which made it extremely confusing.

por William

Jul 30, 2019

The content is great,

the problem is, some of the questions and terms used in video and quizzes confused the students.

por Diego A

Apr 11, 2016

Great job on the course material and labs, quizzes and the final exame however, tend to be very confusing.

por 王一丁

Apr 24, 2016

It's too diffult for some of the questions in the Quiz. Have no idea or support to solve them.

por tengson p

May 11, 2017

Fairly good

por Max A

May 16, 2020

I truly appreciated the time that has been put into creating this course. However, it is very important that the course organisers improve it. Four years have passed and the course is still full of computation errors. This makes the process of learning frustrating and dissapointing. Furthermore, the video explanations are also rushed and difficult to follow. I would suggest to anyone thinking of taking this course to pursue a course from another institution instead.

por Josh S

May 26, 2020

I managed to complete this course, but it took about 3 months. That was because I read an another Stats ll book for the last 4 weeks rather than revisiting the lectures of this course. The lectures are too much condensed and there are some typos that made me confuse a lot... I like the challenging exams, but the lectures themselves should be improved.

por Ailbhe T

Oct 16, 2020

I think this course would have been great if the moderators were still active. There have been no moderator responses in the forums for two years, which means I felt totally without guidance whenever I struggling. A real shame. Also lots of mistakes in formulas and quiz questions - doesn't help matters!!

por Petra S

Aug 10, 2020

Extremely difficult course. I felt so discouraged during this course, I wish that at least we had explanations why something was incorrect in the quizes.

por Jessica N

Jun 29, 2017

Compared to previous courses in this series, I felt this course did not provide enough detailed examples of how to calculate the test statistics.

por Rafael d M B

Jul 23, 2020

where to start??

Well, the R Lab tasks are really really great. Except for that, the course is pretty bad. They just spit formulas and formulas and formulas - as if we did not have statistical software to help us - and rarely provide good, objective and clear explanations of concepts and etc. I mean, all the tests assumptions, 'when to use' and benefits are there, but are shadowed by the enormous amount of formulas and statistical tables (all the hard work that we can easily simplify on R or Python, really.

Furthermore, some week quizzers need herculean efforts to complete. Not because they are hard, no. But because if you answer something wrong, you have to do that again, because it doesn't indicate your previous answer. The quizzes also don't explain where you got something wrong and how to solve it (I mean, they say 'check the forum', well good luck with that. I am still waiting for some comments on the post I made on the forum). Furthermore, bad-wording is common on some quizzes and sometimes it is not specified to which decimal place I need to round my results. For real, I failed the week 4 test 3 times because some answer was something like 1.66667 and mine was 1.6667. Please, INDICATE HOW MANY DECIMALS I NEED TO ROUND. This specialization is really good, but this inferential module is really off, especially when compared to the Basic Statistics one.

The instructors are very good, but all those issues really bugged me on this module, hope you guys try to fix it. You are great!!!

por Kareem k

Mar 29, 2020

This course is billed as a beginner's course, but the lecturers just glance over some really complicated question and are awful at explaining them. If you are looking to learn some statistics just go to Khan Academy, they do a much better job at this and its free. If you are familiar with statistics but need a refresher then this might good for you. If, like me, you are a beginner, stay away!

por Tao G

Apr 03, 2016

the content is too rich, and the explanation is too little. The no-feedback exam is misleading, difficult to pass. The course staff is not that helpful.

por Zacharias V

Feb 29, 2016

A couple of results in Q1 directly contradict the theory. Course is quite unreliable.