Chevron Left
Volver a Inferential Statistics

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Inferential Statistics por parte de Universidad de Ámsterdam

4.3
estrellas
513 calificaciones
148 reseña

Acerca del Curso

Inferential statistics are concerned with making inferences based on relations found in the sample, to relations in the population. Inferential statistics help us decide, for example, whether the differences between groups that we see in our data are strong enough to provide support for our hypothesis that group differences exist in general, in the entire population. We will start by considering the basic principles of significance testing: the sampling and test statistic distribution, p-value, significance level, power and type I and type II errors. Then we will consider a large number of statistical tests and techniques that help us make inferences for different types of data and different types of research designs. For each individual statistical test we will consider how it works, for what data and design it is appropriate and how results should be interpreted. You will also learn how to perform these tests using freely available software. For those who are already familiar with statistical testing: We will look at z-tests for 1 and 2 proportions, McNemar's test for dependent proportions, t-tests for 1 mean (paired differences) and 2 means, the Chi-square test for independence, Fisher’s exact test, simple regression (linear and exponential) and multiple regression (linear and logistic), one way and factorial analysis of variance, and non-parametric tests (Wilcoxon, Kruskal-Wallis, sign test, signed-rank test, runs test)....

Principales reseñas

MN
24 de jul. de 2020

Feeling blessed to perform this course . It was truly an amazing experience for me to go though this course .Learned bunch of theories with their mathematical example.Thanks to the instructors.

ND
12 de feb. de 2018

Incredibly dense (which they warn you about) so the lecutres fly over so much important info it's hard to keep track of even with a strong focus. A very good overview though.

Filtrar por:

101 - 125 de 142 revisiones para Inferential Statistics

por Kristy E

28 de oct. de 2020

The theoretical background into the different methods of statistical analysis, and most of the examples, were quite well done and easy to follow. I was hoping the R-lab assignments would require more work; for example: to show how to enter in a line of code (like the R-lab assignments did) and then give a second (similar) example that would reinforce how to use R properly).

Overall, I think the course is a worth-while one for students who are looking to review inferential statistics for use in the future (like I was).

por Eva

31 de ago. de 2017

While the first course Basic Statistic was really thorough with step-by-step explainations, Inferential Statistics, near the end of the course sometimes rushed through some explanations. Therefor I sometimes needed extra literature to understand the calculations. Still, I highly recommend this course!

por Kayee M

11 de dic. de 2020

Fun examples make listening to the lectures fun and impressionable, which helps with remembering the explanations. This course would have been perfect if there was a fill in as you go summary table to summarise when to use all the different statistical tests.

por Jiajing G

6 de jul. de 2018

The course is nice with much content and clear examples! So happy that I passed the final exam. But some transcripts in the videos are not correct and some steps in calculation were omitted. I hope reviews of quiz and exams are available.

por Saurabh P

7 de ene. de 2019

Really a great course. It covers almost everything that is important in the subject. But maybe it could have been made better by adding the exercises more often than it is now as it covers a lot of syllabus.

por Richard J W

29 de mar. de 2016

A good introduction with very good videos and exercises. I'm only not giving 5 stars due to the relative lack of clarity in the final week and the lack of feedback on the final exam.

por raunak r

8 de ene. de 2017

Not giving 5 stars only because it was fast paced. With a low grasping power i had to watch the video again and again. Otherwise the content in the video is to the point.

por Liza S

16 de dic. de 2016

I enjoyed this course. Being new to stats, I feel I needed more practice and extra examples. A lot of extra work and self-study helped me grasp and pass this course.

por Dragos A

14 de sep. de 2018

The course is too compressed in my opinion but if you make it past the second week, the learning curve is not that steep anymore.

por Cassandra B

9 de may. de 2020

Wish there was a way to accept alternative methods on R assignments - got the answer but would not accept string of code

por Luis L C S

12 de dic. de 2016

Awesome however was a littler dificult to follow, I think it can be betther by a step by step practices...

por Mariëlle S

21 de jun. de 2016

Great course, not easy because lots of information is shared in a short time. But totally worth it!

por 刚铭君

11 de jul. de 2020

the quiz in this course really makes me crazy. I have to spend a lot of time to pass the exam.

por Po Y L

4 de ene. de 2018

Compare to Basic Statistics, this is indeed a challenging course but worth the effort.

por Di M B

21 de jun. de 2016

Very good course to learn bases of statistics. I enjoyned. Thak you to the teachers.

por Francisco P

18 de jun. de 2018

It is a great course it will be next course that I shall take when I have more time

por Shaun M

26 de jun. de 2020

Challenging but worth it. I know substantially more than I did 7 weeks ago.

por RAVIKA C

10 de jun. de 2019

It is a little tough. But has a good amount of syllabus!

por Gopinath t P

24 de abr. de 2021

it was a good experience

por Vikram S

21 de jul. de 2020

Nice experience.

por Peng W

20 de dic. de 2016

Too fast.

por 田野

20 de jun. de 2016

S

por Philip A E L

7 de dic. de 2020

I really needed more practice problems then just the quiz. I had to outsource to a lot of tutors, additional textbooks, etc. Really I just needed a few more practice questions to grind out with access to the correct work. Another very helpful tool would simply be a review of all vocabulary words at the very end of the course (week 7). I eventually made notecards and went back through every new word I could find but that would be awesome to have at the very end! Still amazing work and thrilled to have participated in this class. Love the instructors just could use a few additional resources to solidify learning allllll these formulas and when to use which one.

por Joanna Ś

17 de dic. de 2020

Although the course gives a thorough knowledge, I find the teaching methods somewhat questionable. After comparing with other courses (also in terms of explaining how to use R, which is widely used in this course), I realized that statistic can be explained in easier and more straightforward way than it's done here. It refers especially to subjects connected to probability and R usage.

por Simran S

8 de abr. de 2016

Lots of topics crammed into short videos. But still I was able to stick to it complete it. There are a few mistakes here and there that create confusion. Had to watch the videos over and over for some concepts (whcih is ok). All in all a good course but can be improved.