Chevron Left
Volver a Information Visualization: Programming with D3.js

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Information Visualization: Programming with D3.js por parte de New York University

4.5
estrellas
135 calificaciones
44 reseña

Acerca del Curso

In this course you will learn how to use D3.js to create powerful visualizations for web. Learning D3.js will enable you to create many different types of visualization and to visualize many different data types. It will give you the freedom to create something as simple as a bar chart as well your own new revolutionary technique. In this course we will cover the basics of creating visualizations with D3 as well as how to deal with tabular data, geography and networks. By the end of this course you will be able to: - Create bar and line charts - Create choropleth and symbol maps - Create node-link diagrams and tree maps - Implement zooming and brushing - Link two or more views through interaction The course mixes theoretical and practical lectures. We will show you step by step how to use the library to build actual visualizations and what theoretical concepts lie behind them. Throughout the course you will learn skills that will lead you to building a whole application by the end of the lectures (a fully working visualization system to visualize airlines routes). This course is the third one of the “Specialization in Information Visualization". The course expects you to have some basic knowledge of programming as well as some basic visualization skills....

Principales reseñas

DC

Jul 23, 2020

Great intro to the D3.js library, but some prior knowledge on data pre-processing may be needed to leverage the topics covered.

HL

Mar 01, 2019

Excellent course. Excellent content. Some corrections on the example codes are necessary. The instructor is very good.

Filtrar por:

26 - 44 de 44 revisiones para Information Visualization: Programming with D3.js

por Ebenezer K

Sep 23, 2018

Very Informative

por Parag S

Dec 26, 2019

Amazing course

por Chen Z

Feb 19, 2020

Very helpful!

por Dmitry B

Oct 30, 2018

very useful

por Nicolas C

Apr 30, 2020

Great!

por Matt G

Feb 01, 2019

A good introduction to D3.js and many of the associated ideas. Lecturing is clear and at a good pace and the examples were useful as well.

Unfortunately, the example code for the last week was not made available when I completed the course. I might have given a higher rating if it were note for this!

por Tyler W

Jun 04, 2020

The videos were good. I liked the auto grader vs peer reviews, but wish it gave more hints about where it was hung-up. I got stuck on the call drawRoutes and the enter and exit. I finally figured it out from looking in the discussions. The videos didn't provide enough help on that part.

por Israel E H

Nov 21, 2018

Good course, I'm in love with the Airlines Routes Project. Maybe teorical content should be more related with the practice. D3.js is a very huge library, so I think could be a good idea to take the concepts necesary to develop the specific projects. For the rest, very nice course!!

por Witchapong D

May 13, 2019

Good course. Recommend to promote more understanding in the conceptual level/big picture of the D3.js API along with understanding the syntax.

por lewis g

Apr 18, 2020

Great incremental code assignments. A lot of spelling and grammatical errors, sometimes making code comments and quiz questions confusing.

por Khushbu K P

Mar 02, 2020

Really easy to understand and follow video lectures and instructions in the assignment. Helpful course structure for beginners in d3.js

por Many M

Apr 13, 2020

Very good course with an instructor who explains the concepts in detail, with a lot of coding practices.

por Muhammed J

Mar 14, 2019

Great course. Include more advanced examples of d3

por Haejin H

Dec 02, 2018

One of the best hands-on course on D3.js :)

por Saransh G

Sep 09, 2019

Could have been tougher

por Joe B

Feb 27, 2020

After spending ages online trying to understand d3.js, I came across this course. The d3 library is quite difficult to understand and the available documentation is very dense. This course does an excellent job of providing an overview of how d3.js works. I particularly liked that the programming assignments that guided the student through successive steps in quite a complex data visualisation. However, there are also some limitations to the usefulness of the course. First, I was missing access to the course materials. I like to annotate the lecture slides and refer back to them, e.g. when working through the assignments. Going through the videos is much more cumbersome. Second, the instructor's English is sometimes difficult to follow. It doesn't help that the subtitles are frequently completely wrong. Despite these small limitations, I would recommend the course to anyone interested in getting a thorough introduction to d3.

por Santiago S

Jun 11, 2019

This course is the third one of the Information Visualization Specialization, where I've seen a brief explanation of d3.js and its core functionality. It's a lot to cover and I think a great effort is made by the instructor to make those concepts easy to understand to anyone with no prior experience in programming.

I find it a little boring for someone who has some experience working with d3.js. The final assignment is about developing an interactive visualization, that's what I liked the most from this course.

I would reccomend to anyone looking to understand d3 and its basic building blocks.

por Craig A B

Feb 26, 2019

This course should have more hands on practice interspersed with the lectures. Watching one lecture after another after another isn't a great way to learn.

por Rob L

Apr 13, 2020

The instructor has horrible diction and poor grammar. It I cannot listen to him for hours adding extra syllables to words or leaving consonants out of words.

Common examples..

Pronounces 'HTML' as 'HML'.

Uses phrases like: "This is how it should look like'.

Diction is muted / garbled in general. Like his mouth is full of marbles.