Chevron Left
Volver a Engineering Project Management: Initiating and Planning

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Engineering Project Management: Initiating and Planning por parte de Universidad Rice

4.8
estrellas
2,226 calificaciones
525 reseña

Acerca del Curso

The goal of the course is to give you the tools to initiate a project plan, manage both stakeholders and relationships, organize their team, develop a project charter, and build a business case for a project. By the end of this course you will be able to: - Perform a project assessment using information from previous projects and lessons learned - Identify key deliverables based on business requirements while managing customer expectations - Perform a stakeholder analysis and create a management plan - Analyze and develop a project organization - Create a project charter - Explain the business case for a project and calculate Net Present Value - Inform stakeholders of the charter and ensure all parties know the deliverables and expectations As part of the course, you will prepare organization charts, create a Stakeholder Register, and write a Project Charter based on an engineering project in a provided Case Study. The Stakeholder Register will outline the key parties to the project, their concerns and how you will manage their expectations. Your Project Charter will provide the key guidance your team needs to understand the scope, requirements and purpose for the project. All of this will position you for initiating and planning your first project and/or understanding how you can maximize your contributions on your next project team. Rice Center for Engineering Leadership is a Registered Education Provider through the Project Management Institute (PMI)®. Learners who complete this course on the Certificate track will be awarded 12 hours of Profession Development Units. These are recognized by PMI for continuing education or can be applied toward the 35 hours of education required for the Project Management Professional (PMP)® certification. PMI and PMP are registered marks of the Project Management Institute, Inc....

Principales reseñas

SR
20 de ago. de 2017

Great course. Would recommend it for engineers who have collected relevant engineering experience and look for whats next in their career. Looking forward to attend the other modules as well.

FA
27 de ago. de 2020

This course will give in-depth knowledge of project management. Peer-graded assignments will help us a lot to think in other ways how others will proceed and learn from their assignments too.

Filtrar por:

426 - 450 de 526 revisiones para Engineering Project Management: Initiating and Planning

por Amol G K

21 de jun. de 2020

Good

por Ahmed S

6 de may. de 2020

good

por DR. M E

1 de may. de 2020

good

por Muhammad H S

23 de ago. de 2019

good

por Taju A

29 de jun. de 2020

grt

por Mark G

3 de may. de 2020

thi

por NILRAJ B M

16 de jun. de 2020

Ok

por TALAG, C E ( C

5 de oct. de 2020

y

por Magdi S I

2 de ago. de 2020

V

por Anand C P

30 de jun. de 2020

E

por Javier E U R

9 de jun. de 2020

.

por Juan J G V

6 de ago. de 2018

V

por Dr. S J

18 de abr. de 2020

The course has been designed exclusively and I was quite impressed. The course was also easy to follow with step by step practice quizzes that keep you moving. However, one drawback that I faced that in peer review assignments, there are a lot of people who are not yet on the particular level of assignment and once you submit an assignment, the software submits to random peer reviews. This results (mostly) in splitting your grade into two extremes (and that happened to me thrice). This certainly spoils someone's grade. Peer may ruin your work. this need to be tackled on software level. Atleast the assignment should go who has completed the module. Lastly, I thank Mr. Tom Phalen and Mr. Kazimir Kowowski for their utmost dedication to teach this course. I hope the other courses will be much better.

por kausalya

20 de oct. de 2020

The course is very good and the fundamentals are laid out clearly making it easier for all levels of learners. I particularly liked the reflections part where we get to learn about and reflect upon the real time project management challenges. The only improvement I would suggest is to make the peer grade assignments more objective. Right now they are very subjective and we have all kinds of learners and we are peer grading documents with little knowledge/experience about the specific project. it's very difficult to get any constructive feedback many times. I believe that giving an answer document along with rubric will help in the peer grading.

por STEFANO P C

12 de jul. de 2020

Very good course, the instructors have a great structure for the lectures even though some topics are not addressed as much as needed. This isn't a problem since they reference books available to increase your knowledge in the topic at hand.

The only problem I had with this course was the peer-reviewed assignments. I had a really bad experience grading some since I had to report them for plagiarism because they uploaded the exact same document as the example or I didn't have anything to grade because they uploaded a blank document. On top of this, when my work was being graded, I did not get any feedback regarding how I could improve it.

por Amir M O

27 de jun. de 2019

A relatively good course. Week 1-3 are pretty good but week 4 is absolutely vague and impossible to follow.

The handout provided by the instructors is good but doesn't 100% match the video lectures.

Another flaw is that you have to wait a lot so your assignments get peer reviewed. So that may cause you stay longer in the course and pay more for the subscription.

por Andrea O

27 de sep. de 2020

Good contents but a but the voice explanation is sometimes hard to follow if you also read the slide. I'd suggest to refer more strictly to the slide contents and wording or reducing further the content of the slides to give the right importance to the speech. As is I struggle to understand if it is better to follow the slide or the voice

por Atef A

14 de nov. de 2020

The course is well put, good informations, it gives you all the deliverables you can use in a real porject, but the course materials and presentation on paper can be better, also i would appreciated it if the study case was shorter, since the tasks are short and on point. In general, good initiating course for project management.

por Anders T B

16 de dic. de 2019

Well-organized and informative course. Easy to follow along with transcripts of lectures with highlighting text and the ability to save notes directly from here.

But they rely a bit to much on people buying the course material to read the background material. This could be handled by increasing the length of lectures.

por somil s

21 de oct. de 2019

THIS COURSE HELP ME TO UNDERSTAND THEBASIC AND SOME ADVANCED LEVEL OF PLANNING AND EXECUTING A PROJECT HELPS ME TO UNDERSTAND THE INITIATING AND PLANNING OF PROJECT AND HOW TO MANAGE IT AS A PROJECT MANAGER.

THANKYOU SO MUCH FOR THIS VALUABLE COURSE AND I AM VERY IMPRESSED BY THE INNOVATIVE TREACHING TECHINQUES .

por Nitinkrishnan B

29 de jul. de 2020

I like how the course was taught and how the case study was done. But most of the peers who do the assignment dont take it seriously or they dont understand the subject well. It would be better if the assignments are reviewed by one of the mentors or lectures. 1 review by peer and 1 review by mentor/ lecutrer

por Khaled Z A M

22 de feb. de 2020

I enjoyed gaining knowledge about how to plan for a prroject and the essential steps which are very important to start a successful project. However, I suggest that there should be a possibility to report trolling peers who grade your assignments without caution or even with logic.

por Lorenzo C

2 de oct. de 2017

Although the course is interesting and well made the "review your peers" section needs refactoring.

I found myself giving 10 points (which is the max) to clearly erroneous fields when reviewing, just because they respected the valutation criteria.

por Lavinia R S

1 de feb. de 2018

Its a good course to understand the basic concepts of Project Management. I feel that for some of the deliverable documents they go a little fast but once again is good to have a basic understand to be able to go deeper on your own.

por Mauricio P

5 de nov. de 2018

Good, comprehensive course. Gives fundamental knowledge regarding proejct management, aimed towards the generation of main project management deliverables. Requires PMBOK for optimal performance, although it is not mandatory.