Chevron Left
Volver a Engineering Project Management: Initiating and Planning

Opiniones y comentarios de aprendices correspondientes a Engineering Project Management: Initiating and Planning por parte de Universidad Rice

4.8
estrellas
2,623 calificaciones
621 reseña

Acerca del Curso

The goal of the course is to give you the tools to initiate a project plan, manage both stakeholders and relationships, organize their team, develop a project charter, and build a business case for a project. By the end of this course you will be able to: - Perform a project assessment using information from previous projects and lessons learned - Identify key deliverables based on business requirements while managing customer expectations - Perform a stakeholder analysis and create a management plan - Analyze and develop a project organization - Create a project charter - Explain the business case for a project and calculate Net Present Value - Inform stakeholders of the charter and ensure all parties know the deliverables and expectations As part of the course, you will prepare organization charts, create a Stakeholder Register, and write a Project Charter based on an engineering project in a provided Case Study. The Stakeholder Register will outline the key parties to the project, their concerns and how you will manage their expectations. Your Project Charter will provide the key guidance your team needs to understand the scope, requirements and purpose for the project. All of this will position you for initiating and planning your first project and/or understanding how you can maximize your contributions on your next project team. Rice Center for Engineering Leadership is a Registered Education Provider through the Project Management Institute (PMI)®. Learners who complete this course on the Certificate track will be awarded 12 hours of Profession Development Units. These are recognized by PMI for continuing education or can be applied toward the 35 hours of education required for the Project Management Professional (PMP)® certification. PMI and PMP are registered marks of the Project Management Institute, Inc....

Principales reseñas

DY
2 de sep. de 2020

Curso de inicial de la especialización de Project Management. Un buen curso para aproximarse al mundo de la gestión de proyecto de manera sencilla y didáctica.\n\nMuy buen nivel del profesorado.

SG
6 de jul. de 2020

This course will give in-depth knowledge of project management. Peer-graded assignments will help us a lot to think in other ways how others will proceed and learn from their assignments too.

Filtrar por:

526 - 550 de 622 revisiones para Engineering Project Management: Initiating and Planning

por Anders T B

16 de dic. de 2019

Well-organized and informative course. Easy to follow along with transcripts of lectures with highlighting text and the ability to save notes directly from here.

But they rely a bit to much on people buying the course material to read the background material. This could be handled by increasing the length of lectures.

por somil s

21 de oct. de 2019

THIS COURSE HELP ME TO UNDERSTAND THEBASIC AND SOME ADVANCED LEVEL OF PLANNING AND EXECUTING A PROJECT HELPS ME TO UNDERSTAND THE INITIATING AND PLANNING OF PROJECT AND HOW TO MANAGE IT AS A PROJECT MANAGER.

THANKYOU SO MUCH FOR THIS VALUABLE COURSE AND I AM VERY IMPRESSED BY THE INNOVATIVE TREACHING TECHINQUES .

por Nicholas T

25 de ene. de 2021

What you get out of this course is what you put into it. If you just want the "certificate" it is really easy to just cruise through it and get the certificate which I find a little bit annoying. With that being said, if you spend time to actually "study" and take the assessment seriously, you will learn a lot.

por Nitinkrishnan B

29 de jul. de 2020

I like how the course was taught and how the case study was done. But most of the peers who do the assignment dont take it seriously or they dont understand the subject well. It would be better if the assignments are reviewed by one of the mentors or lectures. 1 review by peer and 1 review by mentor/ lecutrer

por Khaled Z A M

22 de feb. de 2020

I enjoyed gaining knowledge about how to plan for a prroject and the essential steps which are very important to start a successful project. However, I suggest that there should be a possibility to report trolling peers who grade your assignments without caution or even with logic.

por Lorenzo C

2 de oct. de 2017

Although the course is interesting and well made the "review your peers" section needs refactoring.

I found myself giving 10 points (which is the max) to clearly erroneous fields when reviewing, just because they respected the valutation criteria.

por Lavinia R S

1 de feb. de 2018

Its a good course to understand the basic concepts of Project Management. I feel that for some of the deliverable documents they go a little fast but once again is good to have a basic understand to be able to go deeper on your own.

por Mauricio P

5 de nov. de 2018

Good, comprehensive course. Gives fundamental knowledge regarding proejct management, aimed towards the generation of main project management deliverables. Requires PMBOK for optimal performance, although it is not mandatory.

por MCMC

11 de may. de 2020

A nice introduction to the discipline. The teaching methodology could be improved, but, in general, it helps to understand the basic concepts related with initiating and planing an engineering project in a comprehensive way.

por Faisal I

14 de jul. de 2020

The course provided me the basic for initiating and planning of a project. The instructors provide really good and clear explanation. Furthermore, case study made for this course is well written. well done!

por Abishek S

2 de ago. de 2020

i recommend this course for people who are curious enough to learn about management from the scratch and it is very useful for practicing in modern day applications. this course is strongly a path finder.

por David G

17 de jun. de 2019

Content great. Delivery could be better. Found the lecturers laboured through the videos, obviously reading straight off a slide. This made it hard at times to take in what was being presented.

por Deepak R P

6 de abr. de 2020

I would like to review this on course contentwise. Its probably the best out here on coursera for engineers. It covers both management and leadership aspect needed for project level.

por Adrien B

25 de jun. de 2020

This course is well organized, content is useful for a real beginner or for a review of knowledge but that all. It is too succinct to claim training for a PMI certification.

por Berna

28 de oct. de 2019

Good lectures, good availability of course material! Time difference makes participation in course discussions difficult... I like the concept of peer reviewed assignments!

por Akshay S A

29 de jun. de 2020

The course is really helpful and makes it easy to understand. The peer graded assignment helps in better understanding of the topic provided with well defined example.

por Huáscar E E D l R

1 de abr. de 2018

Good course helped me consolidate my knowledge, revise new concepts from a different point of view and improve my command of the English language.

por Frank W B

24 de may. de 2020

Excellent Course well instructed and informative. Highly recommend to anyone wanting to learn or improve on your abilities in project management.

por samarth v

8 de jul. de 2018

The course is apt for understanding the basics of managing a project. the peer review assignments should have some weightage to the final grade

por Pedro F P

11 de jun. de 2021

Good structure and materials provided for the students. I think is of added-value previous experience but also a beginner can attend.

por Naveen L H M

25 de jul. de 2020

Ideal for beginners in Project Management.course content is interesting and comprehensive. Begin the PM journey with Rice University.

por Manjunath V A

13 de ago. de 2017

Nice Introduction of Project Management. Good to enrol in the course for those who wants to attend PMP certification.

por CODA M

24 de ago. de 2020

Good instructors and easy to follow lesons make this course an ideal starting point for project management begin

por Nick G

7 de feb. de 2020

I think the peer-review is risky, as sometimes there are not enough people to review or to ve reviewed by

por sumit s

24 de ago. de 2020

This course was more of a theoretical and I hope that the next course would be based on problem solving.